We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SLIGHTLY DISAPPOINTING”

The Oak & Saw Village Inn
Ranked #4 of 12 Restaurants in Taplow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $31
Cuisines: British, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: We are situated in the heart of the picturesque Buckinghamshire village of Taplow, close to the historic river Thames, in an area of outstanding natural beauty. Whether you are just dropping in for a quick drink or are planning to have a meal, you can always expect a warm and friendly welcome and a place where you can relax and get away from the stresses and strains of daily life. Our extensive menus cover everything from a quick snack to three course meals. We also have a good selection of fine wines from which you can choose to complement your meal. In the summer months, you can, if you wish, eat alfresco on our lovely patio or in the garden. There are many places of historical interest nearby, including Cliveden House, former home of Lord and Lady Astor, which was infamously associated with the 'Profumo Affair'. Also of interest is St Nicholas church, which is in the village itself.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“SLIGHTLY DISAPPOINTING”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Based on the reviews below, we traveled all the way there from London, 2 Sunday's ago with some friends from the USA to give them the feel of a Sunday lunch at a typical English country pub. The village itself is picturesque, really quaint and pretty, lovely alleyways and fields. The drive was breath taking, however, the food at this pub was disappointing, contrary to what some described below, the food is nowhere near 'the Hands and flower' although i must admit the quality was pretty good and fresh, however, the choice of food on Sunday was restricted to 'roast beef, lamb or porc or fish and chips'...It would have been nice if they had choice of wild game, such as grouse, pheasant or duck..i chose the lamb and found it to be grisly and tough, hardly any garlic flavour and the gravy was not homemade by any means. i have had better roast elsewhere. However, i did try my husband's choice of beef and found it to be far better than the lamb. His meat was tender and tasted better...The dessert was nice but not wow!! i opted for the Eton mess, all fresh, at least the cream was fresh and not the horrid whipping cream. The service was good, the staff were very friendly, warm and hospitable. I cannot complain. My suggestion to them is to include wild game, chicken in their choice of roasts to render it less boring and monotonous. The lamb could be better, they could use the juices to make up the gravy rather than the horrid Bisto manufactured Bisto sauce and could have done with more herbs such as rosemary, fresh shallots and more fresh garlic etc..
The weekly menu looked more exciting than the restricted Sunday one and more promising. I can only judge from what experienced on Sunday with the restricted menu.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SHERMINE54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian B, Owner at The Oak & Saw Village Inn, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Thankyou for your review.

You will know that we are a small village pub with a small kitchen with one head chef and an assistant. Sundays are so popular as you may have noticed from all the other reviews about Sunday lunches and as 95% of customers are coming specifically to us for a traditional roast, that is what we concentrate on.

I can tell you our gravy is made from the meat juices and homemade stock reduced for days for extra flavour.

regards

Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    45
    13
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Delicious hamburger, lovely, historic pub”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We found this restaurant by using the trip advisor app after walking a section of the Thames Path. Happily, the food was delicious and the pub lovely. Honestly, this was one of the best hamburgers I've eaten in England! The food was home cooked and fresh, much more like a family owned restaurant than the usual pub.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FrequentTraveler1058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian B, Owner at The Oak & Saw Village Inn, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Thank you for your review

Yes the Oak Burger is very popular. We use minced steak and our secret mix of herbs and spices to give that extra special something!

You must try our "Sliders" which are on the Specials board at the moment - three burgers in Brioche buns, Steak, Spiced Chicken and Pulled pork! Everyone is raving about them.

Regards

Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“10 out of 10”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We had another great meal at the Oak and Saw at the weekend. We eat out a lot and on this occasion there were 12 people, 10 had steaks and everyone loved it.
Great pub, really great food and very, very good service.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peskywabbitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian B, Owner at The Oak & Saw Village Inn, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Thanks Rob

Glad you all enjoyed your dinner with us. Must be nearly time to try us again?

Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Very Pleasant Venue”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We went here having spotted it 'in passing' and were pleased that we did.Pleasant welcoming atmosphere. Good food and service at reasonable prices.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Guy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian B, Owner at The Oak & Saw Village Inn, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Very pleased you enjoyed it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tom Kerridge 2 Mich stars Hand and Flowers - look out!”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Ian, the landlord has always provided good quality food and wine and real ale. He is a good cook, very interested in designing menus, but his recruitment of a talented new chef has enabled him to raise his game. The fish supplier is now apparently the same as used by the Fat Duck and the Waterside, the steaks are just outstanding and a lot of imagination is being shown in new dishes . For example their warm soft boiled Scotch eggs are better by far, I think, than those from Heston's pubs in Bray. The first version is bound in a black pudding mix - delicious - but the latest development is covered in onion bhajee which sounds a strange combination but works really well.
Had Sunday lunch there last weekend, wife and I reckon their roast beef and veg is best in the region, we count ourselves lucky to have this pub as our local. Even the lighting in the bars , so often a weak aspect of pubs and restaurants, is flattering! We used to travel to the Hand and Flowers in Marlow for special pub food - it is good but now the Oak and Saw makes the trip unnecessary. I think they both deserve one Michelin star. Warren and Heather

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank warren p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernie446, Owner at The Oak & Saw Village Inn, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Now stop it I'm blushing!!!

So glad you enjoyed your dining experience with us recently and our quest to find the best Scotch Egg in the land continues (the Onion Bhagi Scotch Egg is proving to be the best to date)!

Tom Kerridge's Hand & Flowers is fantastic and it is Tom that I met recently and he has inspired me to keep improving our food offering and one day, just maybe, I'll be as good as he is.

Regards

Ian & Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Oak & Saw Village Inn also viewed

 
Maidenhead, Windsor and Maidenhead
Cookham, Windsor and Maidenhead
 
Maidenhead, Windsor and Maidenhead
 

Been to The Oak & Saw Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing