We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what you would expect from this magnificent hotel.”
Review of Cliveden House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cliveden House
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Taplow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We just came back from enjoying afternoon tea at this stunning country house hotel. We are local to the area but we had never been to Cliveden before so this was a birthday treat for my girlfriend.

You get the full impact of the majesty of Cliveden when you approach the grand house from the drive. I had heard reports that the staff were a little above their station but this could not have been further from the truth. We were greeted like old friends and were made to feel very welcome.

As you walk into the lobby area you are met by a huge open fire to your right and suits of armour and fabulous works of art hanging on the oak paneled walls and a grand staircase to your left.

We were sat in the library with a comfy blue sofa which had a lovely roaring fire with a magnificent view of the garden vistas that looks out towards the Thames. We chose our tea and then was presented with an array of finger sandwhiches, cakes and scones with clotted cream and jam. It was a lovely chilled out atmosphere and we were very well looked after.

After tea, we decided to take a walk in the stunning grounds but just as we left the entrance, the concierge came over to us and gave some elegantly packaged cookies and told us to remember Cliveden when we are enjoying them. It's touches like that which give great lasting memories of a wonderful afternoon.

I think next time, I will treat us and book us in for an overnight stay.

10 out of ten to the staff at Cliveden and thank you for making this birthday treat a very special experience.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidC55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue W, General Manager at Cliveden House, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Your review makes me very proud of my team and proud to be the Manager looking after this beautiful House. We are delighted it was a most memorable Birthday treat and I hope that even though you are local that you might be tempted to stay next time. Thank you for your visit,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,035)
There are newer reviews for Cliveden House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

906 - 912 of 1,035 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2013

We have just returned from a two nights'stay at the Cliveden Hotel,a thoughtful Christmas treat from our sons.We were of two minds whether to go because of the snow but you wouldnt have wished for a better place to be in the snow.
We received a heart warming welcome by Spencer who proceeded to unload our luggage down to our coats and while we waited for our suite tobe made ready we enjoyed a comlimentary pot of Cliveden tea in front of the huge open fire log fire in the wood panelled Great Hall which serves as the main sitting area.
We then received a an extensive guided tour of all the facilities by a very helpful young man.Something rather rare these days of impersonal corporate ultra modern hotels.
This place is you feel privilaged to be surrounded byso much history.The Astor family particularly NancyAstor whose beautiful oil painting graces the main hall played host to pretty much every one of note in the first half of the twentieth century from Charlie Chaplin to Franklin Roosevelt,fromBernard Shaw to Henry Ford.Pretty much all the British Royals stayed there in its 350 year history.
What the place lacks in modern aminities such as showers and modern loos it more than makes up in huge character.Most furniture are antiques and the fire place in our room was amarble work of art.But both the well heated outdoor pool and and indoor pool and spa were luxurious and kitted with beautiful towels and bathrobes. The brand new gym provided state of the art equipment.
But the strongest asset of this place is its views to die for from the terrace/dinning room looking down to the formal parterie and the Thames some 185 meters below.
The walks are naturally a very pleasant experience.
The staff was all enormously courtious and helpful.The food in the Terrace Restaurant was of a high standard but as you expect not cheap a four course midday supper with wine could set you back 160-200 pounds!
But it certainly it can be a wonderful experience if you fancy staying in one of Englands most beautiful historic houses.

Room Tip: Try a Suite with views if you can afford it.Many offers during winter season and upgrades are usual...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kypros1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue W, General Manager at Cliveden House, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

You paint a wonderful picture of Cliveden House and it is great that you spotted so many details and features of the house. We aim to offer a "Downton" experience reflecting the elegance of that bygone age, that we did this for you we are really delighted. Thank you for your lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We spent a few days here in the snow in the Buckingham suite overlooking the parterre, which looked wonderful. The suite was large and comfortable with a huge bathroom and a lovely big bath.
We booked to have dinner in the Terrace Room. There were only two other diners there that evening so there were far more staff than guests.We had the three course a la carte menu which was fairly limited. We choose to have the wagyu beef which had a £20 supplement, making the meal £80 pp. The wagyu beef was not worth the £20 extra. We had intended to eat in the Terrace room on the following evening, but decided to try the Club Room (cleverly converted stables with saddles on the bar stools and stalls converted into booths.) We enjoyed the informal atmosphere and the food.

We slept well, apart from being woken at 4 am on the first night by the fire alarm. It would have been nice if a member of staff had apologised the next morning, but they kept quiet until asked.

We enjoyed walking around the large gardens and down the 170 steps to the river.
A very enjoyable two days.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marion B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue W, General Manager at Cliveden House, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Delighted you enjoyed your stay in the Buckingham Suite, it really does have a glorious view out to the Thames and beyond. The Club Room (Original Stables) add to the uniqueness of the house and we are pleased you enjoyed the atmosphere in there. We noted your very valid points about the menu and the fire alarm scenario and have made adjustments already. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I treated my friend as a christmas present to a spa day here and whilst it will not match up to the more modern facilities available at many new spas you simply can not beat this place for the beautiful historial setting, the traditional pools and the fantastic good old fashioned service. We arrived just before 9am as we were looking forward to doing a run around the grounds but this was not to be as it had just started snowling heavily. We were greeted with a smile and a lovely man with an umbrella who took us across to the spa. We helped ourselves to coffee and home made biscuits, fruit etc., and were shown the changing rooms which were well stocked with fluffy bathrobes, slippers, flip flops and towels. As we couldnt run we went into the gym - small but well equipped. Back to the main spa area, we had the pool to ourselves and soon felt compelled to try the hot tubs out in the courtyard where the snow had settled and it just looked a picture! We followed this with a facial for me and a massage for my friend - both excellent. We were brought a glass of champagne on our sunloungers by the pool and took lunch in the converted stables which was also first class.
This place has such history and I love the fact that they havent tried to make it flashy or modern. Our experience was magical and I we will certainly be going again when it is not snowing as it would be lovely to explore the grounds properly. This is a little gem and if they are still doing their spa offers - grab the opportunity to experience this wonderful place for a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue W, General Manager at Cliveden House, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

We love being described as a "Little Gem" thank you for seeing us that way. There are so many original features to be seen at Cliveden House and this really helps to create the real Country House experience. In these times of stark new buildings it is nice to stand out from the crowd for our Heritage. We look forward to bringing you more Champagne to your pool lounger before too long!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed our stay in Cliveden House so much that we are now coming back to Cliveden all the time. It has a great location which is only 30 minutes by train from London. We usually go there for a long lovely walk at the weekends. It has such beautiful grounds and gardens. Also I took my friends to Cliveden for Afternoon tea and they were very impressed. The house itself is fantastic, it has kind of castle decoration inside. The room was nice and clean and SPA facilities are great. The cost of staying in the house is not cheap but if you check their website regularly you can get some good offers.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TatNiall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue W, General Manager at Cliveden House, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Thank you for your delightful review. Sounds like you really caught the essence of Cliveden during your stay. Please do come back for more lovely walks in the grounds soon. Last year the National Trust planted 22,000 bedding plants in the Parterre which was a spectacle to see.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We arrived (my husband, myself, my mother-in -law, my three year son and our dog Darcy) and were immediately greeted by the wonderfully charming staff. We were taken to our standard double, or so we thought,and were delighted when the door opened to the Mountbatten Suite. It was a splendid, historical reminder of the history and splendor of this home. And it really does feel like your home. I cannot recommend Cliveden enough. It was truly magical. Oh and breakfast was the best I've ever had!

Room Tip: I believe that this month they have an offer of 2 nights for the price of one. This is amazing valu...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pipers29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue W, General Manager at Cliveden House, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Mountbatten is one of our most requested rooms, it is a huge, with wonderful panelling , large fireplace and lovely views over the garden. Thank you for taking the time to place a review, your feedback is very much appreciated. Hope you can return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

The house looks amazing, the room was beautiful and the Spa simply great.
The only problem at Cliveden House was the level of service provided, probably the worst experience I had during my whole trip in England.
Starting in the lobby at 7:00 pm in front of the fireplace, where i though i could have a nice drink before dinner...NO!
The french "gentlement" was so arrogant when he took our order that my wife decided afterwards not to have dinner there.
The next day during breakfast not much to say about the service as there was no service at all! We had to ask to have our plates clear off the table, etc..
It is a shame as the place is definitely gorgeous but the value for money is not worth at all.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Laurentshanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue W, General Manager at Cliveden House, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

As ever great hotel experiences are made or broken by the team members you encounter. I know the colleague you refer to and I regret your words ring true. This however I can manage and I will. The rest of our team are gems, so please do not right us off, we care very much to get our service right for our guests and usually do.
Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taplow
4.0 mi away
Stoke Park Country Club, Spa and Hotel
5.9 mi away
Danesfield House Hotel And Spa
3.7 mi away
Macdonald Compleat Angler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 19 in Windsor
2,326 reviews
11.1 mi away
Coworth Park - Dorchester Collection
2.1 mi away
Taplow House Hotel
Taplow House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Taplow
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliveden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliveden House

Address: Taplow SL6 0JF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Taplow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Taplow
Price Range: $539 - $1,264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cliveden House 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cliveden is unique. One of the world's finest luxury hotels, this grand stately home is set in the heart of the Berkshire countryside, surrounded by 376 acres of magnificent formal gardens and parkland and with wonderful panoramic views over the River Thames. It is one of the finest luxury hotels near London and Heathrow Airport. Guests have included every British monarch since George I as well as Charlie Chaplin, Winston Churchill, Harold Macmillan, President Roosevelt, George Bernard Shaw, John Profumo and Christine Keeler, and many other well-known names from the past and present. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Cliveden House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliveden House Hotel Taplow
Cliveden House Taplow, UK - England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing