We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very enjoyable Anniversary weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Taplow House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Taplow House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Taplow
Carshalton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A very enjoyable Anniversary weekend”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I found this hotel on line whilst looking for somewhere to celebrate our 36th Wedding Anniversary that wad not too far from home. We were greated very warmly in reception and shown to our room. We were also brought a glass of champage upon arrival courtesy of the hotel to celebrate our anniversary which we thought was a lovely touch! The room was adequate for our needs but bearing in mind we were celebrating an anniversary it would have been nicer to have had some sort of view from the rather inadequate window, (it was hard to see anything except trees!) A room facing out over the gardens would have been more appropriate. The room was also extremely hot and unfortunately we couldn't find anywhere to turn down the heating. There was a radiator in the room but this was not warm or hot to the touch so we were unsure as to where the heat for the room was coming from. There was a towel rail in the en-suite that was red hot and again no switch to turn it down or off! There was an air conditioning unit and we did eventually put this on on the Sunday morning to try and get some respite from the heat but we didn't feel that there were enough instructions as to how to adjust the heating - perhaps if we had turned on the air conditioning unit on the Saturday night it might have enabled us to get a much better nights sleep than we were able to.

The 'deal' that we had included a three course evening dinner (obviously wine and drinks were charged separately) and I must say that the dinner was superb. There were three or four choices for each course and something there to please everyone. The service we received in the restaurant was also second to none and the waiter was outstanding.

Having had such a fantastic dinner we had high hopes for the breakfast the following morning. Unfortunately, we found the breakfast let them down. Everything was served in silver turines (with lids), and we found the bacon & scrambled egg overcooked. There was no facility to have a fried egg and we had to flag down a waiter to ask for tea and toast (not given choice of white or brown bread but served a combination of the two) we felt that the waiters should have come round to each table and asked us what we required. When we arrived for breakfast there were no glasses left for juice or bowls to put our cereals in again we had to specifically ask for them. Our breakfast experience let down our stay at which was otherwise a very nice hotel.

Room Tip: Possibly ask for a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul T, General Manager at Taplow House Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your anniversary Weekend with us and were made to feel welcome on arrival. As the new General Manager of the hotel I will be working very closely with the team to deliver great customer service throughout all areas of the hotel. I appreciate your feedback and can assure you I will carry out corrective action to further improve our service.

Our team are always happy to help our guests with any assistance during their stay as we strive to deliver a great customer experience. My apologises that you experienced issues with the temperature of your bedroom and we would have welcomed the opportunity for us to have rectified this to your satisfaction.

I will pass on your kind comments to the team with thanks and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    154
    73
    43
    25
See reviews for
124
261
21
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed at the Taplow House Hotel as we were visiting Hestons Hinds Head. It's a lovely Georgian hotel, in a quiet area, and about a ten minute drive to the Hinds Head and the Fat Duck.

The staff were very friendly and upgraded us on arrival as it was our anniversary, which was lovely. The afternoon tea was really good and the rooms are very specious.

Especially worth a visit for animal lovers as they had rabbits in the gardens!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul T, General Manager at Taplow House Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

I was pleased to hear that you found our staff very friendly and you enjoyed your stay. Customer satisfaction is very important to us and I will pass your comments on to my team with thanks.

I hope to welcome you to the hotel again in the near future where you can continue to enjoy our surroundings.

Kind Regards

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wivenhoe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Stayed just for two nights to attend a wedding. Impressive large country house with smart grounds. The room was a good size and the view of the gardens from the window gave it a grand feel. The reception staff gave us a nice welcome and it had an easy flow and didn't feel like a stuffy old hotel, suited us well. The wedding was in Windsor so it only took about fifteen minutes before we were back in our room. The breakfast we really enjoyed, a huge treat. Enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul T, General Manager at Taplow House Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

I was very pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that our staff made you feel welcomed. I have shared your comments with the team with thanks.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Kind Regards

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirksworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

Went here for the day for a relatives 80th birthday. The tulip tree room was booked for us for all day, we had a delicious 3 course meal with free tea and coffee (I was nominated driver!!!) Service was good, glasses were topped up promptly for those drinking wine and tea, coffee and water for those of us non drinkers. The only downside was afternoon tea, the person who had arranged the day booked afternoon tea for us and was led to believe it would include a selection of cream cakes and scones, we were served a small slice of dry sponge or fruit cake. The grounds to the hotel looked lovely, unfortunately due to the weather we couldn't take full advantage of them.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lesleyar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul T, General Manager at Taplow House Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit with us.

I was delighted to hear that you had a lovely day with us for a birthday celebration and that you really enjoyed the food and service. We pride ourselves on the high standards of our afternoon tea and I apologise for the dis-appointment you experienced on this occasion. I will personally ensure we take corrective action as it is through our customer's feedback that we can constantly strive to further improve our service delivery.

I hope to welcome you to the hotel again in the near future and that you get the opportunity to take a walk around our lovely grounds.

Kind Regards

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I had my wedding here on 28th December 2012!

What can i say but amazing! Everything was simply perfect from the staff to the food to the rooms to the decor. Working in a hotel myself i know the things that can go wrong but Taplow have it down to a T. They know what there doing and the whole day ran without a hitch. I coudnt fault a single thing.

Thank you for the perfect wedding day Taplow!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laura T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I had my wedding at this hotel on 29th December 2012 - words cannot describe how amazing our day was.

From the very first time we visited the hotel, it felt so warm and welcoming and didn't feel like a hotel at all.

My guests had booked all of the bedrooms so on the day it felt like we had out own amazing stately home to ourselves. Gabrielle and her team worked very hard to ensure everything looked exactly how I wanted it. The wedding breakfast room looked fantastic, all the food was amazing and the dj they supplied was brilliant. A lot of people said it was the best wedding they had been to, including the dj, everyone was dancing and we had the best day of our lives.

Breakfast the next day was lovely.

I cannot wait to go back again

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lottiejohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmes Chapel, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

Have stayed her a few times when on business. The rooms are generally very comfortable with The White Company toiletries. Beds are comfortable and you can select your pillow.i have only eaten in the bar at night and I would describe it as average. Full English breakfast in the morning is a real treat with it being served to you under a silver dome.
Hotel definitely worth staying at if you are visiting the area on business

Stayed January 2013
Helpful?
Thank goostreygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taplow
1.2 mi away
Grovefield House
Grovefield House
#1 of 3 in Burnham
565 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cliveden House
Cliveden House
#1 of 2 in Taplow
923 reviews
2.1 mi away
Burnham Beeches Hotel
Burnham Beeches Hotel
#2 of 3 in Burnham
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Danesfield House Hotel And Spa
0.6 mi away
The Thames Riviera Hotel
The Thames Riviera Hotel
#8 of 12 in Maidenhead
658 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 17 in Windsor
2,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taplow House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taplow House Hotel

Property: Taplow House Hotel
Address: Berry Hill, Taplow SL6 0DA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Taplow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Taplow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Taplow House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunning Georgian retreat situated on the border between Berkshire and Buckinghamshire. Taplow House Hotel is a peaceful haven only 15 minutes from London Heathrow Airport and 10 minutes from historic Windsor. Set in 6 acres of beautiful gardens and boasting Europe's largest tulip trees Taplow House Hotel is the perfect setting for a meeting, private event, wedding or relaxing overnight stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Taplow House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taplow House Hotel UK - England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing