We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Oliver Twist Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Guyhirn B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Stayed over one night en-route to the East coast.Accommodation is first class in a separate block adjoining the hotel.Comfortable quiet bedroom and spacious bathroom with power shower in adjacent wetroom.We had an excellent meal in the bar although a separate restaurant area is available.All the meats and vegetables are sourced locally and we felt our meal was excellent value for money.A great full English sent us on our way the following morning.All in all we were delighted with the welcome we received and wouldn't hesitate to do something similar in the future.

Room Tip: We found the "wetroom" rooms were to our liking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spenno82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (90)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 90 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2013

We celebrated my daughters 30th birthday here the food was fantastic with a
Wide range of choice, nothing was too much trouble for the friendly staff here
And we had great service a great choice of venue for any occasion. Have since
Been back and had there Sunday roast which is second to none

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LindaP431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We popped in for a late roast dinner on Sunday evening, the lady who served us was really nice. The food arrived quickly and was all really good quality. My partner had some homemade corned beef for starters, I've not seen this on a menu before, but it tasted delicious.

We would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yorkie0362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john s, Owner at Oliver Twist Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

thanks for your comments, we are glad that you enjoyed yourselves and look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Regards
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I didn't sleep here...just came for dinner with a friend. It was her decision to come here as it was close to her home etc. I know most if not all pubs have food that is not exactly fresh. I was hoping to at least get something edible. And yes it was edible. I ordered the chicken breast with bacon bits in stilton sauce and spinach. It came with veg. My friend got a steak with onion rings. The chicken was ok...a little salty (processed tasting)...I liked the sauce. But...the spinach was just gross...it tasted like it came from a can. I ordered desert knowing that the chocolate cake was one that they order in which I thought could be a good thing in this case. I asked for a scoop of vanilla ice cream with it to add flavor/moistness if necessary. Cake was ok but not good..ice cream was very bad so I didn't eat it. I tasted my friends onion rings....very bad also. The veg was fine as were the fries or chips as they call them. My friend enjoyed her meal thoroughly . But, she doesn't get out much lol. The staff was very friendly and sitting by the fire was nice on a cold night. I did leave very full and I have tasted worse food, but I wouldn't return if given the chance.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snow7kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john s, Owner at Oliver Twist Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

thank you for your review
i am surprised about your comments about your meal as on the night you commented to the
staff how nice everything was, on more than one occasion, this would have been a lot more helpful
if you had mentioned your points on the evening.
your friend also asked us if we would do take away meals and left her number with one of the girls behind the bar, she was that happy!!!

Regards
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Visited this pub with friends on a sunday afternoon. Had a lovely Sunday roast dinner. The food and service were outstanding, went away very content and very full! Catered for young children, what a lovely place to spend the afternoon with family and friends!! Thank you very much!!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank RLM1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john s, Owner at Oliver Twist Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Thank you very much for your review and we are happy to here that you enjoyed our offerings,
hope to see you at the oliver twist again soon

Regards
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

There were just two of us, on our way back to London, who came upon this pub one evening after visiting relatives. Even though it was late and they could easily have refused to cook for us, they were most welcoming and served delicious food. I especially liked the great selection of fresh vegetables that came with the chicken I ordered. I think the Oliver Twist is well worth a visit and will go back there next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Circe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stopped off at Oliver Twists on the way back from Norfolk as it's about halfway home and we fancied a bit of lunch and needed to stretch our legs etc. It was a quiet monday lunchtime so the pub was empty when we arrived but did fill up during the hour or so we were there. We stuck with the sandwiches menu and i had the croque monsieur with chips and salad and my wife had the steak sandwich with a side of chips. Both meals were really good, well cooked and generous and the chips good too. Service was efficient and friendly and we'd happily return in future, when we're passing. It's easy to miss this place from the A47 but well worth stopping in.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MGE1875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guyhirn
5.4 mi away
Elme Hall Hotel
Elme Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Wisbech
457 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Rose and Crown Hotel
5.5 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 3 in Wisbech
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
The Oliver Cromwell Hotel
13.0 mi away
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#1 of 27 in Peterborough
391 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Old Vicarage Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oliver Twist Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oliver Twist Country Inn

Address: Oliver Twist High Road, Guyhirn, Wisbech PE13 4EA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Wisbech > Guyhirn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Guyhirn
Price Range: $102 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oliver Twist Country Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oliver Twist Country Inn is situated in the countryside village of Guyhirn in Cambridgeshire. The fenland village is close to Cambridge and the famous Ely Cathedral, overlooking the river Nene. The family-run Oliver Twist Country Inn offers excellent four star accommodation as well as a renowned restaurant. The inn has been honoured with The English Tourism Council Quality Assurance (Visit Britain) Four Diamond Guest Accommodation award for showing "An even higher level of quality and comfort and Very good levels of customer care”. The Oliver Twist Country Inn offers 6 en-suite bedrooms, which are twin, double or disabled rooms (walking frames or wheelchair available upon request). The rooms are beautifully appointed and include TV, cooling fan, coffee/tea making facilities, trouser press, hair-dryer and a superb en-suite shower room. Rooms on the ground floor additionally include a comfortable settee or easy arm chair. The 50-seat restaurant at the Oliver Twist Country Inn serves delicious food along with superb wines and award winning ales. The menu is diverse and the restaurant also offers regularly changing specials for lunch and dinner. All dishes are freshly prepared by head chef John, and can be enjoyed in the restaurant or the lounge. Diabetic friendly as well as nut- and gluten-free meals can be prepared if notice is given at least 48 hours in advance.Pre-booking is recommended on weekends. The Oliver Twist Country Inn is a great venue for events of all kinds, such as family celebrations, weddings,birthday parties or business meetings for up to 50 delegates. Event facilities are flexible and can be adapted to your individual needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Oliver Twist Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing