We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“excellent lounge snacks” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bull Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Bull Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Gerrards Cross
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“excellent lounge snacks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

Just recently my wife and I have taken to having a light lunch at The Bull. The fairly new renovation has definitely and dramatically improved all aspects of the hotel.

The range of sandwiches is quite small but each is very well prepared and presented. Pricing about right. The staff are always friendly and efficient. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gerry h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarovaHotels, General Manager at The Bull Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear gerry h,

Thank you for your really positive review of The Bull Hotel.
I am very pleased to hear that you have joined the many other local guests that visit us regularly for meals in the lounge and bar areas.
If you also enjoy a spot of Jazz, we have our very popular Jazz lunch every Sunday lunchtime in Beeches Restaurant.
I am looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Warm regards,
Cliff Hasler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    291
    143
    47
    28
See reviews for
182
182
25
210
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Stayed Saturday 15/6 with my young son.. Staff were all lovely made a fuss of the boy and were very professional. Room was of an excellent size and was spotless , even though hotel was busy and they had a wedding reception there we were not disturbed once all nice and quiet
Had drinks and some food in the bar and that was excellent as was room service i had later and breakfast in the am was also top notch. I often have to stay in this area and have stayed at many hotels but this now will be my first choice.. Well run, very friendly with great service i have just booked to stay again next weekend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonJohnnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarovaHotels, General Manager at The Bull Hotel, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear LondonJohnnyc,

Thank you for your wonderful review and I am thrilled that you enjoyed your visit with us here at The Bull.

I am looking forward to welcoming you back the weekend.

Warm regards,
Cliff Hasler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milton keynes
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Stayed at The Bull Hotel June 15th while attending a family wedding. The wedding room was nicely decorated and the staff very efficient. The food at the wedding breakfast was lovely and well presented.The evening reception was well laid out and after a few beers the sausage and bacon rolls for the buffet really hit the spot ! We had booked into an executive room which was well furnished and spotlessly clean. The Hotel had laid on a private room for breakfast for the wedding party which was a nice touch. The breakfast choice was very good, fruit and cereals to the full English. The only downside was the toaster which only toasted one side of the bread but it didn't spoil a thing. All in all a lovely wedding in a picturesque venue. Would stay again if ever in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Orville_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarovaHotels, General Manager at The Bull Hotel, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Orville_8,

I am delighted that you had a lovely visit at The Bull Hotel and I will pass all your positive comments to our team.

Thank you for your observation regarding the toaster. This has now been checked and a new one is on order.

Warm regards,
Cliff Hasler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoke on trent
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

Had two nights at the Bull and found it to be very comfortable and the staff to be very helpful. The large bed was super comfortable and the room was generally of a very high standard. It is very conveniently situated for many attractions and Gerrard's Cross itself with its common right opposite the hotel was a delight to walk around. My wife and I look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ab595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarovaHotels, General Manager at The Bull Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear ab595,

Thank you very much for taking the time to upload this lovely review of The Bull Hotel, and for giving us a perfect score.

I am very happy you had a comfortable two night stay and found our staff very helpful. I have passed on your comments to our team, who were really pleased too.

I look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back for another comfortable break.

Warm regards,
Cliff Hasler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton On Trent
Level Contributor
75 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

Friendly helpful staff especially Alex on reception. Comfortable quiet room (103) with pleasant garden view and large opening windows. Only one problem, the bed legs were broken which my husband and I did not discover until late on the evening when we arrived back after being out. Propped the bed up and managed. Reported it on check out. Breakfast was plentiful with lots of choice. Ideal place to stay if visiting London. Booked room through Expedia and got excellent rate including breakfast. Large free safe car park.

Room Tip: 103 very quiet room with large opening windows overlooking back beautiful gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarovaHotels, General Manager at The Bull Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Julie081,

Thank you for your lovely review of The Bull Hotel and I am delighted that you had a pleasant stay with us.

I was sorry to learn about the bed and have already been informed that my maintenance team has addressed the issue.
Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused.

I am looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Warm regards,
Cliff Hasler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

Had 1 night stay at the Bull Hotel on the way to Heathrow Airport from the Midlands. It's a lovely looking hotel on the outside and a really impressive first impression when you walk through the door. Met by friendly staff on the reception desk and this was always the way throughout the experience, from the ladies cleaning the rooms to everyone working behind the bar and in the breakfast restaurant. The rooms are a good size and clean... and the beds... wow! Huge double bed... which is always a bonus. The only negative comment I had was that the room was absolutely scorching hot - maybe I should have looked harder for how to turn off the radiators, but it was unbearable at times. The location of the hotel is a nice 10 mins walk or so in to Gerrards Cross where there are some really nice bars and restaurants. So all in all a great time and would certainly visit again in the future.

Room Tip: Work out how to turn the heating down when you get to your room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danonthebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarovaHotels, General Manager at The Bull Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Danonthebeach,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of The Bull Hotel. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your visit with us.

I have noted your comment about the heat in your bedroom and will remind the housekeeping team to turn the radiators down after guests depart to our agreed level.

I hope to see you again when you are next in the area.

Warm regards,
Cliff Hasler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Stayed six nights at The Bull while attending a wedding in Gerrards Cross. We could not have been happier with our accommodations. The room was very nice and larger than I had been told to expect however we did book the Superior or the Executive level which I would encourage you to do as well. The staff was very helpful and the food was very nice. The place is very old in a historical sense with wonderful upgrades that make the experience even more grand. It is convenient to the main town area of Gerrards Cross including the train station which provides easy access into London. All in all a great stay. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Justaguy97420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarovaHotels, General Manager at The Bull Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Justaguy97420,

Thank you so much for your recommendation and your lovely review.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your six night visit with us here at The Bull and Gerrards Cross too.

Warm regards,
Cliff Hasler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gerrards Cross
1.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Gerrards Cross
Crowne Plaza Gerrards Cross
#1 of 7 in Beaconsfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ethorpe Hotel
Ethorpe Hotel
#2 of 5 in Gerrards Cross
3.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#1 of 2 in Amersham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The Crazy Bear Hotel - Beaconsfield
2.5 mi away
Denham Grove
Denham Grove
#1 of 1 in Denham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
4.0 mi away
Stoke Place
Stoke Place
#2 of 2 in Stoke Poges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bull Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bull Hotel

Property: The Bull Hotel
Address: Oxford Road, Gerrards Cross SL9 7PA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Gerrards Cross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Gerrards Cross
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bull Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Bull Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing