We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Oliver Twist Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Guyhirn B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Stayed over night on 06.07.12 as i was on a Nail course down the road with Noble Nails. As i was at the course all day i asked if my husband could check in early in the morning and it was no trouble at all he was in the room by 10.30am after dropping me off fantastic!!!

Room
We stayed in room 4, it was cosy with the most amazing walk in shower (no plastic curtain sticking to your bum because its too small lol).

Breakfast
Well what can i say it was amazing you could order as much as you wanted off the list that Mick gave you bacon, sausage, mushrooms, tomatoes, hash brown, egg's (the best scrammbled egg ever) plus there was grapefruit, prunes and apricots. There was also cereals (proper ones in small box's Kellogs, crunchy nut etc) with fresh milk. You also had a choice of brown or white toast with a big selection of jam's and marmelade, proper butter and hot tea and coffee oh and freshly squeezed orange juice and if that wasn't enough we could have had the whole breakfast again as we were asked if we wanted anymore it was mahoooosive!!!!!!! How good is that.

We did'nt eat in the resturant so i can't comment on the food but we spoke to a couple who had been to the curry night (i think its on a Thurs night) that its amazing just like going to a Indian Take-Out. You get 3 courses for £10

All in all John, Kelly, Jacki and Mick looked after us and nothing was too much trouble at all. Would definatley stay again if we in that neck of the woods (we are in Birmingham).

Tell Mick its from Toni with an i

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spookymews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 10, 2012

we are glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again in the future
Kind Regards
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (90)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 90 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2012

Excellent location in the countryside. Upon arriving I was extremely impressed with the venue. We were greeted in a very welcoming manner. The staff were very friendly and extremely helpful in helping us to decide what to have for our Sunday Roast. We were given a window seat which had a nice view of the rolling hills. The table was big enough for our dinners and drinks. The drinks were ice cold and were served with slices of orange and lemon. The roast pork was very tasty and not fatty. Roasted vegetables, yorkshire pudding, seasonal vegetables and a gravy boat were served with the dinner. There was a good choice of six puddings. The chocolate brownie was to die for and was served with cream. Overall an overwhelming experience and would highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wiifit2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 10, 2012

so glad to hear you enjoyed your experience with us
many thanks for the good review
Regards
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

Four of us ate dinner here; there was a wider than expected menu choice; the food was significantly better prepared than in comparable places, and green vegetables came as well as the basics of the meat and fish dishes we ordered. And we paid somewhat less than we anticipated. Highly recommended (and we have no connection with the owners).

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Afterbrunel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 10, 2012

glad to hear you enjoyed your meal with us, we will look forward to seeing you in the
future
Regards
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

What a shame!! Being a regular visiter to this pub it is such a pity it has gone down hill. The quality of the produce, the flavour, portion size, everything is poor. We noticed things were slipping but give it the benefit of the doubt and tried the food twice more including Sunday lunch..It is now very poor pub grub. Bring back the quality PLEASE !!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Davey777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 6, 2012

Hello davey 777
i am sorry you feel that our standard has slipped and the produce is not of a standard
we pride our selves of sourceing all our ingredients locally and free range when available
this has moved us away from catering butchers and frozen products.
if you had communicated with us at the time we wouold have tried to rectify your concerns
again i am sorry you did not enjoy.

Regards
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

Booked the Oliver Twist via Late Rooms and arrived at 3.30 in the afternoon to find the place deserted - apparently check in is not until late afternoon. A phone call to the number on the pub sign got us the owner, who told us his wife would be with us in ten minutes and true to his word she arrived quickly. We thought we were getting bed and breakfast for £69 but were told that was the price for room only and breakfast would be another £9 each. If that had been clearer at Late Rooms we would definitely have booked a different hotel at nearly £90 for B&B!

Some rooms have apparently been nicely refurbished but we were in room 4, which was reviewed previously. The wet room ensuite was good, with a powerful shower, but the complimentary toiletries were sad, the mirror was cracked and the towel rail was so rusty that I would not have wanted to put anything of my own on it. There was a nasty looking stain on one of the chairs in the bedroom and the duvet cover and pillow cases looked like remnants from the 70s! The coasters for your coffee mugs were cheap and nasty plastic squares and the tourist information leaflets were dated 2010/11.

The TV was fixed on the wall opposite the bed and is so small that it was almost impossible to read the information bars for the different channels.

The plus for the Oliver Twist was definitely the food. We had an excellent meal in the restaurant on Saturday night and a very good breakfast the following morning, although the sausages did have a strange texture.

We had high hopes due to the establishment having a 4 star rating, but were very disappointed and will not be returning. If you do decide to stay here make sure you ask for one of the refurbished rooms and you may have a better experience than we did.

Room Tip: Be sur to ask foe one of the refurbished rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jillym88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2011

Pub is just off the A47 and also serves as a small hotel/bed and breakfast.

On the day that we called the pub was fairly quiet. Food and service were quite good but for a lunch menu the food was a little on the expensive side .

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 01760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2011

I stayed two nights whilst on business recently and had a lovely room and a fantastic breakfast. As this was business related i didn't get the chance to sample an evening meal but the menu choice and the fact that the produce is local was very appealing. The owner was delightful and we had a great chat over breakfast which was cooked to order and you could have as little or as much as you liked. I originally only booked for one night but found I needed to stay in the area a day longer than expected and immediately called the Oliver Twist for the second night. This hotel is a Country Inn with a olde worlde feel which i quite like. Although I had a wet room as an en suite, if you are looking for the modern look this is not for you. I would definately use this hotel again

Room Tip: A great breakfast to start the day
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julsmarkham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guyhirn
5.6 mi away
The Rose and Crown Hotel
5.4 mi away
Elme Hall Hotel
Elme Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Wisbech
470 reviews
5.5 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 3 in Wisbech
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
The Oliver Cromwell Hotel
5.3 mi away
The Elm Tree Inn
The Elm Tree Inn
#1 of 12 in Wisbech
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oliver Twist Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oliver Twist Country Inn

Address: Oliver Twist High Road, Guyhirn, Wisbech PE13 4EA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Wisbech > Guyhirn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Guyhirn
Price Range: $85 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oliver Twist Country Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oliver Twist Country Inn is situated in the countryside village of Guyhirn in Cambridgeshire. The fenland village is close to Cambridge and the famous Ely Cathedral, overlooking the river Nene. The family-run Oliver Twist Country Inn offers excellent four star accommodation as well as a renowned restaurant. The inn has been honoured with The English Tourism Council Quality Assurance (Visit Britain) Four Diamond Guest Accommodation award for showing "An even higher level of quality and comfort and Very good levels of customer care”. The Oliver Twist Country Inn offers 6 en-suite bedrooms, which are twin, double or disabled rooms (walking frames or wheelchair available upon request). The rooms are beautifully appointed and include TV, cooling fan, coffee/tea making facilities, trouser press, hair-dryer and a superb en-suite shower room. Rooms on the ground floor additionally include a comfortable settee or easy arm chair. The 50-seat restaurant at the Oliver Twist Country Inn serves delicious food along with superb wines and award winning ales. The menu is diverse and the restaurant also offers regularly changing specials for lunch and dinner. All dishes are freshly prepared by head chef John, and can be enjoyed in the restaurant or the lounge. Diabetic friendly as well as nut- and gluten-free meals can be prepared if notice is given at least 48 hours in advance.Pre-booking is recommended on weekends. The Oliver Twist Country Inn is a great venue for events of all kinds, such as family celebrations, weddings,birthday parties or business meetings for up to 50 delegates. Event facilities are flexible and can be adapted to your individual needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Oliver Twist Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing