We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Stay”
Review of Five Arrows Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Five Arrows Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Waddesdon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We recently stayed at the hotel after visiting Waddesdon Manor.
We found this a fitting choice of hotel afted visiting the manor. Staff were very helpful and the evening meal in the restaurant was very enjoyable. Breakfast was cooked to order and there was plenty of choice. As commented in other reviews the road noise was a particular problem throughout the night, had the hotel not been full I am sure we could have moved to another room at the rear of the hotel. We would have no reservations at staying at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Due to road noise request a room at the rear of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rshill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexMcEwen, General Manager at Five Arrows Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2012

Dear Rshill,
Thank you for having taken the time to post a review of your stay on TripAdvisor. I am pleased to see that you, as do many, decided to stay with us when planning a visit to Waddesdon Manor and had a very positive experience.
You are absolutely right in saying that had we not been full we would have moved you to another room. It is also true that the two rooms facing directly onto the road can hear the traffic and we are working on finding a solution in keeping with the general style and feel of the property.
Of the 9 other rooms we have, three are separate to the main hotel across a courtyard. This includes Tring Park, and its semi-secluded position, four poster bed and open plan seating area offer guests complete tranquillity and relaxation.
We are pleased you would consider staying with us again, very glad that you enjoyed the food, and I hope have the pleasure of welcoming you again
Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (592)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

500 - 506 of 592 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

Five Arrows is right next to the beautiful Waddesdon Manor, perfect if you are planning a visit.

Room was smallish but fine for just me for 1 night. Bathroom very clean and bright.

Lovely patio area for relaxing with a drink.

Breakfast was very nice, cooked to order plus pastries and fruits. Lovely piping hot pot of coffee.

Only criticisms are that the rooms are due a redecoration, starting to look a bit faded and worn in places. Also the hotel sits right on top of the main road, it is noisy at night. Maybe a room at the back of the hotel might be better, but If you find road noise an issue you might struggle to sleep.

It's a small hotel and the staff were extremely welcoming and friendly, I'd happily return here for another visit to Waddesdon Manor.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Basilicus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexMcEwen, General Manager at Five Arrows Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Dear Basilicus

I regret that you found your room rather small. We have classic, deluxe and junior suites in a variety of shapes and sizes so do please let us know your preference next time you come! We look at our rooms regularly, and maintaining and improving them is an ongoing process here. For example, in the last 6 months two of them have had new bathrooms put in.

You finish by complimenting the friendliness of our staff. This compliment has been passed to them and I can tell you they take pride in their work and are genuinely pleased by your words.

Many thanks.

Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

My husband and I returned from a Dinner, Bed and Breakfast stay earlier today. We were taking an all too brief but valuable break from our parenting of three boys! I had booked the stay as a surprise and, together, we were pleasantly surprised by the all round quality of the Five Arrows. We had a three course meal last night plus wine. Their Friday night deal consists of a £60 contribution the the cost of this meal (to which guests can add to if they wish - we had a nice and reasonably priced bottle of red wine) which starts off with a glass of champagne. I had a cheese selection as my pudding and was somewhat taken aback when the waitress took issue with my request to leave out the blue veined cheese on offer...she suggested I go with it and try something new and it was really good! Our main meal had consisted of tender beef with vegetables. The service was fine, although a little more 'obvious' than we'd heard. One waitress helped us choose the wine.

On return to our room (Villa Victoria) we were struck by how quiet it was and over night all we heard was a fox barking! The linen was spotless, the toiletries good quality and the shower did not require a degree to operate it. Just two less positive comments: the bathroom, although clean, was suffering from mould growth in places; I wish we could have had an actual double bed rather than two singles bolted together...the centre join is always so hard. As someone has already said, the beds were incredibly soft, perhaps too much so. But the overall look and feel was really good, conveying a gentle French style.

Breakfast this morning was a mixture of self-service and waitress service with us starting with warmed pastries, fruit juice and some fresh fruit. We then enjoyed a cooked breakfast with some of the best sausage we have eaten, and that's saying something! The over all bill came to £184 with the original deal costing £140. Having packed up (rooms vacated at 11.00am) we made our way to Waddeson Manor where we took advantage of two free entries to the gardens. It was superb and we plan to return. What a nice touch to an already good value stay.

We will definitely stay again....well, when the out laws are available, anyway!

Room Tip: The main road is busy with quite a bit of farming traffic but there was no commuter traffic being a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RevNicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexMcEwen, General Manager at Five Arrows Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Dear RevNicky

I am glad you and your husband both enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for such a comprehensive review. You commented on the value of our very popular Friday offer as well as mentioning the fact you had a reasonably priced bottle of wine with your meal. I must say we have not used our link to the Rothschild heritage as an excuse to have an unreasonable list. We update it regularly and today we have 17 wines at less than £25.00 per bottle. I am glad you had the opportunity to visit the gardens of Waddesdon Manor. These are delightful and we are blessed to have them so close and to be able to offer free access to them to our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you next time you are able to visit us.

Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Short 2 night stay.
Accomodation, staff and all round services were marvelous.
Food was some of the best we've ever had. Excellent.
Could not have had a more wonderful and relaxing time.
My wife is booking again, (apart from Venice) This is a first for this country.
John S

Room Tip: We had one of the suites. Wonderful choice. Looked at the hotel rooms and they were also very nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexMcEwen, General Manager at Five Arrows Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Dear Mr S,

Thank you for qualifying your stay with us as marvellous, and for stating the food at the Five Arrows to be excellent. This greatly pleases our kitchen team! I believe that we are lucky enough to have a team of chefs that manage to deliver this level of quality consistently as will be confirmed to you and Mrs S on your return visit. We look forward to welcoming you.

Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

My husband and I recently married at the Five Arrows, with an evening ceremony followed by a casual reception with cocktails and a buffet and cheese board. Everyone at our wedding commented that the venue was lovely, and we couldn't agree more. The cartshed was the perfect setting for our 30-ish guests and the staff were excellent and on hand to satisfy our requirements through til the end of the evening. The food surpassed expectations, with plenty for everyone - very tasty indeed, as were the choice of cocktails. The rooms are very spacious and comfortable, with an olde-English feel with all mod cons. We ate a couple of meals in the restaurant throughout our stay, and highly recommend the eggs benedict and sausages with mash. We and our guests were treated very well, and we look forward to enjoying our anniversaries there in the future. Special thanks go to Chloe for arranging an amazing evening - even though we wanted something out of the norm she was very accommodating - and to Didier for his help and professionalism on the night. They made it happen, and they made it amazing. THANKS!

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the courtyard/garden instead of the A41 for a better night's rest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichelleB930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexMcEwen, General Manager at Five Arrows Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Dear Michelle B,
We are very pleased to see that you found your wedding at the Five Arrows amazing. It is always important to meet guests expectations but to be able to exceed them as we did on your wedding day, fills us with pride and confidence.
As I have mentioned on previous responses, although I am more than happy to accept the compliment (and the two employees you mention by name are also gratified that you appreciated their effort), this level of satisfaction is only achievable thanks to the fact that the whole team is dedicated to ensure our guests enjoy their experience. You already mention celebrating future anniversaries with us, so let me assure you we look forward to welcoming you then and on any other occasion.
Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

My wife and I celebrated our wedding anniversary with a meal at the Five Arrows. It was excellent in every respect. We were offered a special steak from a local farm, which was beautifully tender and very tasty. The service was good: not rushing us, but not leaving us wondering how to attract attention. The ambience was just right, lovely surroundings, enough people to be busy, but plenty of space. I cannot fault it. The bill was not excessive either!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Retired_Jim_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexMcEwen, General Manager at Five Arrows Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2012

Dear Retired Jim UK
Thank you very much on behalf of the whole team at the Five Arrows for your kind words. We always aim to be professional and friendly at the same time and we have obviously succeeded on your recent visit. We are very careful to keep our prices as low as possible as we would like people to come to us on the spur of the moment as well as on special occasions like yours.
Happy Anniversary from us all.
Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Myself and my Wife attended a Wedding at this venue on Sunday 19th of August 2012.The location is superb,the grounds and gardens buautifully kept.A perfect setting for such an avent.

Besides the setting and History of the building and the fact that it was our friends wedding i have to say that other than the lovely company it was the Staff and Food that made the day.Both were of the highest standard.The Staff were the most accomadating we've ever wittnessed and the food was truly 5*. We've been to many weddings over the years but this one will stand out above the others and doubt will ever be beaten for quality.To all the Staff, thanyou,your 1st class.We did not stay in the Hotel overnight but many of the family of and including the Bride and Groom did and on the Brides side the night before as well.They all said it was faultless and wonderful.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mickkath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexMcEwen, General Manager at Five Arrows Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2012

Dear Mickkath
Thank you very much for taking the time to put a review of your friends’ wedding on Tripadvisor. I am glad you (and all the wedding party who gave us verbal feedback too) had such a great time. We are lucky to be an extremely popular venue for weddings and always feel privileged to have been chosen by couples for such an important day. I am lucky to be surrounded by a team who always endeavour to deliver the best experience possible.
In the kitchen we have a team capable of providing the same quality to a wedding party as to the people who come to us for lunch or dinner. As you mentioned, the Bride witnessed it on the Saturday night, and as you are fairly local I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you in the near future.
Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waddesdon
4.4 mi away
Hartwell House
Hartwell House
#1 of 1 in Hartwell
734 reviews
7.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Aylesbury
Holiday Inn Aylesbury
#9 of 12 in Aylesbury
789 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Lion Waddesdon
The Lion Waddesdon
#2 of 2 in Waddesdon
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Premier Inn Aylesbury Hotel
9.7 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wendover
607 reviews
7.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Magnolia Park Hotel, Golf and Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Five Arrows Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Five Arrows Hotel

Address: High Street, Waddesdon, Aylesbury HP18 0JE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Aylesbury Vale > Aylesbury > Waddesdon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Waddesdon
Price Range: $123 - $329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Five Arrows Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Five Arrows Hotel and Restaurant stands at the gates of Waddesdon Manor offering 16 bedrooms of character and charm. The Restaurant has a varied and exciting menu to suit all tastes, and a wine list that encompasses everyday and rare wines from both New and Old World vineyards. Whether you merely pop in for coffee or tea, or come to dine and stay the night, we aim to make you comfortable and very welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Five Arrows Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
5 Arrows Hotel
Five Arrows Waddesdon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing