We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and convenient”
Review of Ethorpe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ethorpe Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Gerrards Cross
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We recently stayed here for 1 night whilst down in the area for a family wedding; my parents and sister & brother in law also stayed too. Have to say it was very good value for money and we had a very good nights sleep. Our room was spacious, bed very comfy and bathroom huge, though our view from our window overlooked the service area (but not an issue at all). The floors are creaky but luckily we were not disturbed at all by other guests walking down the corridors.
Breakfast (charged extra to the room) was very good - excellent choice from continental, light choices such as poached egg on toast or a bacon sandwich to full English.
Reception lady was lovely and was very organised even when inundated with stressed wedding guests all trying to check in at the same time!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pinklady9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoodNightInns, Guest Relations Manager at Ethorpe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

Dear PinkLady9

Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the team made you feel well looked after. Your comments have been duly noted and will be passed to the Hotel Management Team for further review regarding the floor boards.

Many Thanks

Good Night Inns

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (302)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

264 - 270 of 302 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2012

A nice little place at a good price, comfortable room, good wifi. Convenient for the town and railway station. Corridor outside was a bit creaky and people walking up and down with their screaming children, but can hardly blame the hotel for that. But lady on reception was super helpful, allowing me to store my bag and park the car overnight while I went to London -- many thanks.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SJGandMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at Ethorpe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

Dear SJGandMS

Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the team made you feel well looked after. Your comments have been duly noted and will be passed to the Hotel Management Team.

Many Thanks

Good Night Inns

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Stayed here on Saturday night for a wedding being held locally. This is a Pub/Restaurant/Hotel set at the end of the main "high street" in Gerrards Cross. If you are looking for an informal, relaxed place to stay then this is ideal. Rooms are of a good size and maintained to a decent standard and we had no problems with noise either from inside or outside the hotel.Prices are reasonable, especially for the area, but do not include breakfast which costs £8 for the full English which is freshly cooked NOT buffet. My only minor issue is that check-in is not until 2.00pm which when you have a wedding at 1.30pm caused a slight problem but the staff allowed us to check-in early to get our key cards without being able to access the room. in fact my rating would only have been average but for the very friendly and helpful lady receptionist and our waiter in the morning who were both exceptional. Just be aware that the car park gets very busy as it is used by both shoppers and patrons of the Pub/restaurant - as of July 2012 they have made it a Pay and Display so make sure your parking is included.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SeanNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 9, 2012

Dear SeanNorwich,

Thanks for taking the time to provide a review following on from your recent visit, we are pleased to hear that the staff at site were very helpful and have passed your comments onto the manager of the Ethorpe Hotel.

Many Thanks
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

I have stayed at the Ethorpe many times before and the Hotel has been recently upgraded and now has even better menus and better services such as the cloud for free WIFI. You are also going to get a parking space as guests get a free space as it used to be by train and shoppers who would have to normally pay.

Rooms have been upgraded i personally found the rooms fine but had heard complaints, i have been using for 12+ years and never had an issue.

I always thought it was like living at my mums noting was too much

Room Tip: Rooms at the back on second floor are best for noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank isobelsdad1507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at Ethorpe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2012

Dear isobelsdad1507,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review of the Ethorpe Hotel, we are pleased to hear of your continued support for the Ethorpe and hope that you continue to enjoy your visits in the future.

Kind Regards

Chef & Brewer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2012

We had a one night stay at the Ethorpe Hotel. It was easy to find and well situated at the end of the town. It is set back from the road with a big hedge along its front, so it's fairly quiet for a town hotel.
The receptionists were welcoming and our room was available immediately. The room looked like it had recently had a makeover, both it and the bathroom were spotlessly clean. The bed was very comfortable and we slept very well.
WiFi was available and was quite fast and secure which we appreciated.
Breakfast was plentiful, with a choice of Continental or full English. However the quality of the croissants was dreadful. They were individually wrapped and they appeared to have microwaved from frozen as they were soggy and tough. A better option for breakfast might be one of the many cafes along the high street just down from the hotel.
There was a good choice of restaurants within walking distance if you didn't want to eat in the hotel. We ate at the Thai Rack which was about 50 metres away.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

Stayed here for one night as we were attending a friends party in the area.

The welcome was good and for us the hotel was in a great location.

The room was very spacious and very clean. The decor is dated and the bed wasn't that comfortable. We were allocated a room which was interconnecting to another room. The sound proofing was ridiculous. We may aswell have been in the same room !

We used the restaurant for drinks and the bar before we left. Good enough service but wouldnt eat there.

Nice checkout at the end. Paid a great rate for a very clean room but no wow but tomb fair there honest about what they do and they do it well enough.

Room Tip: Don't get an interconnecting room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeanMadge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoodNightInns, Brand Manager at Ethorpe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2012

Dear DeanMadge, thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the room was clean & comfortable. We noted that there are some areas we can still improve on and your feedback will be followed up with the Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

The Ethorpe used to be a lovely place to go for a drink, and served lovely food too. However after my recent visit I will never bother going there again. Simply wanting to enjoy a nice drink after work I asked for the drinks menu, as I fancied a cocktail (which I have enjoyed here previously) and am told that they no longer do cocktails. After perusing the menu for another drink I decide on a glass of prosecco, clearly stated on the menu as £3.39 a glass. I am then told that they no longer do prosecco by the glass. Being a bit peckish but not wanting to order one of their 'sharer' plates (hideously overpriced at £6.99 for ONE person, for which you get a few measly nibbles) I asked for a bag of crisps. Which I am then told they do not do. What exactly do they do?!

It seems they are trying to weed out the evening drinkers, and make it more of a restaurant, as I also noticed all the tables were set for dining when I came in, however as it was the only decent place for a drink on a long row of offices and shops, I think they are missing a trick here. While the food there has been decent when I have eaten here, I would like to feel welcome to simply sit and have a drink. nstead of leaving a satisfied customer, I left having eaten nor drunk anything.

Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank bncol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoodNightInns, Brand Manager at Ethorpe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2012

Dear Bncol, thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that your experience in the restaurant was not up to our usual standards. Your comments have been duly noted and will be followed up with the Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gerrards Cross
0.5 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#1 of 5 in Gerrards Cross
882 reviews
2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Gerrards Cross
Crowne Plaza Gerrards Cross
#1 of 7 in Beaconsfield
457 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Beaconsfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
De Vere Latimer Estate
De Vere Latimer Estate
#1 of 2 in Chesham
853 reviews
1.9 mi away
Denham Grove
Denham Grove
#1 of 1 in Denham
736 reviews
6.2 mi away
Cliveden House
Cliveden House
#1 of 2 in Taplow
1,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ethorpe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ethorpe Hotel

Address: 85 Packhorse Road, Gerrards Cross SL9 8HX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Gerrards Cross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Gerrards Cross
Price Range: $86 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ethorpe Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ethorpe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ethorpe Hotel Gerrards Cross

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing