We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“...wishfulfilling...”
Review of Springfield House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Linton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Springfield House
Ranked #1 of 2 Linton B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We were 6 friends on a South of England tour and we were looking for several b&bs meeting our wishes of cozyness, friendly hosts and good breakfast. Well, here we found just what we were looking for. Thank you, Judy and Michelle for everything; we enjoyed the stay so much!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mimiblimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judith R, Owner at Springfield House, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

It was fun having you and your friends here. We enjoyed having you as much as you enjoyed being here. Judy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (52)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 52 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2013

We chose Springfield House due to it's location to the local Vineyard where we had planned a visit. What a fabulous place to stay, it is a lovely house with incredible gardens. We couldn't have been made more welcome if we had been part of the family.

Every element of the time we spent in Linton was special, fabulous weather, great local pubs, a very interesting vineyard, great accomodation and all in walking distance.

We shall return and very soon.

Room Tip: We had a room with an en-suite which was very good, I may be a bit unfair on the sleep quality revie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judith R, Owner at Springfield House, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

So glad your weekend in Linton was such a success for you even if you were a bit bleary eyed !
I don't sleep very well either, even in my own bed, and worse away from home so I know how you feel. It would be lovely to see you here again as there are quite a few attractions in the vicinity but the sunshine can't be guaranteed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

A lovely house with very comfortable rooms, and a delightful garden. Good, spacious bedroom. I had read reviews that suggested the bed in the room was soft - nothing of the sort - springy would be my description. The room was too warm for my liking, which was soon sorted by turning down the thermastats, and I slept well. It was the perfect place to stay offering everything I wanted in terms of comfort, as well as a convenient location. Judith is both friendly and very interesting to talk to; not to mention kind. How often do you come away from a B&B with seedlings of a very nice white hellebore? I cannot think of a single thing to fault it for, and will certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judith R, Owner at Springfield House, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

Hi Caroline,
Thank you do much for taking the time to add your review. So glad you were comfortable on the 'springy' bed. It was great having you to stay and to hear all about the specialist nurserymen you came here to visit. As you discovered there are some lovely gardens around here. It's a long way from Cornwall but do come again.
Judy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Needing accommodation near Cambridge I cam across Springfield House in Sawday's and was so glad I did. I enjoyed it so much I booked another night on my return journey. The house itself is lovely and Judy makes you feel very welcome. I stayed in two different rooms, one with en suite, one not. Both were very nicely appointed, comfortable beds and spotlessly clean. Both had views of the garden and the river. (Extra bonus was that it snowed!) A delicious full breakfast was served at the dining table, which is great if you like meeting other guests. The village itself is a gem, quaint and with two cosy pubs within close walking distance. It is a reasonably quick drive to Cambridge if that is where you are heading. If you are in the area, I would definitely recommend Springfield House. (Tip when you arrive. The driveway is on a bend in a small lane. It is signposted but like me you may miss it if focusing on the Sat Nav and end up turning around when you reach the river!)

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judith R, Owner at Springfield House, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your stay here. We are so pleased you were comfortable and enjoyed your walk around the village in the snow and all before breakfast !
We can't promise snow if you do come again but you are assured of a very warm welcome.
Best, Judy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Had a very nice stay
We had decided to stay out in the country instead of in Cambridge,as b and b s in Cambridge tend to be much more expensive.
This was excellent value, and Judith our hostess was very friendly and attentive without being "in your face"
comfy bed [though very squeaky!] and nice recently revamped bathroom on suite
Good location. Quiet with very little light pollution, so stars were much more visible than in the city
Top pub "The Crown" within short walk. Excellent steak and chips.
Very good breakfast

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judith R, Owner at Springfield House, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2013

Hi John
So glad you enjoyed your weekend in a country house. Definitely one of the benefits of Springfield is the quiet, other than the occasional lion roar from our nearby zoo! Hope you come to visit again.
Judith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Springfield House last Saturday, 20th October. It was fine, but, ultimately, (and maybe because we're not used to staying in B&Bs, and will always favour a hotel) it did feel very much like "staying in someone's house".

Judith, the proprietor, had already made us aware that our bathroom facilities were not en-suite, but down the hall. That was absolutely fine, and the bedroom and bathroom were both lovely, very charming and beautifully kept. However, the shower, despite looking for all the world like it'd blow your wig off with it's awesome power, could only manage a sad dribble.

Springfield House is absolutely beautiful, and has that kind of lived-in charm which really does, I imagine, set it apart from some B&Bs which sport poor-quality everything and leave you feeling as though you need a good scrub the second you get back home. Our bedroom was like stepping back in time with lovely old walnut furniture, creaky floorboards and bone china cups and saucers in which to make our own tea and coffee.

The gardens are gorgeous and incredibly quiet - it rained all night when we stayed and the sound of the rain on the little balcony outside was very soothing and we felt safe and warm tucked up in the Edwardian bed under proper sheets and blankets.

We had to leave quite early the following morning, so didn't have time to stay and sample breakfast, and Judith very generously deducted a small amount from our bill to reflect that.

I can't say a bad word about Springfield House because it's beautiful and Judith is obviously a thorough professional when it comes to running a top-notch B&B. It's just that, for us, utmost privacy, ridiculously powerful showers, a bath you could drown a cow in and the ability to order a steak sandwich at 4am come higher up on the priority list (soulless vampires that we are!).

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pastiche005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judith R, Owner at Springfield House, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2013

Thank you for your review - i hope you enjoyed the change of pace from what you usually choose. I'm sorry you had a bad experience with the shower, we choose that version because it's meant to be like rain falling - clearly too gently compared with to the rain outside!
Best regards,
Judith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at Springfield House in late May. Our room faced the front garden, a beautiful view. The room was spacious and the bed was ok, on the soft side. The bathroom was large, no shower, but a nice bath with lots of hot water, the heaters were a nice touch. Breakfast was very nice, all cooked to order. A stroll in the gardens is recommended. Linton is a very nice village, worth at least a day on its own; look into the walks and footpaths, brochures in the room and downstairs; we enjoyed it immensely. A couple of nice pubs in town for meals, the Crown Inn was our favorite, just a short (3 min) walk. We would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: If you must have a shower, ask for a room with access to one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charliie2109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judith R, Owner at Springfield House, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2013

Hi Charlie,
Thank you for your very kind review and i'm so glad you had time to enjoy the garden and the village. I've actually just renovated the en-suite bathroom to the room you stayed in, so it's now complete with shower and bath. If you ever find yourself back here, I hope you come again.
Best wishes,
Judith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Linton
3.1 mi away
Travelodge Cambridge Fourwentways
4.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Duxford M11 Jct 10
5.2 mi away
Duxford Lodge
Duxford Lodge
#1 of 1 in Duxford
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The Crown House
The Crown House
#1 of 1 in Great Chesterford
181 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Three Hills
The Three Hills
#1 of 2 in Bartlow
32 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Pear Tree
The Pear Tree
#1 of 1 in Hildersham
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Springfield House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Springfield House

Address: 14-16 Horn Lane, Linton CB21 4HT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Linton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Linton
Price Range: $66 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Springfield House is an 1840 Regency-style period home within the conservation area of Linton near Cambridge (approx 8 miles). There are two en-suite double bedrooms, one with a view of the River Granta and open countryside beyond, the other larger room overlooks a delightful enclosed garden. We also have a twin room with separate shower room. There are large gardens beside the river Granta, conservatory and drawing room are available for guests to enjoy. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Springfield House Linton, Cambridgeshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing