We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Stoke Place
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Baylis House(Slough)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Reviews (695)
Filter reviews
695 results
Traveler rating
281
191
120
69
34
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
281
191
120
69
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden roomafternoon teathe cottagesthe main houseon arrivalgrounds are lovelyqueen annelarge lakestandard roomwedding plannercourse mealcountry houseeggs benedictbar menusconeswine listbridal suite
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
401 - 406 of 695 reviews
Reviewed October 11, 2013

What a delight. Room was lovely clean and spacious. Food was wonderful and many compliments to the chef.
Stayed in many hotels worldwide but this has been one of my favourite.
All sorts of personal touches for our anniversary.
Will be back again....

Room Tip: Room no 3 a delight
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuefromHitchin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

I spent 2 nights here while attending a conference and it's hard to know where to start. The bathroom was cramped with the sink in a dark alcove that made it difficult to see well enough to shave. The shower consistently pulsed hot and cold which was rather unpleasant. They use those incredibly annoying fixed coat hangars that don't come off the rail. Do you really have that big an issue with hangar theft? The bed has a heavy duvet with no top sheet, meaning you're either hot or uncovered. The bed comes with 4 super soft pillows. Some people including me like firm pillows so if you're providing 4 maybe you could have 2 soft and 2 firm? The food at breakfast and dinner was mediocre at best. On the plus side, the building and grounds are very nice and the staff is very friendly, but it's not enough to make up for the annoying, uncomfortable rooms. I won't stay here again if I can avoid it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

What a hidden gem, the place is beautiful, romantic, reasonably priced, clean and very comfortable. The romantic petals on your bed with handmade chocolates is just a very lovely touch. Grounds are stunning I would differently recommend this place again for a visit or if you're local try the very decadent afternoon tea

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank polly1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Very nice hotel, very nice communal areas. Rooms in the garden annex suffer from lack of wifi signal and also are all ground floor. The main building is much better and where you should request your room to be. Great value if you can get one of their deals.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AB232013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed here after a secret escapes deal- we got a three course dinner with champagne and breakfast included.

We got upgraded to a suite when we stayed, overlooking the gardens in the main house. It was beautifully decorated and had a brilliant stand alone bath in the main room. It was really pretty. The hotel itself is really well decorated and I loved the style of the hotel.

The dinner included was a little disappointing. It was overly pretentious food, which I'm sure would keep some very happy, but we went away starving (not good when the price of the meal was £50). The restaurant was empty and we felt the waitress was too attentive for us to enjoy our meal (she wouldn't leave the room even though we were the only ones in there).

The breakfast was very nice in the morning, offering locally sourced food for the hot breakfast. The breakfast buffet was disappointing with a range of poor cereals and not a lot else. It was also a tiny breakfast room, about four or five tables. Again this intimate atmosphere was a little awkward with other diners. I felt this atmosphere in all the shared areas.

Overall was really good value for money and the rooms were beautiful. If the dinner wasn't so pretentious it would have been five stars.

Room Tip: Stay in the main building, not the garden rooms and try and wangle a free upgrade!
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hazell21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews