We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lunch on Easter Saturday, 2013”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Red Lion

The Red Lion
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $13
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: An idyllic retreat set in beautiful country house-style surroundings, The Red Lion - Stoke Green serves a menu of gourmet European recipes. Trained in high-class cookery schools in Spain and Italy, the chefs bring a wealth of experience, and demonstrate knowledge of a breadth of classic and complex cooking techniques. Partnering with Rothschild wine merchants, guests can choose a bottle from the well-stocked cellar.
Wimbledon, London
Level Contributor
116 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Lunch on Easter Saturday, 2013”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Wide selection of good food in stylish surroundings, with lots of nooks and crannies to suit a couple through to larger parties

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    134
    59
    21
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Delicious food, good value for money, lovely ambience”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We were staying at Stoke Place and took the shirt walk here for dinner. Service was excellent, Friendly and attentive without being intrusive. All the food we had was well cooked and flavoured - delicious. Only thing that let it down was the bread was very salty

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sarahburton30260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
85 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Didn't live up to its looks”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We only dashed in for a warming sherry and a hot soup...and received the dregs of a very ancient bottle and an onion soup that was thin and watery. Pity because the ambience was wonderful and they were very let down by the catering

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank JCroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent little gem with huge, tasty portions & great seasonal menu”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

This is one of my favourite pubs to eat at, despite being near Wexham Park hospital with it's noisy stream of ambulances (to be fair, you can only hear them if you dine in the garden). I've eaten here in summer and their range of salads is innovative and mouthwatering, with starter portions big enough to be eaten as mains.

Most recently I ate here in January, with my family. There was a huge range of roast dinners on the already extensive menu - I opted for the butternut squash soup, and the roast lamb. The soup was obviously freshly made and possibly the best I've ever tasted, served with a big chunk of fresh bread. The lamb was perfectly cooked, medium-rare, and the potatoes and veg were still crispy and al-dente respectively. None of the six diners had any complaints, and the huge portions left even the greedy amongst us feeling stuffed.

My only minor complaint was that it seemed rather under-staffed for a busy sunday, and as a result the food took quite a long time to arrive. But it was worth waiting for, and apologies were offered. Would recommend this place fora great roast without having to do the washing up yourself, but arrive early as the car park is small and fills up quickly!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kitty548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham Common, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Efficient, Flexible, Personal Service Great Food”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

From initially entering the premises to leaving in a reputable taxi which they organised, we were made to feel like VIPs.

We were given a choice of where we sat in the restaurant, and were promptly presented with an excellent Wine & Champagne menu, whilst we made our decision a jug of iced water was delivered to the table (Remembered our preference from a previous visit?)

The service was polite, professional, whilst retaining that personal touch. - Our reservation was quite late on a very popular Saturday evening (9pm) and I was a tiny bit disappointed that my first choice on the daily specials was not available. - BEN from the management team came over and explained that all the specials-ingredients were purchased on daily basis - to ensure the quality and freshness of the food delivered.

BEN was very flexible, and managed to combine an element from my first choice of special menu, with a dish on their main dining menu. - This was a superb combination, and it really impressed me with their attention to detail. BEN came and made personal check-backs once the food had arrived, and made some excellent wine recommendations for the rest of our meal.

From our table, we expressed an interest in booking a further meal, just 4 days later with some friends, this booking was made and a request for our now favourite wine, will no doubt be waiting for us later this evening! :)

This is now our favourite place to wine&dine!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Danielwalters6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Red Lion also viewed

Beaconsfield, Buckinghamshire
Stoke Poges, Buckinghamshire
 
Cookham, Windsor and Maidenhead
Fulmer, Buckinghamshire
 
Gerrards Cross, Buckinghamshire
 

Been to The Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing