We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Girls that lunch”

The Oak & Saw Village Inn
Ranked #4 of 12 Restaurants in Taplow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $31
Cuisines: British, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: We are situated in the heart of the picturesque Buckinghamshire village of Taplow, close to the historic river Thames, in an area of outstanding natural beauty. Whether you are just dropping in for a quick drink or are planning to have a meal, you can always expect a warm and friendly welcome and a place where you can relax and get away from the stresses and strains of daily life. Our extensive menus cover everything from a quick snack to three course meals. We also have a good selection of fine wines from which you can choose to complement your meal. In the summer months, you can, if you wish, eat alfresco on our lovely patio or in the garden. There are many places of historical interest nearby, including Cliveden House, former home of Lord and Lady Astor, which was infamously associated with the 'Profumo Affair'. Also of interest is St Nicholas church, which is in the village itself.
Flackwell Heath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Girls that lunch”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Just had to write this little review of the oak and saw the food was just simply amazing i cant wait to go back and try the sunday lunch

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank KrysBrophy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernie446, Owner at The Oak & Saw Village Inn, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thanks for your great review and we hope to see you again soon,

Regards

Ian & Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    45
    13
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Slough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“simply the best pub food around”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

I have to admit to being biased as I have been drinking in the Oak for 20 odd years which says something in itself. The owners have changed several times but they have all been very keen on providing high quality food in great variety. I eat out in pubs a lot and have eaten at the Oak many times and have never been disappointed. The atmosphere and service is excellent.

If only Gordon would drink somewhere else and Bill would stop talking about fishing it would be perfect

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Peskywabbitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernie446, Owner at The Oak & Saw Village Inn, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thanks for your great review and we hope to see you again soon,

Regards

Ian & Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic beef burger and friendly staff”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We ate at The Oak and Saw and I had a fantastic beef burger with cheese and bacon. It certainly looked and tasted homemade with very good quality beef and seasoning. The coleslaw was fresh and creamy and the thin fries crispy. I have eaten in several pubs close to Taplow and this was the best beef burger I have eaten in ages. We will certainly visit the pub again, the staff welcomed us when we arrived, were very attentive whilst we were seated at the table and called out goodnight as we left. We had the sharing platter to start with which was delicious but sadly we had no room for a dessert!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Theresa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernie446, Owner at The Oak & Saw Village Inn, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thanks for your great review and we hope to see you again soon,

Regards

Ian & Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food, great staff, lovely evening”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

I came on a one or two saturdays and i must admit i hadn't been in several years, despite being only a 10 minute walk away. We had the sharing platter which, certainly, as someone points out, was ten pounds but i felt was rather reasonable considering it easily fed two of us and the normal price of a starter was between 5 and 6 pounds and it also meant we got a taste of several starters (the wontons were amazing!) and so i know next time id either go for the wontons or oth platter... or the camambert which also looked lovely! The steaks were also excellently cooked, i had the rare ribey and it was perfectly rare. I pearsonally prefer skinny fries, although i dont think it was offered they readily obliged and they were lovely and crispy. My friends hud chunky and they were beautifully fluffy and crisp on the outside. Portions were so large i couldn't have a dessert!
Staff i find are always very important and, although the pub was slightly busy and the staff seemed a bit overwhelmed considering the number at the bar as well as diners they were very attentive and always had a smile. They were the icing on the cake, happy to chat and you could tell how much they wanted to ensure you had a good night!
Congratulations to the improvements! having been severely dissappointed 2 years ago i will be returning again very soon!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernie446, Owner at The Oak & Saw Village Inn, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thanks for your great review and we hope to see you again soon,

Regards

Ian & Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A Great Pub but with room for improvement.”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

I went to the Oak and Saw recently on a Saturday night. This is a great Pub in a lovely setting and the current owners have transformed a rather tired Pub into the great Pub it is today and they deserve commending. It is my local Pub and I have not eaten there until recently, so I was encouraged by the great reviews. My girlfriend and I received a warm welcome on arrival, although the Pub was very quiet. We shared a mixed platter for a Starter that was tasty enough but not value for money. Four wantons, four small battered prawns and five breaded mushrooms did not seem great value for nearly £10, and "Iceland style" party food. The rump steak mains were good, but not outstanding, but were well presented and came in generous portions.I have eaten in several similar "gastro style " Pubs in the local area recently and have received as good or better meals for less price. This Pub has great potential but could do with a more varied menu. It had a vegetarian burger on the menu but no specialised gourmet burger themselves, which seemed strange. The food and the drink in the Pub are a tad bit overpriced in my opinion. I will no doubt eat there again, but it could have been better.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JAKESEY3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernie446, Owner at The Oak & Saw Village Inn, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Many thanks for your feedback on our pub and food. As you say, your visit was on a Saturday night which is our Special Steak Night. The menu is designed so that we can cater for up to 50 people on one evening as the menu options are reduced and this increases productivity as we are a small village pub with a small kitchen and one chef. That's why our huge homemade Oak burger is not available on Saturdays. We are always busy as our food is very popular, but even more so on a Saturday night, as the steaks are soo good and we offer a free bottle of wine with every two steaks ordered, so great value as well.

You shared a mixed platter for a Starter that has been on our menu for 9 years, if I removed it we would have a riot as it has been soo popular. It is perfect for those who want to have more variety and at less than the cost of ordering two seperate starters. I'm glad you thought the rump steak mains were good and well presented and came in generous portions.

Glad you will no doubt eat here again, try us on another day when the menu is more varied.

Regards

Ian & Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Oak & Saw Village Inn also viewed

 
Cookham, Windsor and Maidenhead
Maidenhead, Windsor and Maidenhead
 
Maidenhead, Windsor and Maidenhead
 

Been to The Oak & Saw Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing