We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very good 'Coaching Inn' in the true sense of the words.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Bell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Bell Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Winslow
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A very good 'Coaching Inn' in the true sense of the words.”
Reviewed November 1, 2011

Stayed two nights. Staff very friendly and helpful. The inn is over 400 years old but you wouldn't know it. Food was good and served fairly quickly. Good choice of meals. Breakfast also good. We paid £64 per night per room. The same I would have at a Premier Inn, but this felt a far more personal service and the money going locally, not to an International Company. We will be visiting the friends who have moved to this area recently, again, and will definatley stay here.

Room Tip: There are rooms in the hotel, in a converted 'barn' in the court yard, and above a hairdress...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 427Hedley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    64
    33
    21
    19
See reviews for
51
55
7
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
downham market
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2011

Been here for Sunday carvery many times, good food, and they do a great party night .quite a large dining good friendly service in a good quality country hotel. North Buckinghamshire has many a good pub/hotel/eatery places take a look arround all the local places

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ironbridge Gorge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
257 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

We have just returned from two nights here, where we ate Dinner on both evenings and of course breakfast both mornings. The new Manager David has improved this Hotel a lot in his short time there and could not have been more helpful. The bell is a very old building and has an "Eclectic" range of rooms available. I have stayed here on four previous stays in the area and have had some strange experiences prior to this visit.
David was "On Duty" behind reception when we arrived and allocated us a lovely room with a Four Poster bed and a HUGE Jacuzzi bed. The room was very comfortable and it was clean!!!
We had a really nice Carvery Dinner on Both evenings and both were VERY Good!!!
The Staff are friendly and helpful and I really enjoyed my stay........Thank You David and your team!!!

Room Tip: We had Room 18!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluemel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bray on Thames, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 9, 2011

I returned to The Bell having stayed here at the start of the year, and have to say the management changes are certainly starting to show. Although some of the bedrooms still need improving, the new all day bar menu was great! A new Chef has been recruited and the ground floor areas generally tidied up with uniformed staff giving a much more professional appearance. I look forward to returning next month and seeing even greater improvements......

Room Tip: Rooms in the main part of the hotel have free wifi
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MonkeyIslandBray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
104 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2010

The Bell Inn, Winslow is quite possibly one of the worst hotels that I have had to stay in. Having spent £82 for bed and breakfast for one night, I wasn't expecting much but I certainly expected more than we got. After-all, I have paid less to stay in a Mariott.

Upon arrival we made our way to reception and found check in to be efficient and courteous. We were directed to room 6 located a short walk through the meandering corridors on the first floor. The room was fairly small with a very comfortable double bed and clean linen. The room however smelt musty and generally seemed dirty.

The TV was tiny with only three working channels and the ceiling was covered in cobwebs. The bathroom was tiny with the usual facilities and clean towels however lacked a bath. The shower was small and provided a decent jet of water but at varying temperatures between scalding hot and freezing cold! The shower gel and soap dispensers were both empty. I also found that the sealant around the sink was loose and that plaster was peeling away. In essence the room was nothing like the pictures on their website.

What grieved me the most was the fact that the extractor chimneys from the kitchen were directly outside the window and blew hot dirty air against the window and into the room. This made the room incredibly hot and made my wife ill by morning. These chimneys are also very noisy at night and every hour or so they woke us up. This was coupled with noise throughout the hotel whenever someone flushed a toilet or ran a tap.

Breakfast was OK with a decent selection of cereals and juices. The English breakfast was fairly average with good bacon and sausages but only scrambled egg that I guess was the powdered egg sort. The breakfast room was also very stuffy and hot and smelt strongly of the kitchens.

The problem with the chimneys was brought to the attention of the receptionist however the response was simply, "I'll get someone to take a look as they might need re-directing." This was immediately followed by "That'll be £83.50 please". Quite frankly, I paid very reluctantly for our stay and simply couldn't wait to leave.

I understand that there are other Bed and Breakfasts in the area and I would strongly advise people to try these first. The Bell is a lovely building but seems akin to Faulty Towers, we certainly won't be re-visiting.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Pau109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Winslow hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 14, 2010

We know Winslow well, we have relatives nearby. As we had a family event to attend we decided for convince to stay at the Bell.
On arrival we were given the wrong room type but this was sorted out.
The room was average, nothing special but clean and tidy. Bathroom had no windows, but was large and clean.
There was no soap in the shower soap dispenser, other guests had complained of the same.
Breakfast was of poor quality. Limited choice buffet. The sausages were of the cheapest, poorest quality, bacon was not much better. Only eggs on offer where scrambled and tasteless/bland.
With a little work this hotel could be so much better than it is.
If you're looking for somewhere to spend the night out of necessity in the area, then this hotel will do but don't set your expectations to high.
Staff where generally helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2008

We stayed at The Bell Inn, when in the area for a function. It is a lovely building, with public areas seeming fairly well looked after, however our room was not great. It was clean, but it had some very odd pipework running about 3 inches below the ceiling, through the bedroom and bathroom. Also the bathroom was very small, barely room to stand in the middle of the bath, toilet and sink. We used the hotel as it was suggested and we did not know the area, but had there been a premier inn, we probably would have stayed there, paid the same, but had a better room.

  • Disliked — Weird pipework in the bedroom!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmilyJC123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winslow
6.7 mi away
De Vere Horwood Estate
De Vere Horwood Estate
#1 of 1 in Little Horwood
1,269 reviews
14.8 mi away
Hartwell House
Hartwell House
#1 of 1 in Hartwell
649 reviews
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Buckingham Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Five Arrows Hotel
Five Arrows Hotel
#1 of 2 in Waddesdon
524 reviews
0.0 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#4 of 4 in Buckingham
292 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villiers Hotel
Villiers Hotel
#1 of 4 in Buckingham
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bell Hotel

Property: The Bell Hotel
Address: Market Square, Winslow MK18 3AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Aylesbury Vale > Winslow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Winslow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Bell Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Bell Hotel Winslow, ideally located for anyone seeking an Aylesbury hotel or Milton Keynes hotel. Our hotel lies in the centre of the historical market town of Winslow, enriched with quaint boutique stores and situated in the midst of the Buckinghamshire countryside. All our bedrooms are en-suite, well appointed and comfortable with tastefully colour coordinated fabrics and furnishings. We provide four executive rooms with the luxury of jacuzzi baths and four poster beds, as well as three family rooms and our range of double, twin and single rooms. In late 2012, the hotel was purchased by its previous owners who are once again providing a daily 'hands on management' approach towards the running of the hotel. Very popular with local residents of the town, "Rosies" Bar has now moved to the hotel and their well known management offer a wide range of Beers, Wines and Spirits along with an extensive and appetizing Bar Menu, created by their original chefs. The Bell Hotel is composed of "Rosies" Bar, plus a Carvery Restaurant - serving up to 160 people - a TV lounge, Coffee Lounge and ample free parking for all guests. Free internet access is available in all public areas. We supply meeting and conference facilities as well as catering for a large number of private functions and weddings for which we also hold a civil ceremony license. We look forward to seeing you here at The Bell Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Bell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing