We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful wedding venue”
Review of Five Arrows Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Five Arrows Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Waddesdon
Certificate of Excellence
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful wedding venue”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

My husband and I recently married at the Five Arrows, with an evening ceremony followed by a casual reception with cocktails and a buffet and cheese board. Everyone at our wedding commented that the venue was lovely, and we couldn't agree more. The cartshed was the perfect setting for our 30-ish guests and the staff were excellent and on hand to satisfy our requirements through til the end of the evening. The food surpassed expectations, with plenty for everyone - very tasty indeed, as were the choice of cocktails. The rooms are very spacious and comfortable, with an olde-English feel with all mod cons. We ate a couple of meals in the restaurant throughout our stay, and highly recommend the eggs benedict and sausages with mash. We and our guests were treated very well, and we look forward to enjoying our anniversaries there in the future. Special thanks go to Chloe for arranging an amazing evening - even though we wanted something out of the norm she was very accommodating - and to Didier for his help and professionalism on the night. They made it happen, and they made it amazing. THANKS!

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the courtyard/garden instead of the A41 for a better night's rest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichelleB930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexMcEwen, General Manager at Five Arrows Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Dear Michelle B,
We are very pleased to see that you found your wedding at the Five Arrows amazing. It is always important to meet guests expectations but to be able to exceed them as we did on your wedding day, fills us with pride and confidence.
As I have mentioned on previous responses, although I am more than happy to accept the compliment (and the two employees you mention by name are also gratified that you appreciated their effort), this level of satisfaction is only achievable thanks to the fact that the whole team is dedicated to ensure our guests enjoy their experience. You already mention celebrating future anniversaries with us, so let me assure you we look forward to welcoming you then and on any other occasion.
Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    172
    34
    9
    7
See reviews for
69
338
4
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

My wife and I celebrated our wedding anniversary with a meal at the Five Arrows. It was excellent in every respect. We were offered a special steak from a local farm, which was beautifully tender and very tasty. The service was good: not rushing us, but not leaving us wondering how to attract attention. The ambience was just right, lovely surroundings, enough people to be busy, but plenty of space. I cannot fault it. The bill was not excessive either!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Retired_Jim_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexMcEwen, General Manager at Five Arrows Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear Retired Jim UK
Thank you very much on behalf of the whole team at the Five Arrows for your kind words. We always aim to be professional and friendly at the same time and we have obviously succeeded on your recent visit. We are very careful to keep our prices as low as possible as we would like people to come to us on the spur of the moment as well as on special occasions like yours.
Happy Anniversary from us all.
Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leighton buzzard
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Myself and my Wife attended a Wedding at this venue on Sunday 19th of August 2012.The location is superb,the grounds and gardens buautifully kept.A perfect setting for such an avent.

Besides the setting and History of the building and the fact that it was our friends wedding i have to say that other than the lovely company it was the Staff and Food that made the day.Both were of the highest standard.The Staff were the most accomadating we've ever wittnessed and the food was truly 5*. We've been to many weddings over the years but this one will stand out above the others and doubt will ever be beaten for quality.To all the Staff, thanyou,your 1st class.We did not stay in the Hotel overnight but many of the family of and including the Bride and Groom did and on the Brides side the night before as well.They all said it was faultless and wonderful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mickkath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexMcEwen, General Manager at Five Arrows Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear Mickkath
Thank you very much for taking the time to put a review of your friends’ wedding on Tripadvisor. I am glad you (and all the wedding party who gave us verbal feedback too) had such a great time. We are lucky to be an extremely popular venue for weddings and always feel privileged to have been chosen by couples for such an important day. I am lucky to be surrounded by a team who always endeavour to deliver the best experience possible.
In the kitchen we have a team capable of providing the same quality to a wedding party as to the people who come to us for lunch or dinner. As you mentioned, the Bride witnessed it on the Saturday night, and as you are fairly local I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you in the near future.
Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mallorca
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I spent one night here last Friday, during a visit to the UK for my brother's wedding - which took place at the hotel. The hotel is housed in a Grade II listed building, and is part of the Waddesdon Manor estate, owned by the Rothschild family (all proceeds from the hotel go towards the Manor's upkeep).

My brother had booked the whole hotel for the wedding and I was one of the lucky guests who stayed overnight after the event. My room was spacious, clean and comfortable, with a large bathroom (with bathtub and shower). I was pleased to find: tea and coffee making facilities included fruit teas; bottled water by the bed; an iron and ironing board in the wardrobe, and toiletries from The White Company. Another benefit was the free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel (password provided on request).

The hotel has a friendly team who couldn't do enough for the bridal party. The reception was in the Cart Shed (which is a lot better than it sounds!), with an adjoining marquee. The warm weather meant that we could also sit out in the manicured gardens, fragrant with yew. Although we didn't eat in the restaurant, the food we had was well-prepared and they do a good hog roast for functions.

Breakfast was very good here: I managed two delicious croissants and other family members were very complimentary about the cooked full English breakfast. Coffee was from a cafetiere and markedly better than the filter stuff sometimes served in small hotels.

A few things to consider:

Because of the age and nature of the building (which once housed the people who built the Manor) there is no lift, so anyone who struggles with stairs might find it difficult.

The hotel is located on the A41, the busy road between Bicester and Aylesbury. Bedrooms have secondary glazing installed, which worked well until it became necessary to open the windows, due to some unexpectedly hot weather. I woke up early (partly because of the traffic and partly because my body clock said it was 7am - I live in Spain), so went for a walk around the adjacent Manor parkland. It is simply stunning and even better than a lie-in! If you come here, a visit to the Manor is a must.

Room Tip: There are some rooms at the rear of the property, which are less-affected by traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MallorcaJan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexMcEwen, General Manager at Five Arrows Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Dear MallorcaJan,
Thank you very much on behalf of the whole team for your kind words. Your brother and his now wife took exclusive use of the hotel which creates a perfect intimate wedding in your very own country hotel for the event. The 11 bedrooms we provide allowed them to offer accommodation to you and their closest family and friends for the night in individual and comfortable rooms. The marquee they added fit perfectly with the Cart Shed (we loved your 'better than it sounds' comment!) and it gave more flexibility regarding number of guests, seating plans and general running of the event.
You commented on the friendly team who could not do enough for the bridal party. We are lucky to have Chloe as our wedding coordinator who very much enjoyed meeting the couple a number of times and liaising with them in preparation for the big day. Her role was to answer all their questions, help them design their perfect day and then relay this information to the rest of the management team. Even though I strongly believe the hotel and its manicured gardens sell themselves as a wedding venue, the guest focus of the entire team is what make these events a success here. If your brother and wife happen to read this I would like to offer them my congratulations. Thank you again for your feedback, and we hope to welcome you next time you're back in England-please bring the Mallorcan sunshine too!
Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

This apparently was built for the staff servicing Waddesdon Manor. Very close to the manor and we took advantage of the great walking areas inside the Manor grounds and had a good look around the outside of the house and gardens. The hotel is very clean and an interesting building on the main road. We had a lovely dinner and breakfast was also good. We had one of the rooms upstairs overlooking the road. It was a warm evening necessitating the window being left open. Unfortunately, the traffic didn't let up outside and was quite noisy all night. However, Waddesdon Manor is worth the visit and the Five Arrows is also a lovely place to stay.

Room Tip: If hot, don't get a room at the front of the hotel if you need to open a window. They are doubl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenwal38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexMcEwen, General Manager at Five Arrows Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Dear Kenwal 38,
I and all the team at The Five Arrows are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Waddesdon Manor and its grounds are indeed an attraction worth visiting and we are privileged to be positioned so close and linked (as you mention) historically to the mansion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, California
Level Contributor
135 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

A great location, polite/helpful staff, and delicious food made our stay a positive experience overall. The coffee and velvety scrambled eggs were amazing at breakfast; the dinner (especially the onion tart appetizer and the wine) were exquisite. Now that my husband and I are back in the U.S., we are pining for the wine (Baron Carl, Saint Emilion 2007--a Baron Philippe de Rothschild blend of Merlot, Cabernet Sauvignon, and Cabernet Franc) that we cannot find anywhere. Were we to return to Waddesdon, we would return to the Five Arrows and order that wine.

The only downside is the noise from the traffic on the main road. As inns (including this one, I presume) were historically built on the main freeway, this is not a show-stopper for us. The room was a bit stuffy. This could be remedied if the windows were made to be opened.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GradingMachine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexMcEwen, General Manager at Five Arrows Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thank you for your kind words. Were you to re visit us, you would find more Rothschild red wines from the Bordeaux region as we are expecting delivery of 2 new ones within the next two weeks. We consider wine an important part of lunch or dinner and therefore always thrive to offer a selection of interesting wines from different parts of the world at excellent value. Of course because of our close link to Waddesdon estate Rothschild wines feature prominently on our list.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Both the lunch time and dinner menus are excellent for variety and value. This was our third visit and like a previous reviewer one of our party had the guinea fowl another the steak and both were cooked to perfection. The staff are very freindly and efficient. I recommend trying the local beer which is priced beleive it or not at only £3.20 per pint. The Rothchilds wines are competitivly priced too.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raymond P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexMcEwen, General Manager at Five Arrows Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thank you very much for your review. The whole team at the Five Arrows is very pleased that you find us friendly, good value and the food we produce excellent. These are some of our core values. You mentioned our excellent bitter which is Aylesbury Vale Best Bitter from just down the road in Brill. We hope to welcome you back to Waddesdon again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waddesdon
4.4 mi away
Hartwell House
Hartwell House
#1 of 1 in Hartwell
668 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Lion Waddesdon
The Lion Waddesdon
#2 of 2 in Waddesdon
83 reviews
9.7 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wendover
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Best Western Garden Court Aylesbury
7.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Aylesbury
Holiday Inn Aylesbury
#3 of 6 in Aylesbury
725 reviews
9.2 mi away
West Lodge Hotel
West Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Aston Clinton
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Five Arrows Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Five Arrows Hotel

Property: Five Arrows Hotel
Address: High Street, Waddesdon HP18 0JE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Aylesbury Vale > Waddesdon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Waddesdon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Five Arrows Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Five Arrows Hotel and Restaurant stands at the gates of Waddesdon Manor offering 16 bedrooms of character and charm. The Restaurant has a varied and exciting menu to suit all tastes, and a wine list that encompasses everyday and rare wines from both New and Old World vineyards. Whether you merely pop in for coffee or tea, or come to dine and stay the night, we aim to make you comfortable and very welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Five Arrows Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
5 Arrows Hotel
Five Arrows Waddesdon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing