We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely country house retreat - perfect for foodies”
Review of Stoke Place

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Stoke Place
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Stoke Poges
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Stayed for a night with my new man and really enjoyed it all. We had a beautiful room in the main building with a bay window looking out on the lake which was clean and well kept, although there were a few small things that needed some attention - scuff marks, peeling paint etc. I enjoyed walking around the grounds and playing chess and petanque and it really did feel like a relaxing getaway. I liked that it wasn't a big anonymous hotel with spa etc. The highlight of the evening was the amazing dinner we had in the Garden Room - best meal i've had all year. See my separate review. The one thing that wasn't so great was service, which was well intentioned if a little amatuer, and I didn't get a clear feeling of there being someone in charge of it all. At one point we were sitting in the bar area waiting to be served and the barman stood behind the counter polishing glasses and ignoring us. When we did eventually get our drinks, he forgot the tap water I had ordered and neglected to use coasters or put out bar snacks (if I'm paying £10 for a cocktail, I expect olives or peanuts). These are small things, but make a big difference for the customer's experience.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susieg77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (651)
There are newer reviews for Stoke Place
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

408 - 414 of 651 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2013

We had a Champagne afternoon tea at Stoke place yesterday. Stunning hotel and grounds. We were very early but made most welcome and given a map so that we could stroll round the grounds or even take a bike out. Munt jack deer, picnic area, giant chess, lamas nearby and totally breathtaking.

The champagne afternoon tea was by far the best we have ever had and I have taken afternoon tea at most of the premier hotels in London and many in the the Home Counties. Each sandwich and pattisserie was fantastic as were the scones and perfectly chilled champagne. We absolutely loved it and though I took my husband for his 60th we will definitely be back soon! Staff smart and attentive. Wonderful day out.

Room Tip: Didnt stay at the hotel so I can't coment but I have had meetings in the rooms before and they a...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We visited Stoke Place on 15th June for my mums bday... We were greeted at the door and shown to a room opposite the garden room restaurant- lovely wallpaper!

We were soon given a menu to choose our teas (blackcurrant & hibiscus- yum!)

We went for the traditional afternoon tea..... Three finger sandwiches each, two warm scones and 8 miniature cakes/ biscuits.... Too much for us, so we had it boxed up to take home.

After eating, we went into the lounge and sat in there for a while, it was very relaxing and then as the sun had come out we asked the waitress whether we could go outside to take some pics.... She showed us out through one of the doors and left us to it, to take some pictures of the lovely setting.

For £18.50 for traditional afternoon tea it was well worth the price and too much for us to eat! Would definitely go back, just wish we could stay in the hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Na0mi_W87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We went to a wedding here. Service was poor. Particularly the very badly under-staffed bar. One chap behind the bar trying to serve drinks and process credit card payments. Three chaps standing there watching, just polishing glasses. A 30 minute wait for three pints of complimentary beer; not good enough. The staff didn't really seem to care. Complaints to the main reception seemed to fall on deaf ears. One waitress dropped a whole tray of about 8 glasses of bubbly. They made lame apologies. When she swept up glass and the remains of the bubbly into a dustpan she then managed to dribble it all over shoes and handbags of some guests. Meal service was marginally better. But the venue in which the meal was served was a bit like a concrete barn, bolted on to the side of a lovely old house. We understand the minimum spend for a wedding is pretty huge, but for service and ambience this place scores about 2/10. Food was OK. I gather their fee for wine corkage amounts to daylight robbery.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GX_Martin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Stayed at Stoke Place recently, and for the price I was really pleased. We payed £90 for one night, which is great value for money when you consider the chains e.g. premier inn would have cost more than this. The building and grounds are lovely- do try and have a walk around the lake. The room we had was quite small, but we didn't feel cramped. Comfy bed with soft sheets, nice walk-in shower (decent enough water pressure), l'occitane toiletries, good selection of tea's (English breakfast was included contrary to other reviews) and coffee in the room. We also had a nice view of the grounds. Our room did have quite an unpleasant smell though, which lasted the whole stay -not sure what this was but it smelt like curry! And there were minor things such as wonky plug sockets, slightly worn furniture which I may have been unimpressed with had I payed more for the room. Breakfast was pretty good- nice selection of pastries, fruit and cereal, and the cooked breakfast was good (but not fantastic). Staff were relatively friendly too. In all, I was really impressed with Stoke Place and would definitely recommend it- lovely grounds and house with it's individual (modern) style make it perfect for a short break. I would probably not have been so happy to overlook certain things had we paid the standard rate though...

Room Tip: Room 11 had a funny smell and was quite small, but had a nice view and was quiet
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Once we had sorted out a mix-up over our booking and obtained the room we had paid for rather than a tiny attic room, our stay was fine. We had an upstairs room in one of the outbuildings. This would be entirely unsuitable for the elderly or those not suitably fit as the stairs were very steep and narrow.
The room was fine, and the bathroom well appointed. We did not eat in the restaurant. There is a pub which is a 10 minutes walk up the road and the food there is excellent. Good gastro pub grub.
We didn't try breakfast either.
The rooms in the outbuilding directly on the main road would have not been anywhere near as good as I am sure you would be kept awake by traffic noise all night.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AJ0nes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

A group of 7 of us came for afternoon tea in May and it was fantastic. I highly recommend it, especially if you are lucky enough with the weather to sit outside. The tea was beautiful and the selection of cakes and sandwiches was fab and we couldn't finish it all! The atmosphere was really relaxed too and service was great even though there was a wedding while we were there. If you're thinking of having afternoon tea here- go for it!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Rachael Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stoke Poges
0.8 mi away
Stoke Park Country Club, Spa and Hotel
2.8 mi away
Burnham Beeches Hotel
Burnham Beeches Hotel
#2 of 3 in Burnham
824 reviews
4.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Gerrards Cross
Crowne Plaza Gerrards Cross
#1 of 7 in Beaconsfield
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Grovefield House
Grovefield House
#1 of 3 in Burnham
606 reviews
1.3 mi away
Pinewood Hotel
Pinewood Hotel
#13 of 21 in Slough
520 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 19 in Windsor
2,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stoke Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoke Place

Address: Stoke Green, Stoke Poges SL2 4HT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Stoke Poges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Stoke Poges
Price Range: $89 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stoke Place 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Modern Country HouseStoke Place is a reinvention of the traditional country house - a home from home environment, ideal for celebrations and with the feel of an aristocratic-owned private house.With 39 bedrooms, 7 individually designed private rooms seating from 8 to 200 people, extensive gardens designed by the legendary Capability Brown and a gym and treatment room, Stoke Place offers conferences, weddings, quiet getaways and fantastic dining.Recently awarded 3 AA Rosettes for culinary excellence and a Notable wine list award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Stoke Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stoke Place Hotel Stoke Poges
Stoke Place Poges
Stoke Place Hotel Poges
Stoke Place Stoke Poges, Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing