We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Old Stables - Winslow”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Old Stables B&B
Ranked #2 of 6 Winslow B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 8, 2012

The Old Stables met up to my expectations of an escape to the country in England. Having watched this show in Sydney for many hours, I was delighted to find a wonderful host with an equally charming home. As an artist, I found his cottage garden very romantic and spent time capturing its beauty. Jeff while welcoming was not obtrusive and allowed me my own space in his home. His recommendations for a meal were excellent and after spending three nights there I am looking forward to a return visit. Many thanks Jeff.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank millie507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (108)
There are newer reviews for The Old Stables B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 108 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2012

This was a charming b&b with very comfortable accommodation. Jeff made us feel very welcome and provided an excellent breakfast. We would certainly stay here again if in the area. Certainly one of the best b&b's we have found.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 511Linda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

I thoroughly enjoyed my five night stay in this comfortable and clean B&B in charming Winslow. The house is nicely decorated, and has character but with modern conveniences. Personally, I like being able to get breakfast when it suits me, as it gives the option to get out the door early, or sleep in. I wish more B&Bs would offer this. An extra bonus was being able to do laundry. Since I was doing research in the area, owner Jeff got on the phone right away and tracked down contacts for me, which was most helpful. I think one would be hard pressed to find better value than this very reasonably priced B&B.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AprilB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

This property is beautiful, charming and very comfortable, and the service provided by Jeff, it's owner, excellent and very welcoming.
We were originally booked in for two nights, but stayed for three, and it really felt like a home from home.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We found this little gem just by chance and it fitted our requirments perfectly, a place with loads of charm. A really good stay, very relaxed and just what we required. Jeff was very helpful and nothing seemed too much trouble and his marmalade at breakfast is to die for.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

This is an idyllic, unspoilt old cottage in a very pretty spot, England at it's best!! Jeff was fabulous - incredibly welcoming and entertaining - and gave us the full run of his lovely house.
The bed was super with a lovely down duvet - something very few B&B's provide!! Unfortunately we were only in Winslow for one night - we wish it could have been more!!!
Jeff suggested we had dinner at the winebar/restaurant just around the corner and they very kindly gave us a discount on the bill as we were staying with him - which shows a traditional village community spiriit which adds to the charm! The breakfast in the lovely warm kitchen was perfect - everything we could want including delicious home made jams and freshly baked bread. We were able to park right outside the front door - we couldn't have asked for a better place to stay - it was also really good value!! Many, many thanks!!

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank byfieldhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

I find this a tricky place to review. This is a smallish property with 3 rooms. The owner Jeff also lives here. Its right in the centre of Winslow a small town with shops and a number of eateries including take-aways. Jeff stresses that you have the run of the place including the lounge with TV and the Kitchen/Diner where you could, if you wished, eat your own food. Breakfast is served in the kitchen and can be full English for an extra £5.50.

We stayed in the rooms that shared a bathroom. We did not pick this up from the website and did not think to ask when we booked as you assume most places are en suite. Luckily we were with friends who were happy to share had this not been the case we might have walked away.

The bedrooms in question were fine although did have a damp patch in the ceiling in the double. The bathroom was large and in good order apart from paint peeling off the radiator.

There is no off street parking and finding a spot in the narrow street is difficult. Both of us had to park on the main road.

The tricky bit and this is personal, is because you are using the facilities (Lounge and Kitchen) belonging to the owner it felt to us that we were intruding into the home of a stranger which made us feel a little uncomfortable. Let me stress this was not down to Jeff who made us feel very welcome.

As other reviewers have said its a quaint property in a quaint village that offers good value accommodation with the run of the house. On reflection it wasn't for us but do please try it for yourself.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AndrewandMary_15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winslow
2.1 mi away
De Vere Horwood Estate
De Vere Horwood Estate
#1 of 1 in Little Horwood
1,399 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Bell Hotel
The Bell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Winslow
211 reviews
9.2 mi away
Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel (was Mercure Parkside House)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Best Western Buckingham Hotel
7.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milton Keynes
0.0 mi away
Just So Cottage
Just So Cottage
#1 of 6 in Winslow
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Stables B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Stables B&B

Address: 3 The Walk, Winslow MK18 3AJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Aylesbury Vale > Winslow
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Winslow
Price Range: $91 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a quiet backwater in the centre of Winslow close to the shops, restaurants and pubs, this timber framed 18c cottage is warm and welcoming. The residents’ sitting room has a TV with freeview and an extensive DVD collection and in winter months you can linger in front of the open log fire. In the summer you are welcome to sit and enjoy the quiet of the walled garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Old Stables B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing