We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cosy B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old Stables B&B
Ranked #3 of 6 Winslow B&B and Inns
Belligham WA
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A cosy B&B”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

The Old Stables B&B is really old having been built in the 1700's with exposed beams and several levels. Jeff was very welcoming as was Zoe the Westie. He took our bags up the stairs for us and put the TV on so we could watch the news. Also he made a reservation for us at Paprika restaurant which is close to the B&B and is very good. Our room was large, but would work better for a couple than for two ladies who need twin beds. That said I slept very comfortably on the sofa bed, but it made the room smaller. We shared a large modern bathroom. This is an intimate B&B where you are the guest of the host. Winslow is a very attractive village and the B&B is in a quiet location but near everything. It is a good value for the money.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marjpanek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    10
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
36
15
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This is my third stay at Anna's B&B and I can never fault it! Her attention to detail and warm welcome is always great. From the cup of tea/coffee and biscuits on arrival to the seriously tasty, fresh and delicious breakfasts, the standards have never waned. We will be back once again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fab2910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurstpierpoint, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 12, 2013

What a lovely B&B! Jeff is a very relaxed and welcoming host and Zoe made a fuss of us too!

When we arrived we were SO stressed out because of delays on the M25. Jeff was a very calming influence. The location is perfect; tucked away in a quiet lane in a beautiful village, the bed was one of the most comfortable I've ever slept in and the locally sourced marmalade was delicious.

We were attending a wedding nearby, hence the need to stay over. However, I'm trying to think of an excuse to go back to Winslow just so we can stay again.

A sincere and heartfelt thanks for your hospitality Jeff. I can honestly say it felt like we were staying with an old friend, rather than just a B&B.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 6, 2013

The Old Stables B&B

Stayed 27th July 2013 - 4 of us 2 x rooms (me, wife, son + his wife) - anybody would be hard pressed to find a more hospitable place to stay in Winslow - excellent value - would stay again

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bolton26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Brilliant B&B - Jeff is a wonderful, charming, amusing, relaxed host and made us feel very welcome. Beautiful quirky property; lovely rooms and bathroom. Breakfast was all set out in the morning and all we had to do was help ourselves. We stayed for three nights (19-21 July) and had a couple of lovely evenings chatting with Jeff in his back garden and in the lounge after we'd had dinner in the Bell Hotel. Stay here - you will enjoy it!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JalaneSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Attending a wedding at a large hotel nearby, we had left it too late to book a room there. Instead we booked the Old Stables and were very glad we did.
The room was really comfortable, breakfast the next day was nice & relaxed and Jeff was a genuinely welcoming host. Upon realising that we needed a taxi on Sunday morning to pick up our car from the wedding hotel, Jeff very kindly offered to drop us off himself which was much appreciated.
We only had time for a quick stroll round Winslow & its Farmer's Market but would definitely think of visiting again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank birchshei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Delightful Landlord Jeff who made us feel very much at home! A relaxing ambience! Very convenient to shops and local restaurants. Well recommended, good location and would certainly stay in this charming abode again! Thank you Jeff!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charmaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winslow
2.1 mi away
De Vere Horwood Estate
De Vere Horwood Estate
#1 of 1 in Little Horwood
1,351 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bell Hotel
The Bell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Winslow
197 reviews
8.1 mi away
Best Western Garden Court Aylesbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel (was Mercure Parkside House)
5.5 mi away
Travelodge Buckingham
Travelodge Buckingham
#2 of 4 in Buckingham
103 reviews
6.8 mi away
Five Arrows Hotel
Five Arrows Hotel
#1 of 2 in Waddesdon
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Stables B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Stables B&B

Property: The Old Stables B&B
Address: 3 The Walk, Winslow MK18 3AJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Aylesbury Vale > Winslow
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Winslow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a quiet backwater in the centre of Winslow close to the shops, restaurants and pubs, this timber framed 18c cottage is warm and welcoming. The residents’ sitting room has a TV with freeview and an extensive DVD collection and in winter months you can linger in front of the open log fire. In the summer you are welcome to sit and enjoy the quiet of the walled garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Old Stables B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing