We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Battlebus”
Review of The Bull Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Bull Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Gerrards Cross
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We have used the Bull for twentyfive + years as a staging post for matches at Twickenham. We are from the Manchester area and have at least one Fri - Sun stay a season. The hotel has had extensive modernisation during that time but we have always been made welcome. The rooms are well equipped, clean and spacious. The staff are generally accommodating and the food especially breakfast is super. We sing, rugby songs, and have never had a complaint. The bar always remains open. Gerrards Cross has a variety of restaurants. Some rooms are a route march from the bars and dining room.

Room Tip: Ask for near the reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (870)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

700 - 706 of 870 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2012

We were located at the hotel during our short trip to view the palaces in London. Well organised reception and we were in our room promptly and pleasantly suprised with the overall room facilities. Evening meal a buffet style varied and plentiful offering which was repeated on the following evening. Staff very friendly and attentive.
We had a couple of weddings to contend with and the usual high spirited guests wanting to celebrate into the night.Fire works and some noise did not cause us to much trouble but might have disrupted families with small children.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Badsworthboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Needed a one-night place to be near to friends before heading off together to 80's Rewind Festival in Henly the next day, and this place more than fitted the bill. Pleasantly surprised on all fronts: room was large, well-furnished, quiet and with a big comfy bed (was worried about previous reviews which suggested old or saggy beds, but this one was new and firm). The public areas downstairs were really attractive, lots of light bright conservatories and a pretty garden out the hack. We had a roast beef sandwich in the bar before heading off, and it was delicious, and served within minutes when we told them we were in a rush. Reception staff pleasant and efficient. Breakfast was adequate, especially considering it was included in the £83 we paid for the Superior Room for the night, but certainly not the highlight, and that's the only reason for taking away one star. That said, we asked for poached eggs because the fried ones on the buffet didn't look very appetising, and they were brought freshly cooked in minutes without any quibbles, so again, they went beyond our expectations. Really recommend this place, very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Choose a Superior room - I think they're just a notch above and in a quieter part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Campoviejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We booked this hotel as part of a Legoland package and it was excellent! It's easy to get to and from Windsor and the rooms are lovely. We had a family room with a sofa bed the kids got their own little bottles of toiletries which they thought was great!

Breakfast was wonderful, lots of choice and it was all really nice, a good way to start a long day of walking around. We've done a Legoland booking before and stayed at a holiday inn because it had a pool, which we didn't get a chance to use in the end because it was closed by the time we got back from Legoland. The Bull is definately a better choice and we'll book it again next year!

Room Tip: My parents were in the older part of the hotel and didn't have air conditioning, but did have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agudle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

My partner and I stayed for 1 night on 27 July 2012 as part of a large family celebration which consisted of approx 70 people. Many of the invited guests who were treated to a most magnificient celebration dinner all of which took place at The Bull Hotel also stayed for the night.
The food was absolutely delicious and cooked to perfection and many of the guests remarked on the quality of the food and the excellent service in the restaurant. We had a large room, with a very comfortable bed which suited us perfectly. The breakfast the following morning was also delicious and plentiful being self-service. Staff were friendly and worked hard to ensure all their guests were well looked after. From our personal experience I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel highly.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ellen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Booked this hotel as it came with a package deal of free entrance into Windsor Castle. Upon arrival we were greeted by Rosa who had the most fantastic smile and most welcoming manner. She greeted us warmly and told us that our room was not ready but as it was a special occasion she had booked us a fantastic room. We had agreed previously on the phone that we would pay £20 for an upgrade to an Executive Suite but on arrival she had upgraded us to a Grand Suite. As we had arrived early in the morning we decided that we would go to Windsor Castle and spend the day in Windsor as it would be a waste of time hanging around the hotel until the room was ready. I asked for our free tickets to Windsor Castle and Danka Groenewald another lady on the desk came to our assistance and I can only commend The Bull on their front line staff. She was a lovely lady and as we are ex South Africans and she married to a South African we chatted and chatted, This was wonderful and we felt right at home. We left and went to Windsor Castle for the day....
Upon arrival back at the hotel we could not find a parking as it was evident that they had quite a few functions on the go (two weddings) and had to park around the back outside the Thames Suite (no hardship really). We got to see our room and wow this was spectacular. It had a jacuzzi bath and walk in shower, big double bed (more like king size) sitting room and all facilities were amazing. We would defintely return to this hotel and defintely try and book the same room. We did not want to leave. All little touches in the bathroom were fantastic with a shaving kit, tooth kit, mending kit, shoeshine etc etc....we definitely felt very spoilt.
We decided we were going to go out for dinner and as we had only just found the last parking we were hesitant in leaving it but decided we would ask reception what we could do if we returned and parking was gone. He suggested that he could make a sign for us adving that the parking bay was reserved and he asked Ewan (another charming gentleman on front desk) to make a sign on the computer and put it in the parking bay, so not only fantastic room but reserved parking for us.....what more could one ask for.
Only downside to this fantastic weekend was the overthrow on the bed. This was unfortunately stained in many places and this was the only mark down I could give in my guest satisfaction questionnaire which will be posted tonight together with a photograph. That was a shame but in all honesty this did not impact upon our night away and we would definitely stay here again or even contemplate having a function at this hotel as the gardens were wonderful. I hope this review is helpful to you and if you are deciding on a night away this is definitely the hotel for you. Dont hesitate to email me if you need any further information. Once again a huge thanks to ROSA, DANKA, EWAN AND ALL THE STAFF WHO MADE OUR STAY WONDERFUL. THANK YOU FROM STEVE AND I....

Room Tip: Worth paying to upgrade to an executive room as these rooms have air conditioning and all the facili...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bevalt52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Never stayed out of London before when down to visit the sights but really glad I did on this occasion. I agree, the corridors are like a warren but it is to be expected because of the age of the hotel. Our room was upgaded and it was fabulous, just wish we had been stopping for longer than the 3 nights! The hotel staff right from reception staff, restaurant staff were first class. We had to use housekeeping once and our request was met within minutes. Nice touches in the bathroom, pack razor etc for the gents, and toothbrush/paste in case you forgot to pack for your stay. The food in the restaurant for dinner was very good with a large choice to suit all needs, good also for breakfast with a choice of either English or continental with cereals, fried breakfast, fresh fruit etc and plenty of juices. The whole hotel overall is spotlessly clean. The only downside of the hotel if your stay coincides with a wedding, then take some ear plugs if you are within the vicinity of the party revellers. Ok we did have prior warning from the manager in the form of a letter in the bedroom that the wedding was to take place and that the management hoped to keep any disturbance to a minumum but having said that, they should have had personnel on every corridor to stop children and late revellers running up and down the corridors, it is totally out of order when other guests are trying to get some well earned sleep!! So, come on management team at the Bull, do something about it and look after other guests too.

Room Tip: ask for a very quiet room if there is a function taking place during your stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HAPPYHOLIDAYMAKER20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gerrards Cross
1.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Gerrards Cross
Crowne Plaza Gerrards Cross
#1 of 7 in Beaconsfield
439 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ethorpe Hotel
Ethorpe Hotel
#2 of 5 in Gerrards Cross
293 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Beaconsfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
De Vere Latimer Estate
De Vere Latimer Estate
#1 of 2 in Chesham
818 reviews
7.3 mi away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
4.0 mi away
Stoke Place
Stoke Place
#2 of 2 in Stoke Poges
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bull Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bull Hotel

Address: Oxford Road, Gerrards Cross SL9 7PA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Gerrards Cross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Gerrards Cross
Price Range: $109 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bull Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Bull Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing