We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely relaxing and romantic weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Stoke Park Country Club, Spa and Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Stoke Poges
Certificate of Excellence
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A lovely relaxing and romantic weekend”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We had a fabulous weekend....from the moment we pulled up outside to the moment we left it was brilliant!

The staff are all very attentive, check in was easy, reception took care of parking our car and taking our bags up to our room; we had a deluxe mansion room and we were shown to our room where the fire was lit for us.....a very well stocked mini bar waiting for us and a balcony with a gorgeous view of the grounds and a beautiful bathroom too!

We had a lovely meal in Humphrey's restaurant which was absolutely delicious and breakfast the following morning certainly didn't disappoint with beautiful views of the grounds to look out at. We took the Heritage Walk around the grounds,which are not to be missed, and then returned for a relaxing aromatherapy massage in the spa.

All in all a fabulous, relaxing and romantic weekend!! We shall definitely be returning and compliments to the staff for making our weekend special. I had mentioned several months prior, when booking, that it was my husband's birthday but hadn't mentioned it again.....the staff had remembered and brought out a plate of handmade chocolates after dinner and had put a lovely bowl of fruit and chocolates in our room which was such a lovely touch.

Thanks for a wonderful weekend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlisonTwigg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giammario R, General Manager at Stoke Park Country Club, Spa and Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
We are delighted you had a wonderful stay with us, and we’re thrilled you enjoyed the hotel and Humphry’s. Thank you also so much for your very kind words regarding our staff and we’re glad you found Stoke Park to be a very friendly, romantic place!

We are really grateful for you taking the time to write, and hope to welcome you back soon!

With very best wishes,

Giammario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

863 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    622
    153
    57
    16
    15
See reviews for
130
405
20
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

I needed somewhere close to home to relax and chose Stoke Park for both convenience and facilities. I was not disappointed with my choice, we arrived mid afternoon on a Saturday to be greeted by the very welcoming reception staff and after a swift check in we're shown to our junior suite which had a pleasant sitting area and very spacious bathroom. Having unpacked we decided that although the weather was less than clement we would explore the extensive grounds. Which although there is a golf course in all directions around the hotel one has free access to all corners it would appear and there are paths and walks suitable for all weathers and giving very pleasant views.
We chose to eat in the "Italian restaurant" which reminded my partner more of an American diner but which produced a very reasonable meal which was all we required. The next morning we had a continental breakfast in our room which was attractively presented and more than adequate.
I had booked spa treatments for us both in advance and I would suggest this is done as early as possible to ensure your chosen time is available. We both thoroughly enjoyed our treatments which were perfectly executed in very relaxing surroundings. My only complaint would be that the sitting area was not cleared of previous guests "leftovers" very efficiently and gave a somewhat cluttered feel and difficultly knowing which seats were vacant, albeit a small inconvenience. We had another walk later in the afternoon and strolled through the remembrance garden which we discovered and would have liked to have had some prior knowledge of its existence. We booked dinner in Humphry's restaurant and were shown to the bar for pre- dinner drinks and perusal of the menu. Suggestions were made by Lucas a very able member of staff and we followed his choice and presently were shown to our table for a very delightful and satisfying meal. The suggested choice was perfect and during our sweet course Lucas appeared and asked if everything was as I had expected. My partner who could see his face saw the crest fallen look when I informed him that everything was apart from the service......... Which exceeded my expectations, which it did. The staff were attentive without being overly so, our glasses being refreshed as required without the feeling that someone was constantly hovering and suppressing the freedom to speak.
Overall a very satisfying time was spent in very relaxing surroundings, peopled by those who knew the respect fellow guests expected and showed to each other. We had three days of blissful relaxation, thank you.

Room Tip: The majority of rooms appear to overlook the car park and therefore it would appear only superior su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jetsaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giammario R, General Manager at Stoke Park Country Club, Spa and Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
We are thrilled you had a great, relaxing stay with us, and we’re delighted you found our staff to exceed your expectations. Guest satisfaction is our highest priority and I thank you very much for taking the time to write this. Thank you also for your comment regarding the Spa Atrium- this has been passed on to the relevant department.

We really hope to welcome you back soon and thank you so much for coming to stay,

With Best wishes,

Giammario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We were greeted with a lovely warm welcome at the Pavilion Reception. Chilled champagne, chocolates, gift and fruit in the room on arrival were a surprising and appreciated touch . . . brought massive smiles to our faces. Our suite was warm, tastefully designed and immaculately clean. Massive windows with great views. Spacious bathroom with wetroom shower area.

First night dinner at Humphry’s: the food was perfect throughout (just wish we had enough room for the cheeseboard as it looked great), but it was the staff that made the evening memorable . . . it’s a difficult balance to get the professionalism you expect from fine dining, but still be served in a friendly down-to-earth manner - they've got it bang-on here, and the staff genuinely want you to have the best experience possible.

Second night we ate in San Marco’s: again very hospitable staff who were only too happy to offer a wider selection than the menu offered when we said we were both vegetarian – nothing was too much trouble. Quality of the food was up there with Humphry’s, but in a more chilled out casual atmosphere (butternut squash risotto starter, and sea bass main course first class). And have to comment on the French Toast in San Marco’s at breakfast – superb.

spa was very relaxing, again no snobbery but just genuinely happy staff who want you to really enjoy the experience.

Reception will give you a map to show you walk-routes around the grounds - lovely setting.

Nothing is too much trouble at Stoke Park - really is top shelf.

Room Tip: If you like modern clean lines, you'll love the Pavilion suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SharonHarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giammario R, General Manager at Stoke Park Country Club, Spa and Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you very much for your lovely comments – we are very grateful for them and for you taking the time to write. We are thrilled you had a great stay and enjoyed Humphry’s, San Marco and the spa. We are so glad you found Stoke Park a very friendly, relaxing place to be and really hope to welcome you back soon!

With very best wishes,

Giammario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
69 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed for an overnight get away girl's weekend. The hotel is lovely with attentive staff and service. Stayed in a pavillion room which was really nice and had everything we needed. The gym had much more in it and was more spacious than the usual hotel gym, the pool was nice but there is no seperate hydrotherapy baths which is unusual for a spa of this standard. The treatments were fantastic and the therapist was really lovely. Dinner was really good. Overall would recommend the hotel and the Spa.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UkEm_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giammario R, General Manager at Stoke Park Country Club, Spa and Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you so much for your lovely comments which we are very grateful for. We are so thrilled you and the girls had a great time! Guest satisfaction is our highest priority and we are glad you found the hotel to be a friendly, lovely place. We hope to welcome you back soon and thank you very much for taking the time to write.

With Best wishes,

Giammario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west midlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Home to many films such as Brigid Jones and Layer Cake, my first thoughts at the suggestion of a 'mini break' was that the hotel would run off the back of its Hollywood film connection- how wrong I could be! This hotel is most definitely what film stars dreams are made of! Driving down the country lane, past 'Moonraker' house, we were met by the grandeur that was Stoke Park. Finely manicured lawns and an an impressive lake set the tone to this notable facade. The Pavillion (a new buliding that plays host to a neat health spa) was where we initially booked to stay however, once we saw the main mansion we decided to exchange rooms for our two night stay to the Villiers Room (junior suit). This was made possible by the wonderful staff, all who were in another league to other hotel staff I'd met before. Robert initially greeted us and was happy to show us around two rooms that were available, he was also happy to show us The Pennsylvania Suit (Brigid jones room) to my girlfriends excitement! The Villiers suit had outstanding views across golf course and overlooked the infamous fountain. The room decor was typical for the era however had modern touches such as a large flat screen TV and power shower in addition to the free standing bath. The room also had a fireplace with open fire. The choice of eateries was good there. We decided to take dinner in San Marco and were impeccably looked after by Paul and his team, food,service, value were all superb. Well done! Already thinking about returning!!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ravi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giammario R, General Manager at Stoke Park Country Club, Spa and Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you so much for your very kind words and for taking the time to write- we are thrilled you had a wonderful stay with us! Guest satisfaction is our highest priority and we're very glad our staff exceeded your expectations and hope to welcome you back soon!

With Best wishes,

Giammario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

I think we were very fortunate to have stayed on a quiet sunday/monday as we felt like we almost had the place to ourselves on sunday night.

as others have said, feeling of luxury and indulgence all over, from furnishings, quality of food, complementary bits and bobs, the setting, the history, service, warmth of the pool etc - loved it all. good value sunday deal as well.

just slightly disappointed with the golf course but that was because golfers hadnt replaced most of their divets and i was in a lot of bunkers!

special mention to the staff - very professional, trained to a tee (sorry for the golf pun), the young restaurant manager who served us for breakfast and pm tea was first class as were all the staff. Thanks for a fabulous stay we WILL be back before christmas.

Room Tip: our preference was for mansion room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danandlydia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

Lovely settings
we went on a sunday morning for 2 no treatments
My husband had hot stone massage and stated it was the best ever. I had body exfoliation with massage they used a mixture of oil vanilla poppy seeds and sand from tathiti , my skin is so soft it was great.

Minus points
Shower tray in massage room should be replaced
Swiming pool was open for kids 10 to 12 on Sunday which we were not told about



  • Stayed October 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Carmel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stoke Poges
4.0 mi away
Cliveden House
Cliveden House
#1 of 2 in Taplow
967 reviews
0.8 mi away
Stoke Place
Stoke Place
#2 of 2 in Stoke Poges
635 reviews
9.0 mi away
Coworth Park - Dorchester Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.4 mi away
Hartwell House
Hartwell House
#1 of 1 in Hartwell
668 reviews
9.6 mi away
Danesfield House Hotel And Spa
4.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Gerrards Cross
Crowne Plaza Gerrards Cross
#1 of 7 in Beaconsfield
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stoke Park Country Club, Spa and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoke Park Country Club, Spa and Hotel

Property: Stoke Park Country Club, Spa and Hotel
Address: Stoke Park Farm Park Road, Stoke Poges SL2 4PG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Stoke Poges
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Stoke Poges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Stoke Park Country Club, Spa and Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stoke Park is Europe’s leading Hotel, Spa and Country Club Resort conveniently located 35 minutes from London and only 7 miles from Heathrow. Situated in leafy Buckinghamshire, Stoke Park is set amidst 300 acres of glorious parkland, lakes and gardens. With 49 exquisite bedrooms, a 27 hole Championship golf course, award winning Spa, 13 tennis courts and a state-of-the-art gymnasium, one will certainly encounter the ultimate Stoke Park experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and HRS so you can book your Stoke Park Country Club, Spa and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stoke Park Hotel Stoke Poges
Stoke Park Poges
Stoke Park Hotel Poges
Stoke Park Country Club, Spa And Hotel Stoke Poges, Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing