We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small things that let a place down”
Review of Taplow House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Taplow House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Taplow
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Small things that let a place down”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We had a wonderful wedding day at Taplow House hotel. The organising leading up to the wedding day was really not good. Hardly any communication, not one of the guests received confirmation of the rooms that were booked which led to great confusion over payment of rooms
( the wedding was last Saturday) and we still have had nothing and that started a year ago. The evening reception was under way with two bars. Every time we went up to the bar for the same two drinks throughout the evening the price varied from £9.10 to 13.40, why is it that it seems to be the norm to whack prices up when there is a wedding. We were told that the prices would remain the same all evening.
So although the wedding, food and venue was very good the proprietors really do need to change some things. We would never dream of not giving our clients written confirmation of a sale.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stunjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    166
    74
    46
    25
See reviews for
130
273
22
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Holyport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Just attended a registry wedding at this location. They did a great job setting up the rooms for the wedding, the dinner and using the basement bar and disco for the evening. It was well managed, the rooms were beautiful Georgian design and all the food turned up hot and to a very high standard! The grounds are stunning for pictures and if like us its a nice evening you also have a large raised patio area to sit in. Also the rooms were very reasonably priced so although a number of us lived locally it was not too expensive to stay given your a captive audience.

Room Tip: Not on top floor if your not good with stairs as there is no lift and they get quite steep and narro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

I was married here on 19th July. It was a beautiful day (we were lucky with the weather) and we had a really fabulous wedding there. All the guests I spoke to were also really happy with the hotel.

We chose the Taplow firstly because it was near our Church and then mainly because of the space available - it was the right size for our envisaged number of guests and it has a beautiful garden with historic old trees in it, on a slope which gives the hotel a lovely aspect as you come up the drive. It also has a good choice of rooms. There's an attractive room for the reception and a separate dance floor area (this room is also used to conduct weddings), as well as an outdoor terrace or you can hire the more modern Cellar Bar with an attractive arched stone ceiling. The place also has a really cosy, friendly feel to it. The staff are very accommodating and flexible. We changed our table plans a few times in the run- up to the wedding and we even changed the menu a little. The chef was very amenable to doing this and many of our guests commented on how good the food was. Our wedding co-ordinator, Gabrielle, was great - really friendly and ever-patient with us - you really get the feeling that she enjoys her job.

If you want to get married or have a reception at a very reasonably priced (and it is if you book the package we did - we did an awful lot of research before we chose it), cosy, flexible and friendly hotel with a lovely indoor and outdoor space - good for summer or winter weddings I imagine - this is the place for you.

The rooms are pleasant - decorated in an old Georgian style. I stayed in two of the suites there and they were both very nice. All our guests who had rooms were very happy! One little niggle however - the air-conditioning was not working in my room and as the Bride this wasn't ideal. Everyone else staying there I spoke to (and we had nearly half the rooms booked) said that theirs was, so at least they were okay.

However, the staff were great (friendly and efficient), the DJ (included in our package and supplied by a company the hotel recommends) was also very good and Gabrielle was fantastic. Our guests were also able to drink outside after midnight. Thank you very much Taplow!

Room Tip: Check that the A/C is working in the room if it's a hot day. Ask for one of the bigger rooms as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 820Noelle68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
417 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

As it was a nice day we sat outside on the terrace - and you overlook some lovely grounds.

We went for the Traditional Afternoon Tea - and it was very nice. Sandwiches were nice and fresh, cakes were very tasty, and very good quality scones and cream. Our waiter was excellent -and came and refilled our pot of tea three times - which is at no extra charge.

Price was £22 per person which is about right for the quality of venue and area. My only one small criticism was that there could have been a couple of more sandwiches for the price. Other than that - thoroughly recommend.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bogotarocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

I thought the hotel and service were very good. Its set in about 4 acres, with nice surroundings. Pleasant entrance hall and nice bar area. Plenty of parking in grounds near hotel. My wife and I were very impressed by both the choice and quality of food, and the overall service. Buffet and good served cooked breakfast. In my opinion this is a high quality independent hotel. I would stay at this hotel, and recommend it. Good value for money.
My only observation is that our room had a small bath!

Room Tip: I had Cedar room which looked onto the lawn, good size double, with flat sceen tv, wardrobe and desk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikeg_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We made a reservation at the nice looking Taplow House Hotel. After arrival with our classic car we had to state, that a big scool party will happen in the evening. We tried to cancel the room because they did not inform us about the party in advance and because they could not guarantee that nothing happens to our car. But they we not willing to cancel the reservation (after one hour discussion with several supervisors, managers ...) and they put 50 % on our credit card. A complaint at the management about this as we went back home took 4 weeks, 1 email reminder and 2 tel.calls to UK

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ursula W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We recently got married and had our reception at Taplow House Hotel. From the moment we 1st visited here until we left the morning after our wedding, we loved every minute. Our wedding co-ordinator and some of the general staff were very friendly and accommodating. Whenever we phoned or emailed with a request, it was never too much trouble for the team. Our wedding menu trial was just amazing and we felt very spoilt.

Family and friends were very involved with flowers, wedding cars and entertainment. The staff were ready for them the day and morning before, listening to all their individual requests. The day ran very smoothly, even with a 20 minute delay arriving. We have received many comments about the quality of the venue, the food (both the wedding breakfast and breakfast the next day) and accommodation (we had all the rooms in the hotel). A day we won't forget!

The only reason we haven't given the hotel 5* is because of the lack of management at certain times during the wedding reception. It did not affect our day because we had so many of the wedding party involved in the organisation. However there seem to be a lot of staffing changes at present so we hope things settle soon to enable Taplow House Hotel to continue to offer an excellent service.

Room Tip: Rooms come in a variety of sizes. Some are more spacious than others. Rooms 1, 2 or 3 are the best w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tuftyontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taplow
1.2 mi away
Grovefield House
Grovefield House
#1 of 3 in Burnham
597 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cliveden House
Cliveden House
#1 of 2 in Taplow
1,007 reviews
2.1 mi away
Burnham Beeches Hotel
Burnham Beeches Hotel
#2 of 3 in Burnham
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Thames Riviera Hotel
The Thames Riviera Hotel
#8 of 11 in Maidenhead
701 reviews
6.0 mi away
Danesfield House Hotel And Spa
2.8 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 18 in Windsor
2,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taplow House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taplow House Hotel

Property: Taplow House Hotel
Address: Berry Hill, Taplow SL6 0DA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Taplow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Taplow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Taplow House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunning Georgian retreat situated on the border between Berkshire and Buckinghamshire. Taplow House Hotel is a peaceful haven only 15 minutes from London Heathrow Airport and 10 minutes from historic Windsor. Set in 6 acres of beautiful gardens and boasting Europe's largest tulip trees Taplow House Hotel is the perfect setting for a meeting, private event, wedding or relaxing overnight stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Taplow House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taplow House Hotel UK - England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing