We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely staff but overcharged and dusty room”
Review of Five Arrows Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Five Arrows Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Waddesdon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 28, 2013

The room in the annexe looked ok until I dropped my glasses by the bed. When I picked them up they had a lump of dust on them and I noticed that there were dust webs in the corner and the skirting boards were all dusty as were the bedside tables. Katherine came and cleaned up straight away. The beds were strangely soft and unsupportive. The evening meal was superb and the staff very attentive. However we were overcharged as the meal was included in the deal but it appeared on the bill. We were also charged more than the price quoted on booking. This was put right.
It could be a great place, the housekeeping staff need to be as enthusiastic as the front of house staff !

Room Tip: The annexe room was ok but noisy early morning as the delivery van was outside at 6:30
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexMcEwen, General Manager at Five Arrows Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Dear Sue B,

Firstly i would like to thank you for your review. All comments are most welcomed and help us to succeed further. I apologise that your room was not up to standard. This is totally unacceptable and has been delt with. I am however glad to hear that Catherine responded quickly and efficiently and that you enjoyed your experiance in the restaurant.

Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (574)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

436 - 442 of 574 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2013

Having enjoyed dinner at some of the finest Michelin stared restaurants, and paying the price for it! The Five Arrows is a breath of fresh air. The head waiter/manager was the most charismatic, entertaining, front of house person I have ever met! The room was alight with his presence! No doubt the 'highbrow' customer would be a little unsure of how to receive such a character, after all this waiter has a voice, an opinion, a personality, and that is part of what made the night so good. The wine choice was good, mainly Rothschild. The Los Vascos Grande Reserve was immense value for money, so complex and well balanced. The food was great, I had the smoked salmon starter, which was generous and well made. I had duck for mains, which was well cooked and presented. the warm moouse for dessert was just brilliant! I left the Five Arrows having paid a fraction of what is charged at a Michelin stared restaurant. The food wasnt quite as refined, but it tasted just as good, if not better, and I had a laugh in the process. Great night, great food, great company.....for the price, it cannot be beaten

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lafitelunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexMcEwen, General Manager at Five Arrows Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Dear lafitelunch,

Thank you so much for your review! We pride ourselves on our standards, service, beverages and food. I have personally thanked all the team front and back of house. We shall look forward to welcoming you back.


Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Our stay got a bad start. Altho' we had written confirmation of our booking we were one room short for the second night and an attempt was made to fob 2 of us off to another hotel for the second night. The situation was not dealt with well as we were told it was our fault by a slightly unfriendly receptionist. However we got pour rooms after we insisted. The food was good for breakfast and dinner (a bit pricey) the waiter was a bit too familiar and joined in our converstions! The room (one of our friends were in a tiny room) was comfortable but over furnished. We had to move it around to access the storage space. The bathroom old fashioned but adequate and clean. The building and grounds were lovely. I advise if you book on line as we did to ring ahead to make sure they have the booking right even if you have as we did the wrtitten confirmation. Room at the front was bigger but noisey which was not the holet's fault.

Room Tip: If you want quiet go to the back. Not all rooms have bath and/or shower. We had both but our friends...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carol a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Travelled with my wife .Main reason was to visit the Waddesdon Manor

It's a lovely styled hotel and very warm and welcoming once inside.
We had room five at the front with private balcony which overlooks front garden.
Sadly because our room was at the front ,there is some noise from assign traffic.
It didn't affect me a the room was so comfortable .once my head hit the pillow I was asleep !

Dinner was very nice in the lovely dining room a nice treat for us.Nice choice of wine too.
A good choice for breakfast too.

Staff are very friendly and helpful,sadly we only had one night.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank JohnyBrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexMcEwen, General Manager at Five Arrows Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Dear JohnyBrett

Thank you for the great review after staying here with your wife after visiting Waddesdon Manor, though we agree it's a shame you were only here for one night! As mentioned in a previous response, we are very pleased to announce that the installation of triple glazing has begun, so we look forward to being able to offer rooms as restful at the front as at the back for guests (no matter how lightly they sleep!) very soon.

Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

This was our third visit and it was as good as ever. The welcome was warm and our favourite room (9) was ready for us when we arrived. Dinner was excellent, with great food, lovely wines and the usual superb service: thanks to Horacio, Michelle and Charlotte for a great evening. When the time came, we slept beautifully and enjoyed a great English breakfast in the morning. We can't wait for next time!

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Pete M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexMcEwen, General Manager at Five Arrows Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Dear Pete M

Horacio, Michelle and Charlotte join me in extending thanks for your kind words and five star review. We hope to welcome you back again and again and every time be your perfect place to stay. It's such a pleasure to be able to have regular guests and all get to know each other, so do come again soon!

Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

we love whaddaston manor so when we spotted a deal for a night at the five arrows we decided to treat ourselves, everthing was excellant,and we were pleased to see some wines on the menu at £16 99 a bottle,my only complaint was an extra charge at breakfast for omelette,which i would have prefered,to full english.Staff very helpful,Look forward to next visit.we were given a room in the grounds overlookings the lovely gardens

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandra w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexMcEwen, General Manager at Five Arrows Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Dear sandra w

Thank you for your complimentary review, and Horacio in particular appreciates the mention. We are very pleased to be able to offer a great range of wines (by the bottle and glass) starting from just £16.95, so well worth adding to your meal!

We look forward to your next visit too.

Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

The Hotel was lovely, very well looked after. The staff were very friendly and the service was excellent. The room was comfortable and clean and the bathroom modern. The breakfast was great and a surprise as we didn't realise the price included breakfast. The only issue was the traffic noise which was a problem for me being a light sleeper. My companion did not even notice the noise.

I can also recommend the restaurant which offered a great dinner at a reasonable price and with exceptional service.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexMcEwen, General Manager at Five Arrows Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Dear Daniel J

Thank you for your favourable comments about the hotel, the staff and service, the housekeeping and the breakfast and dinner. They are very much appreciated. With regard to the road noise, we have at last been able to begin the triple glazing process on the front of the hotel with the first room begun and the others soon to follow, so we hope on your next stay to elicit five stars on all points!

Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waddesdon
4.4 mi away
Hartwell House
Hartwell House
#1 of 1 in Hartwell
718 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Lion Waddesdon
The Lion Waddesdon
#2 of 2 in Waddesdon
87 reviews
7.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Aylesbury
Holiday Inn Aylesbury
#11 of 16 in Aylesbury
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Villiers Hotel
Villiers Hotel
#1 of 4 in Buckingham
513 reviews
5.0 mi away
Best Western Garden Court Aylesbury
9.7 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wendover
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Five Arrows Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Five Arrows Hotel

Address: High Street, Waddesdon, Aylesbury HP18 0JE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Aylesbury Vale > Aylesbury > Waddesdon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Waddesdon
Price Range: $123 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Five Arrows Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Five Arrows Hotel and Restaurant stands at the gates of Waddesdon Manor offering 16 bedrooms of character and charm. The Restaurant has a varied and exciting menu to suit all tastes, and a wine list that encompasses everyday and rare wines from both New and Old World vineyards. Whether you merely pop in for coffee or tea, or come to dine and stay the night, we aim to make you comfortable and very welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Five Arrows Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
5 Arrows Hotel
Five Arrows Waddesdon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing