We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality”
Review of Five Arrows Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Five Arrows Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Waddesdon
Certificate of Excellence
Chaddesley Corbett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Quality”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Lovely one night stay in a quality courtyard room. Evening meal and breakfast both excellent. All staff very helpful and friendly. We were so impressed we have booked 6 rooms for a family celebration in July. Hoping for a sunny evening to get the best from the beautiful garden area. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Quieter rooms are at the back overlooking the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    172
    34
    9
    7
See reviews for
69
338
4
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
303 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 506 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Spent 2 nights here this week in room 4. Was very impressed with first impressions from the outside. The garden is lovely with very nice garden furniture. It would be lovely for a meal on a sunny day. The reception area is a bit odd and is part of the bar area. I found my room in the main building - it had an impressive 4 poster bed, and pleasant/clean bathroom. My only moan would be that it was quite tired around the edges and needs a refurb, including replacing the tiny TV. I think there are some refurbed rooms there so I would suggest you ask for one of them. Room 4 is also very close to a busy main road and I wasn't able to keep the balcony door open as the traffic is very loud. Good comfy bed but pillows were uncomfortable and lumpy.

The food in the restaurant was very good as was the wine offer. A bit odd we were given a table very close to the till/work area which wasn't very relaxing as orders were being given out from this area and it was a bit distracting - there were better tables in the restaurant where they could have put us! But saying that very good food.

Would like to go again just to visit Waddesdon Manor. A d of course have a bottle of Rothchilds wine!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bertie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed June 13, 2014

I enjoyed an excellent two course lunch without wine (sadly!) whilst I was in the area for some business meetings. The food and service along with a glorious hot June day made for a memorable experience. Well worth a visit if you are in the area and I hope to bring the family for Sunday lunch soon.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 18567diner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2014

We had a one night stay including bed, breakfast and evening meal. We were greeted by Horatio who took us across the courtyard to our room. Well it was more like a suite! Very clean and comfortable (the bed was the best we had slept in away from home!) When we went in for dinner we were offered a glass of champagne, with the menue.The staff were very attentive and helpful without being over bearing. The food was out of this world and very well presented.All was cooked to perfection and very tasty. The following morning, breakfast was a "full English" and very enjoyable.I liked the idea of using slate plates for the bread and starters. I would highly recommend this hotel and restaurant.

Room Tip: A good venue for a good meal and bedroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I got married here last month. The hotel is a wonderful, intimate venue and the staff were all friendly and so helpful from the first enquiry right down to checking out the day after.
The suite we stayed in was extremely comfortable and had a lovely bath and shower.
The food for our wedding was a well thought out menu of delicious food and dietary requirements were no trouble. Breakfast was also fantastic. I would whole heartedly recommend the hotel to anyone looking for a luxury hotel or an intimate and beautiful wedding venue. I cannot thank the staff of the Five Arrows enough for the wonderful day we all had.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank RaeW90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I have been working very hard away from home so decided to have a luxury night in a local hotel. We found a special Sunday night rate that included dinner and breakfast.
Was shown into a delightful room with ensuite. We had a great dinner and a perfect English breakfast. Will definitely go back if we find ourselves in Aylesbury again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 998jacquia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the 5 arrows last year and enjoyed a exceptionally relaxing stay. There is attention to detail throughout. A meal in the restaurant was also a very pleasant surprise.

Would certainly return.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karl N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waddesdon
4.4 mi away
Hartwell House
Hartwell House
#1 of 1 in Hartwell
668 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Lion Waddesdon
The Lion Waddesdon
#2 of 2 in Waddesdon
83 reviews
9.7 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wendover
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Best Western Garden Court Aylesbury
7.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Aylesbury
Holiday Inn Aylesbury
#3 of 6 in Aylesbury
725 reviews
9.2 mi away
West Lodge Hotel
West Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Aston Clinton
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Five Arrows Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Five Arrows Hotel

Property: Five Arrows Hotel
Address: High Street, Waddesdon HP18 0JE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Aylesbury Vale > Waddesdon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Waddesdon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Five Arrows Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Five Arrows Hotel and Restaurant stands at the gates of Waddesdon Manor offering 16 bedrooms of character and charm. The Restaurant has a varied and exciting menu to suit all tastes, and a wine list that encompasses everyday and rare wines from both New and Old World vineyards. Whether you merely pop in for coffee or tea, or come to dine and stay the night, we aim to make you comfortable and very welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Five Arrows Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
5 Arrows Hotel
Five Arrows Waddesdon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing