We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Belle Little Pub!”
Review of The Bell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Bell Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Winslow
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Booked at the last minute for a graduation party, we stayed on the hottest weekend of the year so far with temperatures topping 30! When we first went into the room, it was so hot and stuffy, I thought we might have a problem! But with the windows thrown wide and a fan provided from downstairs, all was well and we were very comfortable!

Very quiet overnight even though there was a big wedding. Wifi didn't work for us but we were quite a long way from reception!

My only tiny niggle was the breakfast staff gave the impression that we were slightly stopping them from getting on with the rest of the day and just wanted to get us fed and out as quick as possible! Coffee was the worst I've had in years too! My tip is to not book breakfast til they get this sorted as there are a couple of lovely cafes in the square serving much more appetising breakfasts and proper coffee!

Room Tip: The back of the hotel was nice and quiet but no wifi!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsH0lt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (214)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 214 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2013

We were on a whirlwind tour trying to cover as much of England and Scotland as we could in four days. Left Edinburgh early morning and finally got to Winslow at 5.30pm. This was our second time staying at the Bell. This time we got the rooms at the back, facing the other pub. The room was smaller, so was the bathroom. But it was still as cosy as it was last year. Don, the Canadian at the reception, remembered us from our first visit. Breakfast was simple but still as nice. I just hope the next time we could stay for more than just a night here.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed at The Bell Hotel because we were attending a wedding in nearby Creslow Manor (who probably should consider opening a hotel, what a location!) and this place was on the list from the bride and groom. This part of Buckinghamshire is very rural and quite scenic but it's very much a working rural community, so you may encounter some interesting aromas approaching Winslow. But don't let that put you off!

Winslow itself is a charming little village, although I've been told I should refer to it as a “market town”. We saw the market on Sunday, which took place to the soundtrack of live jazz. So maybe not that rural after all!

The Bell is a lovely place; it's a proper English pub and the accomodation has clearly been there for some time. So I'd fear what an American visitor, used to a sterile, Holiday Inn-type experience, might make of a place like this with low roofs, room-temperature ale and a labyrinthine layout. We loved it; it was charming, authentic and a real taste of England as opposed to a Wetherspoons-esque approximation of it.

Our room, no. 26, was in the annex behind the main hotel (I'm not sure but maybe all of the accomodation was there). It was roomy and had everything we needed – not sure what the wifi situation was as we didn't need it but it was advertised as free. We had two nights in the hotel, one of which was after the wedding where we spent some time at the resident's bar. We also had breakfast both mornings, the first of which was a buffet-type but the second morning, we thought we missed it. As it turned out, they could do one for us to order, which was very good of them but seemed to be no trouble to them at all. This was the spirit with all the staff and any shortcomings that such an old establishment like this had seemed to be overcome by their dedication to customer satisfaction.

We also had a meal there the second evening, which we enjoyed hugely; my wife had ham tagliatelle (with proper chunks of ham) and I had a ribeye steak, which was beautiful.

All-in-all, a great place, a lovely village – sorry, market town – and somewhere we'll be back to soon.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Since my last review the Bell has changed hands and has now returned to the very high standard that this hotel used to achieve. Whilst the carvery is still excellent, the bar service is now excellent.
Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barrie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We are not fussy travellers and don't expect much for an overnighter just clean and comfy but this place delivered on zero. Stinking bathroom, filthy unusable kettle, and to top it all terrible stomach upset from the carvery. Rare lukewarm beef which with benefit of hindsight shouldnt have touched with a barge pole! Coffee in the bar areas served courtesy of a giant Tchibo vending machine - classy! Tables were left dirty and cluttered. Thank goodness never booked for breakfast. Couldn't wait to escape as early as poss in the morning. As if experience cldn't get any worse all the cash points in the surrounding vicinity had run out of cash! Stop was for Grand Prix - a bare tent in a field would have been an improvement!

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrsbizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We are a mature couple visiting with our son in a wheelchair.
Booked room 42 which we were advised as suitable!
Opened the door to a dark gloomy experience and room about 10ft * 16ft with 3 beds.The bedding was brown which added to the gloom. (Put light bedding in)
The bathroom was very small and had no access for a handicapped person.
We have traveled far & wide and suggest this room should be priced at £30.
From a positive view, the staff where amongst the best.

Room Tip: Avoid at all cost room42
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnsps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We are a mature couple, who stayed for ONE night in JUNE 2013..
The Bell is in the centre of Winslow.
It has undergone many extensions in it's lifetime, but this DOES NOT detract from it's charm.
A very large Car Park, and on the main A road to Buckingham.
The rooms were well appointed & comfortable.
A buffet breakfast is available until 9.00 am on weekdays, but don't dally as it is cleared by 9.15 latest!
There is a BAR breakfast served from then.
Staff very helpful. We had a most enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PellisLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winslow
2.1 mi away
De Vere Horwood Estate
De Vere Horwood Estate
#1 of 1 in Little Horwood
1,421 reviews
5.5 mi away
Best Western Buckingham Hotel
6.0 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#4 of 4 in Buckingham
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Villiers Hotel
Villiers Hotel
#1 of 4 in Buckingham
510 reviews
6.9 mi away
Five Arrows Hotel
Five Arrows Hotel
#1 of 2 in Waddesdon
567 reviews
8.1 mi away
Best Western Garden Court Aylesbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bell Hotel

Address: Market Square, Winslow MK18 3AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Aylesbury Vale > Winslow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Winslow
Price Range: $88 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Bell Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Bell Hotel Winslow, ideally located for anyone seeking an Aylesbury hotel or Milton Keynes hotel. Our hotel lies in the centre of the historical market town of Winslow, enriched with quaint boutique stores and situated in the midst of the Buckinghamshire countryside. All our bedrooms are en-suite, well appointed and comfortable with tastefully colour coordinated fabrics and furnishings. We provide four executive rooms with the luxury of jacuzzi baths and four poster beds, as well as three family rooms and our range of double, twin and single rooms. In late 2012, the hotel was purchased by its previous owners who are once again providing a daily 'hands on management' approach towards the running of the hotel. Very popular with local residents of the town, "Rosies" Bar has now moved to the hotel and their well known management offer a wide range of Beers, Wines and Spirits along with an extensive and appetizing Bar Menu, created by their original chefs. The Bell Hotel is composed of "Rosies" Bar, plus a Carvery Restaurant - serving up to 160 people - a TV lounge, Coffee Lounge and ample free parking for all guests. Free internet access is available in all public areas. We supply meeting and conference facilities as well as catering for a large number of private functions and weddings for which we also hold a civil ceremony license. We look forward to seeing you here at The Bell Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Bell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing