We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food, but service loses a star in my review!”
Review of The Three Oaks

The Three Oaks
Reserve with OpenTable
The Three Oaks is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $33
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Bridging the gap between country inn & local restaurant, this substantial brick & timber hostelry is a handy addition to the drinking & dining scene in this gentrified part of the Chilterns. The Three Oaks is an independent and contemporary 'Gastro Pub' where the kitchen & service sets out to please winning many Awards for their efforts. The Lunch set menu offer's excellent value (£15/19 for two/three courses at lunch and dinner) running alongside the fabulous A la Carte menu and there is a Steak Club every Monday night which is not to be missed. The Sunday Roast has also been voted in the Uk's Top 50! There's also plenty of good drinking on the Corney & Barrow wine list (look for Guy de Chassey Champagne, Archaval-Ferrer Malbec, & Michiel Eradus Pinot Noir from New Zealand) alongside local Rebellion ales on tap.
Reviewed September 13, 2018

Had a business lunch here today. Two of us in the garden - enjoying a last sunny warm day before the Autumn kicks in! The garden is lovely, as is the internal décor. Would highly recommend the food - delicious. The baby squid was sublime. Lemon & garlic chicken on a corn and spring onion risotto was really tasty too.

Such a shame that the service was obviously pretty stretched, as alluded to in other reviews. Not sure what's going on here, but when the waiter says "probably a good idea to order a starter, to pass the time during the wait for the main course!" you start to worry. It really wasn't packed - it was a Thursday lunchtime. Just 2-3 tables arrived at the same time, but it seemed to be enough to cause some chaos and delay in serving the food and the staff spent a lot of time apologising to everyone about this. I would return as the food really was yummy, but don't go if in a rush!!

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank mobilelisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (749)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 44 of 749 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2018

Great food service not as good this time around but you cant have it all.Would go back even its just to have a drink,Im sure we just went on a bad night as we have had some good meals inn the past.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2018

I came with my family (2 teenagers and 2 adults) and we all opted for the Sunday Roast. No complaints on taste or quality of the food, it all tasted delicious. That is if you like sweet carrots or granola sprinkled on your veg. Personally they all tasted amazing, however my youngest teenage son, probably didn't. If you are expecting a good old fashion roast then maybe this isn't your place, however if you like it a bit different then you should try it here.
The boys at the Pork Belly, both said it was delicious although portion wise it was quite small. For £17 a roast we probably expected a bit more.
The beef was perfectly pink and a really good cut of meat.
For starters we just had some bread, which was served with a slightly salty butter and a Lemon Oil for dipping. Both delicious (again my teenage son would've preferred plain butter)
We also shared a portion of Crispy Baby Squid, wish we'd got two as the portions were quite small but delicious all the same.
The service was great, no complaints and we didn't feel rushed, even though the kitchen closed shortly after we arrived.
We didn't try the desserts as whilst they all looked delicious we just fancied a good old fashioned ice cream.
The house wine was fantastic and at £19 a bottle was really affordable.
We will definitely visit again.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sophia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2018

Visited for Sunday lunch and can categorically state that this is the best Sunday Lunch I have ever had, outside of home.

Three of us had the carvery, all very well presented, fantastic cuts of meat and excellent vegetables, yorkshire pud etc. All food was well cooked, not overdone, just perfect.

Dessert was equally well presented, chocolate custard and ice cream was to die for and the cheese board was an interesting presentation with extraordinarily well picked cheeses with accompanying honey, chutney etc.

The staff could not have been more helpful and made lunch a pleasure. Well done.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Redlanyard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2018

The food at this gastro pub is always delicious. There is a great set menu option plus lovely dishes a la carte. The environment is great too and lovely outside in the summer. The staff are always engaging and well versed on the dishes which change regularly so its a place that is always worth visiting often - and we do! Their sister restaurant No.15 at Beaconsfield compliments this pub beautifully so the owners have got it spot on.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Stephanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Three Oaks also viewed

Chalfont St Peter, Gerrards Cross
Gerrards Cross, Buckinghamshire
 
Gerrards Cross, Buckinghamshire
Seer Green, Beaconsfield
 
Beaconsfield, Buckinghamshire
Gerrards Cross, Buckinghamshire
 

Been to The Three Oaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing