We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“afternoon tea experience”
Review of Stoke Place

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Stoke Place
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Stoke Poges
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“afternoon tea experience”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

I chose Stoke Place as it looks a terrific setting on the website. Took family members to celebrate their 60th wedding anniversary. The tea was delicious and beautifully presented,the staff couldn't have been more friendly, and there is a very welcoming initial greeting at the door. We were unlucky to be there on an extremely busy day - good sign it was busy except we were kept waiting for much longer than suited the older relatives, and then we had only 25 minutes to enjoy the tea as they needed to prepare our table for their evening guests. Have been back again, at a carefully chosen time mid week, when we had a pleasant and leisurely tea, with a stroll around the lake.
I would recommend the tea - but avoid a day they have a wedding to cater for, or a key weekend such as Bank Holiday

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RosemaryL612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    174
    115
    63
    29
See reviews for
83
305
17
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

From booking, arriving and stay with 2 girl friends for a girlie weekend we had a brilliant time. They put us in a cottage so as to accommodate our friendly dog. The grounds are well kept and spacious, kitchen garden and lake lovely even in cold Bank Holiday weekend.

Liked the quirky decor and the dining room is unusual and different (some have said cafe; if so I would add upmarket cafe!!). The food was amazing and service efficient and professional.

We had a complimentary bottle of wine with our booking and reception rang our room to ask whether we wanted in before in the room or in the bar. Everything we asked for we got.

To make it even better? Our family call this shabby chic. Not really shabby but you feel at home here with kids and dogs, rather like a comfortable country house. The glass and table ware were gleaming, the breakfast excellent and dinner fantastic.

Thank you to all concerned.

Will come again and bring the extended family for a weekend as there is masses to do in the grounds - boules, croquet, chess, bikes, lake etc.

Room Tip: Only been in the cottages
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suek977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

When you drive up to the front of this country house hotel it looks like the bees knees. However, first impressions at signing in at reception do give a foretaste of the standard of the rooms and the common areas throughout.

The furniture is tired and showing signs of wear and tear and the decor is not helpful. It is a tad 'whacky' sort of 60s contemporary style, but having said that it does work in the bar and the breakfast room. However, when this doubles up as the dining room for the evening, it is really not in keeping. The rooms are fine, but again tired, try to get one facing the lake if you can, our did have an excellent view and a walk round the lake is worth it.

Highlight was the excellent dining in the evening and the service overall lacked nothing. Room service was prompt when needed, but the meal was very good, well worth it on its own.

They do need to upgrade the rooms and the common areas, but glad we went.

Room Tip: Choose one at the back, overlooking the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

I can only describe this place as "fur coat no knickers" - very scrappy décor. I had requested an item in my room that was not delivered. We were asked to leave our breakfast table as they had more guests. All foreign staff who did not understand a lot of what was asked. Nice from the outside but everything inside is awful. DO NOT SPEND YOUR MONEY HERE.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Luke L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Stayed one night. Because it was our anniversary they upgraded us to an "executive double" (but I'm not sure what the difference between that and a standard is). Room was lovely - beautifully decorated, view over the grounds, spacious bathroom (l'occitane toiletries), comfy bed, tea and coffee. We had afternoon tea which was excellent and good portions (coukdn't finish it!). Grounds are lovely and we enjoyed a good walk around the lake.

Breakfast was ok - again food quality was very good and eggs were cooked to perfection, but it took 10 minutes for anyone to serve us (yes, we were up and about early for a Sunday but still came down 20 minutes after breakfast started) and my two poached eggs came with one piece of toast and we had to ask for the pastries which hadn't been put out yet. Breakfast was ncluded in our room rate which I thought made it especially reasonable.

Overall a lovely stay at this hotel occupying a good middle ground between chains and £200/night 5* hotels.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sarahburton30260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimbledon, London
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We really liked it. We were fortunte to be upgraded to a Cottage Double (from an Executive Room), but what really makes the place is the excellent resaurant - I see one reviewer has complained about the art nouvea portions, but a three course a la carte plus three sorbets / tasters and bread should not be complained about. We also found the reception and bar staff above average. A "Boutique" type hotel in a old established house, with a couple of quirky but endaring touches (poetry recited in the loos), I would definitely consider going back, and we found it good value too. If you are staying in the area more than a day, the Red Lion gastro pub literally across the road was also good

Room Tip: If you are in the area, don't necessairly be swayed by staing at Stoke Park (5*). This (4*)is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Room 14 is really noisy being above the speaker for the restaurant. Avoid f you want a quiet evening.bed comfortable


Hall carpets dirty. Agree with other trip adviser comments.housekeeping is below standard for a 4star hotel.broken plug in bathroom. Bedside lamp needed replacing.towels dingy white and scratchy. One full toilet roll and one 3/4 used left on shelf behind loo.terrible water pressure.hot water almost scolding .cold water sluggish.loo took 15 mins to refill.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DJL600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stoke Poges
0.8 mi away
Stoke Park Country Club, Spa and Hotel
2.8 mi away
Burnham Beeches Hotel
Burnham Beeches Hotel
#2 of 3 in Burnham
801 reviews
1.3 mi away
Pinewood Hotel
Pinewood Hotel
#13 of 21 in Slough
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Grovefield House
Grovefield House
#1 of 3 in Burnham
597 reviews
2.0 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Slough - Windsor
4.8 mi away
Cliveden House
Cliveden House
#1 of 2 in Taplow
1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stoke Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoke Place

Property: Stoke Place
Address: Stoke Green, Stoke Poges SL2 4HT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Stoke Poges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Stoke Poges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Stoke Place 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Modern Country HouseStoke Place is a reinvention of the traditional country house - a home from home environment, ideal for celebrations and with the feel of an aristocratic-owned private house.With 39 bedrooms, 7 individually designed private rooms seating from 8 to 200 people, extensive gardens designed by the legendary Capability Brown and a gym and treatment room, Stoke Place offers conferences, weddings, quiet getaways and fantastic dining.Recently awarded 3 AA Rosettes for culinary excellence and a Notable wine list award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Stoke Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stoke Place Hotel Stoke Poges
Stoke Place Poges
Stoke Place Hotel Poges
Stoke Place Stoke Poges, Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing