We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Standards slipping ?” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ethorpe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ethorpe Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Gerrards Cross
Harefield
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Standards slipping ?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

Have stayed here many times over the years, and have always had a brilliant time. However, we did not enjoy our stay over the christmas beak. Me and my wife stayed in the Tudor room which we have always enjoyed previously. This time we experienced a few problems.

On arrival we found there was no kettle in the room. We were gasping for a cuppa so rang the reception to ask if one could be sent to our room. We were told it would be there in 15 minutes yet 30 minutes later it had still not arrived. We tried ringing reception but the phone just rang and rang without being answered. This went on for a further 15 minutes. This was a particular concern as if someone was ringing the reception in an emergency their call would not be answered. After this I decided to go down myself to reception where I was told a kettle would be delivered right away. Finally it was, and we were able to have our cup of tea an hour after arriving.

Next we noticed a pair of reading glasses lying on the floor next to the bed. If something as obvious as this had been missed by the cleaners we worried how thorough the rest of the room had been cleaned. Also, the taps in the bathroom were in an awful state and so loose you could move them in all directions.

Things improved when we had dinner downstairs, and the food, as always was absolutely wonderful. The rest of our stay was fine but we were disappointed at the lack of attention to detail on this visit. We appreciate Christmas is a very busy time for staff, but we felt let down on this occasion.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shaneyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoodNightInns, Guest Relations Manager at Ethorpe Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear shaneyuk,

Thank you for taking the time to provide such a detailed review, we have passed your feedback to our management team so they may address the issues you have raised.

We hope that you return to the Ethorpe Hotel and receive the standards that you have become accustomed too.

Regards
Good Night Inns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    94
    59
    18
    24
See reviews for
71
81
16
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here over Christmas we didn't get the rooms we had asked for but they sorted it immediately, very impressed with that. Rooms clean and comfortable, breakfast good. Great value hotel. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grayal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoodNightInns, Guest Relations Manager at Ethorpe Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Grayal,

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and that the team were able to resolve your intial issue.

Regards
Good Night Inns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
130 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is our 2nd time at the Ethorpe, upon booking I asked for the same rooms that we had the previous time, but on arrival they had assigned us other rooms, fortunately Zoe at the reception was very friendly and flexible and we could get the requested rooms.
Only minus are still the bathroom amenities and I agree with Katrina, plumbing would need some update. It would also be great if it wouldn't be so hard to get larger plates for breakfast.
All in all a very pleasant Hotel, nice rooms, good mattresses, and friendly staff. Would recommend it again, and most certainly come again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelista15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at Ethorpe Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Travelista15,

Thank you for providing us with your review.

I have passed on your kind comments to the management team who would like to thank you for your feedback.

Kind regards

Chef & Brewer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

We recently stayed at the Ethorp hotel for one night with our 2 children when visiting friends in the area and couldn't have been more pleased with the service we received when we arrived. The receptionist even gave a separate key to our eldest son (7) which made him feel really important. The room was a suite and was lovely and spacious and we thought excellent value for the price we paid. The hotel is very centrally located on the main street and close to the railway station with direct links to London. We will definitely be staying again the future.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fran D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoodNightInns, Guest Relations Manager at Ethorpe Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Fran D,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and how the staff were able to make your family feel so special.

Regards
Good Night Inns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed on Sat 29th Dec because we were visiting friends for a party nearby and it was the closest hotel. It was a pleasant surprise....The staff (in particular Cheryl on reception) were superb, really helpful and went the extra mile to help us out and make recommendations. Someone (possibly the restaurant manager?) even overheard us asking for recommendations on where to go for brunch (as we had missed the alloted time for breakfast) and asked the kitchen staff if they would do some for us anyway - they did this despite having just started the roast lunch and without us even asking - and it was a great breakfast too :-)
It is a clean and comfortable hotel with a nice cosy pub (Chef & Brewer chain) that offers good food, and again all the waiting/bar staff were very friendly, cheerful and helpful which is rare these days! The taps were a bit lose in our room (just due to the old plumbing in the bathroom - all added to the character) - but you couldn't fault the jacuzzi bath, very powerful shower and comfy bed. Highly recommend - good value for money.

Room Tip: If you are after a romantic night one of the rooms has a four poster and jacuzzi - for only an exta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cinders95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoodNightInns, Guest Relations Manager at Ethorpe Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Cinders95,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and how our team at the Ethorpe were able to add to you experience.

Regards
Good Night Inns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, England
Level Contributor
92 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here with some friends for one night as we were at a party locally. The location is really convenient for what we needed. We arrived to a very friendly welcome from the receptionist, as did our friends, and were given the keys to our room. It was great value for money, clean and with a good comfy bed. The room was quiet and totally adequate for everything we needed.
Unfortunately, the plumbing in the hotel is pretty old, so the sink took ages to drain, and the shower unit needs some modernisation, but nothing that can't be sorted or updated in the future.
Ethorpe, a couple of minor bits of feedback: the little glass shelves are a pain right above the bathroom sink. There's not enough room to clean your teeth or wash your face, and glasses as opposed to plastic cups in the bathroom would be nicer.
Overall, we had a good sleep, in a good hotel with friendly staff.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KatrinaStamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoodNightInns, Guest Relations Manager at Ethorpe Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear KatrinaStamp,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review, we are pleased to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay. The feeback you have provided regarding the plumbing and the shelving above the sink have been passed to our management team to see how they can be addressed.

Regards
Good Night Inns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skookumchuck
Level Contributor
64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

In the week running up to Xmas I needed to be in the Slough/LHR area, and being tired of the chain hotel thing (and their exorbitant parking fees) I decided to move out into the countryside and try some of the local hotels instead. The Holiday Inn has seen the last of me! I had a great stay, albeit short, nice room, great staff, free parking, excellent Wi/Fi, super food and lovely quiet pub. Gerrards Cross is easy to get to from LHR, avoiding the motorways, and has great train access to Marylebone Station downtown London. I shall be back and may use the Ethorpe as the base for a London trip. I think I got here in 25minutes from Avis at Heathrow via Iver Heath

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DiverRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoodNightInns, Guest Relations Manager at Ethorpe Hotel, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear DiverRob,

Thank you for your review, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Ethorpe Hotel and that it was able to meet all your requirements.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Regards
Good Night Inns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gerrards Cross
0.5 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#1 of 5 in Gerrards Cross
4.0 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
2.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Gerrards Cross
Crowne Plaza Gerrards Cross
#1 of 7 in Beaconsfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Beaconsfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Denham Grove
Denham Grove
#1 of 1 in Denham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
6.2 mi away
Grovefield House
Grovefield House
#1 of 3 in Burnham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
4.1 mi away
Premier Inn Uxbridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ethorpe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ethorpe Hotel

Property: Ethorpe Hotel
Address: 85 Packhorse Road, Gerrards Cross SL9 8HX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Gerrards Cross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Gerrards Cross
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ethorpe Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Agoda, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Ethorpe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ethorpe Hotel Gerrards Cross

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing