We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Is this the perfect hotel?”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Five Arrows Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Five Arrows Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Waddesdon
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
171 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Is this the perfect hotel?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2012

You may think the perfect hotel doesn't exist, and you may be right. But The Five Arrows comes closer than anywhere else I have stayed (which includes some of the so-called best hotels in the world). The building is an architectural gem, which helps. But our overnight stay was wonderful because they got everything right in terms of hotel and restaurant service. We also had the 4-poster room, which is just beautiful, well appointed and extremely comfortable. Our welcome was warm and friendly (despite the fact that we were using a Living Social voucher), room service was prompt and courteous, the free champagne was of excellent quality, and the food and service in the restaurant, both for dinner and breakfast, were exemplary. And that is without mentioning an extensive wine list that was amazing value. On top of all this, everyone was so friendly! I can't wait to go back again - even at full price, The Five Arrows is exceptional value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for the 4-poster suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pete M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    165
    34
    9
    7
See reviews for
67
328
4
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2012

I live very close to The Five Arrows so I have spent many afternoons in the bar's garden. I have also had afternoon tea with 12 friends one Saturday afternoon. I have never stayed overnight.
From the main road you walk through the courtyard and the entrance is up some small steps to your right. There is a ramp too. Biggish car park round the back.
First about the bar area. Inside it is quite small with only a few tables and chairs which is why we tend to go in the summer. Fine for a drink before dinner. Usually the fire is lit in the winter. The gardens are beautiful with plenty of space and tables. Service can be a little slow as sometimes not many staff but drinks are worth the wait ! They make the most amazing cocktails and as you would expect for a Rothchild's establishment a very impressive wine list.
Not much in the way of bar food , we used to have cheese straws and olives but I'm not sure if these are still available , or it may have improved ? Still , there is a good curry house within walking distance , turn right onto the main road and it's on the same side ! ( If you go to curry house leave the car as no parking outside )
I love spending the afternoons here ( 5 Arrows not curry house ! ) and I can't wait for some warm summer days to check out any new cocktails !

Afternoon tea was equally as special. There was a half-price offer on for a Champagne Tea , perfect for a friend's baby shower. We had the restaurant to ourselves and a lovely big table. Cakes were gorgeous and plentiful ( No sandwiches ) and the scones warm and tasted freshly baked. We had an extra guest arrive and it was no problem to accommodate them . We also asked for more scones and there was no extra charge.
It cost us £7.00 each which considering how much we had was an utter bargain !! The full price is maybe a bit steep so look out for offers ....
Great to combine a walk around Waddesdon Manor and then a little drink in the gardens before home. It is quite expensive but I think it's worth it.

The Five Arrows is sometimes closed if booked for private parties so check the website if making a special trip.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kazza67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

We stayed on the one-night-dinner-bed & breakfast-with-champagne night as a gift from lovely family ! All the other reviews I've read are spot on ! We were lucky enough to have a four-poster bed in an extremely well-fitted suite/room, just outside the main building. This meant we had even more privacy and a feeling of being particularly pampered (but you would need a brolly if it was raining).

Our champagne was available whenever we wanted it - we chose to have it in the evening rather than on arrival. Our dinner was absolute perfection, and we had different meals. The bar is small and cosy - but the hotel is too.

My single complaint would be that the restaurant was cold and cheerless for breakfast - lighting and heating needed to make it more welcoming in the morning.

We would completely recommend this establishment, and do intend to return. We wished we lived nearer to be able to easily go for a posh dinner sometimes !

Room Tip: Suites are outside but flat access other than a couple of steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LesleyCol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans UK
Level Contributor
82 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2012

My husband and I have stayed and eaten at this hotel many times, but I have never written a review. We went for Valentines Day on a special package which included room with breakfast, four course dinner and champagne in our room. It was all excellent. The rooms are very comfortable. Our champagne was brought up on our arrival, chilled to perfection. We had a lovely meal, relaxed atmosphere. Duncan and Alex were very amiable and efficient. We both slept well and enjoyed a hearty breakfast before coming home. I would highly recommend anyone to visit and would encourage looking at their website for offers and special events, always good value.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GerryMCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zug, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2012

Quaint, dainty, friendly, quiet, excellent food, lovely staff ... I want to come back and stay much longer. We just meant to stay for a night as we are travelling further to Wales. But decided to stay for a day more. The place is simply lovely. Never mind if there's no telly, nor a mini bar. Its close to Waddeston Manor & its a shame it was close then(Feb) but that's one reason to return. From there, its only about 30 minute drive to Oxford which is lovely to explore just the same. I shall return.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D:-)T22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zug
Level Contributor
109 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2012

This is a gem of a place. The staff cannot do enough for you, the rooms are all well equipped and each has enough unique about it to be charming. The bar and dining area are warm and cosy. It is an ideal weekend break location or weekday stay if you need to be in the area for business.
The quality of the staff is unusually high, and they all try very hard to make you welcome, safe and accommodate any whim you may have.
Two very small caveats to an otherwise perfect little gem. The dining area could do with just a few more lights, as it is hard to even read the menu in the evening and it’s a bit cheerless on a winter morning, and anyone who has any difficulty with stairs should make sure that they can have one of the ground floor rooms in the outbuilding as the main stairs are fairly steep.

Room Tip: If you are worried by traffic noise, ask for a room away from the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2012

A faultless visit enabled by excellent food, a great range of reasonably priced wines, and bedrooms which provide total comfort. The staff are very polite, friendly and accommodating, looking to help at every opportunity. We shall return.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waddesdon
4.4 mi away
Hartwell House
Hartwell House
#1 of 1 in Hartwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
4.8 mi away
Premier Inn Aylesbury Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Lion Waddesdon
The Lion Waddesdon
#2 of 2 in Waddesdon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Aylesbury
Holiday Inn Aylesbury
#3 of 6 in Aylesbury
3.5 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
9.7 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wendover
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
9.2 mi away
West Lodge Hotel
West Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Aston Clinton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Five Arrows Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Five Arrows Hotel

Property: Five Arrows Hotel
Address: High Street, Waddesdon HP18 0JE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Aylesbury Vale > Waddesdon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Waddesdon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Five Arrows Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Five Arrows Hotel and Restaurant stands at the gates of Waddesdon Manor offering 16 bedrooms of character and charm. The Restaurant has a varied and exciting menu to suit all tastes, and a wine list that encompasses everyday and rare wines from both New and Old World vineyards. Whether you merely pop in for coffee or tea, or come to dine and stay the night, we aim to make you comfortable and very welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Five Arrows Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
5 Arrows Hotel
Five Arrows Waddesdon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing