We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon tea for two...”
Review of Stoke Place

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Stoke Place
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Stoke Poges
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Went along here at fairly short notice to celebrate my wife's birthday with an afternoon tea. Having considered some of the more popular riverside venues we opted for somewhere we hadn't been before. Booking on line was very straightforward.

Food was as expected, very nicely served by waitress and 'assistant' which made it very slick and professional. Sandwiches, warm scones and selection of 5 cakes/deserts together with a very wide choice of leaf teas were served in the garden room.

The only criticism is that the ambiance was a bit lacking, probably not unreasonably on a Tuesday afternoon at 3.00, there was another table occupied when we arrived which departed shortly afterwards (hopefully not as a result of our arrival).

12.5% optional service charge automatically added to bill, which always grates a little with me.

Would visit again, but probably in the summer when the grounds and terrace could be used to advantage.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (683)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

498 - 504 of 683 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2013

We too had this as a Travelzoo offer gifted to us at Christmas. We booked it for a Valentines weekend treat.

Upon arrival we got in to the Reception area only to find nobody there to greet us. After hanging around for a few minutes somebody came through the door carrying other arriving guests bags. It was quite clear we were waiting and we were ignored whilst the other couple were checked in and assisted with their luggage. This felt a little bit like we were ignored as we were the "young couple". After being asked "if we were being seen to" we were then checked in by a lovely girl who was very apologetic for the confused and she showed us to our room. We were also in one of the outbuilding "cottages". It was a nice room with a nice bath tub and bathroom and comfy bed - all in all very impressive. The shower did leak a bit and the tiled bathroom floor was freezing!

We went over to the main building for drinks and dinner and found the bar staff seemed very stressed in the bar area. We think they may have been short staffed due to a wedding going on in the hotel, which we were concerned about but it didn't affect our stay at all.

The meal itself was of a very high standard, with lots of extra courses and some weird and wonderful additions, but I would tend to agree with other reviews - TINY PORTIONS!! Luckily we had some hula hoops which we scoffed when we went back to the room!

We opted to have breakfast delivered in the morning. This was lovely although we were given a selection of jams and marmalade but no toast!!

All in all we had a lovely night away, we also visited Windsor which was only a 20 minute drive and well worth a stroll around.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lucybrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

This hotel was brought to our attention by Travelzoo, with a good deal for two nights bed and breakfast with an a la carte meal on the first night and an upgrade to an Executive room for £269 for two people. Seemed like a good deal for a quality hotel with a rating of 4 1/2 on Trip Adviser.
From the moment we checked in, however, the experience left us wanting.
On arrival the two female receptionists were vague, with some confusion over matching our credit card details to our rooms and no clear information about breakfast times and location of facilities in the hotel, Our party consisted of three couples and they had to rearrange the room allocation so that we could all be near each other.
We were then shown out of the main hotel building, back across the car park to our rooms which were classed as 'The Cottages'. These were situated by the main entrance of the drive and one room was directly adjacent to the busy road.
The first impression of our particular room was that the entrance was down an alley way and there was an empty bottle outside the door, not very salubrious!
The room was of a good size and was clean with a decent bed and had a lovely deep bath in the bathroom. It lacked character however, seeming rather corporate with no pictures on the walls or homely, individual touches that I would have expected in a hotel of this calibre. We also had to phone reception to request water and teabags as these had not been replaced.
The most disappointing thing for all of us though was that the rooms had no view of the lovely gardens, merely a bush. This was one of the main reasons that we were originally drawn to this particular hotel after all!
Once we had settled in to our rooms, we visited the bar for a drink together. The bar area was full, so upon request we were shown to a separate room nearer reception which could have been so pretty and cosy but again lacked character and ambiance. We noticed when returning for our evening meal some three hours later that our used bottles and glasses were still on the table.
As a previous reviewer has stated, we too received a personalised letter to our room requesting our attendance in the bar at least fifteen minutes prior to our dinner reservation at 8pm to peruse the extensive wine list and menu.
On arrival no wine lists were available and neither were any menus. We eventually went in to the restaurant for our meal at about 9pm.
The meal was amazing, lots of different tastes and textures with attentive staff, followed by cocktails and coffee in the bar area. Overall we found the bar and waiting staff to be very helpful and friendly and we had a lovely evening.
Breakfast was a pleasant affair despite the confusion over the type of tea we requested.( We all ordered English Breakfast and received Earl Grey) and we went off merrily to enjoy a cold and sunny day out in Windsor.
When we returned to the hotel at about 5pm hoping to warm up, relax and get ready for our night out at the local pub we were amazed to discover that none of our rooms had been made up. Following phone calls and a visit to reception this was rectified to a fashion.
However the bed wasn't made properly, the duvet cover merely pulled up and I personally remade it. Water, teabags and toiletries were not replaced, all resulting in a further call to reception. At this point we had to start seeing the funny side and wondered what would happen next. That's when the hot water ran out and our poor friend had to complete her shower feeling rather chilly!
It was a real shame as this hotel has such potential but the terrible house keeping and lack of atmosphere let it down. It felt as though it had been closed for winter and just reopened. I even asked one of the receptionists if this was the case but she assured me it wasn't.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
5  Thank Sharon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We too were tempted to Stoke Place by a Travelzoo offer. The location and setting were enticing but we were underwhelmed by our experience. We found the reception area stark and unwelcoming despites Mark's best efforts to greet us and make us feel 'at home' and our 'executive room' was seriously lacking in wardrobe space and storage with only one chair and one flannel. There were no pictures on the walls of our room and the corridors to and from the bar and reception were uninviting. Generally we felt a need for redecoration if the glory of this magnificent building is to be restored. We also found it difficult to understand why two of the best rooms in the hotel facing the grounds and lake were being used as function rooms for training and not used for public dining and or library/sitting room.

Our dining experience did not start well. In accordance with the personalised letter in our room we went to the restaurant 15 minutes before our booking time to enjoy a drink in the bar. However we were ushered straight in to the restaurant and advised we could enjoy our drinks there. Although we initially sat down we decided this was not what we wanted and we moved to the bar. We ordered our drinks but the waitress came back three times to take our order. At one point I had to ask her why we were being hurried but I was told there was no problem. We eventually went to our table but on completion of our dessert we were encouraged to have our coffee and liquers in the bar. By this time it was apparent that bookings for later dining had been taken and tables were being turned round quickly.

This sort of experience does not help the enjoyment of the meal. Yes, portions were extremely small but the quality of the meat course was extremely high. However some of the descriptions defy belief e.g the 'brussel sprouts' with the venison turned out to be three leaves. The wine list is, however, outstanding. Nevertheless we also felt hungry following our meal and on ordering post meal drinks we were told the 'nibbles' we were offered before our meal had apparently 'run out'. Although the garden room was full we found it lacked ambience. Service was to a high standard but lacked a feeling of personal attention.

Perhaps if we had had a larger room facing the main grounds and we had not felt rushed in the restaurant we might have enjoyed our stay more. Having read other reviews clearly people have had differing experiences. This could have been a memorable stay but on this occasion we were disappointed.

Room Tip: Go for a room overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Geoffrey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We orginally arrived having booked last minute in the Garden rooms and, although lovely they were a little on the small side and were some distance from the main building.

Muhamid was very attentive and showed impressive warmth and kindness by putting us on the standby to a possible cancellation room within the main building that boasted impressive views of the grounds. He then suggested we fill the waiting time by having a few drinks in the bar. The bar had a beautiful interior with butterflies on the wall, comfortable chairs and an ambience that was warm and welcoming. It is always the details (small things) that creates the warm and fuzzy feelings and we were particularly satisfied by the champagne and the flutes they came in.

It did not take long before Mohamid reappeared and was ushering us up to our new sleeping quarters which were one of the executive suites on the top floor of the main building. They had a ensuite bathroom with a comfortable kingsize double bed and a selection of different pillows. The window looked out onto a splendid vista of lawn, lake and lines of poppler trees in the background which would be the envy of any rambler.

We then proceeded downstairs to make enquiries about whether we could get a booking at the restaurant. Jacob reassured us that there was an availability at 21:30 but would let us know straight away if a table became available any earlier. We waited in the very pleasant reading room and ordered a couple of cocktails laced with elderflower and gin from a very refined cocktail menu.
Unexpectably a table became available an hour early in the Garden room which had very fresh interior with green and white wallpaper and a selection of different shaped bright green veneered tables. We were treated with both kindness and efficiency by Jacob who serviced our every needs. The food was exquisite and should be given Michelin stars. We scale amazing starters, followed by amuse-bouche, with wonderful pallet cleansers in between and Courses. The tastes were truly creative that sizzled and danced on the end of the tongue, chocolate jelly with venison, wild mushrooms with Dover sole. The portuguese wine selected by Jacob was perfect for the meal and as a result we have purchased a box since. We were very satisfied as you can see!!

We then went to bed and fell into a deep sleep looking forward to Sunday's activities

Breakfast was a pleasure with gorgeous breakfast yet again being served by the fantastic Jacob ( Does the man ever sleep)

Mohamid then let us take the old fashioned bicycles out for a ride around the wonderful grounds where we played Outside Jenga and took some wonderful photographs. This was a great way to burn off all the wonderful food we had eaten and a great finish to a perfect weekend.

Room Tip: Room 22 was highly recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 18Tomo1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

We found this hotel on a Travelzoo offer, £169 pounds dinner, bed and breakfast. Check in was efficient and we were helped with our luggage to our lovely appointed room called Alexandra, overlooking the grounds and lake.

The restaurant was good, we were looked after by a gentlemen called Jacob, the restaurant manager I believe and he was very good and well presented . He even took 5 mins during service to take us to a walk in wine cellar so that we could select our own bottle from his selection.

Upon check out, we were dealt with by a gentlemen called Mark, this young man was very efficient and helped us with luggage to the car and with directions. The young man was very professional and even gave me his business card in case we return so he can look after us personally,

All in all great stay and hotel!! Thoroughly recommended!!! Well done Stoke Place hotel!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrs_ramsey1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Stayed for one night with work colleagues. This was my second visit - this time staying in the main house rather than one of the outside rooms which are about 50 yards away.

On arrival check in was swift and I was helped with my baggage to the room. The room was well appointed, and was much better than the external one. the only problem being that when I tried to turn the AC down it stayed on maximum. The bathroom was quite spacious, but had seen better days, part of the laminate table top was adrift, the blu-tac previously holding it in place having given up, and there was peeling paint above the shower. There was also no heating in the bathroom, so not ideal when getting out of the shower in the morning. These were only minor points, but give such a bad impression, and can be easily rectified. The bed was very comfortable, and I had a good nights sleep.

Service throughout was very good I have to say. Breakfast was good, although the evening meal was a little disappointing. Quality was excellent, however quantity was lacking, something a number of my colleagues commented on.

Overall, good in parts, but could easily have been better.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deltagolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stoke Poges
0.8 mi away
Stoke Park Country Club, Spa and Hotel
2.8 mi away
Burnham Beeches Hotel
Burnham Beeches Hotel
#2 of 3 in Burnham
857 reviews
4.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Gerrards Cross
Crowne Plaza Gerrards Cross
#1 of 7 in Beaconsfield
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Macdonald Compleat Angler
1.3 mi away
Pinewood Hotel
Pinewood Hotel
#13 of 22 in Slough
537 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 19 in Windsor
2,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stoke Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoke Place

Address: Stoke Green, Stoke Poges SL2 4HT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Stoke Poges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Stoke Poges
Price Range: $104 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stoke Place 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Modern Country HouseStoke Place is a reinvention of the traditional country house - a home from home environment, ideal for celebrations and with the feel of an aristocratic-owned private house.With 39 bedrooms, 7 individually designed private rooms seating from 8 to 200 people, extensive gardens designed by the legendary Capability Brown and a gym and treatment room, Stoke Place offers conferences, weddings, quiet getaways and fantastic dining.Recently awarded 3 AA Rosettes for culinary excellence and a Notable wine list award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Stoke Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stoke Place Hotel Stoke Poges
Stoke Place Poges
Stoke Place Hotel Poges
Stoke Place Stoke Poges, Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing