We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little disappointed-”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Villiers Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villiers Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Buckingham
Certificate of Excellence
Rotherham
Level Contributor
111 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A little disappointed-”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

This is my second time of staying here after thoroughly enjoying my previous stay. My disappointment this time was the poor attention and repair of electrical appliances.
Firstly the fridge was not working, when reported to the reception I was informed, 'I do not think that fridge is working'- so why were we put in this room? Then the thermostat on the iron was faulty and I burnt a hole in my dress- horror! Not just any dress but my favourite evening black number( ladies will feel my pain on this ) I took the iron out of the room to ensure no one kiss would have the problem I had just experienced, took it to reception where I handed it in. Received an 'oh no, but no apology or expression of concern .
The dining and bar staff are first class , the food very good but I did feel concerned about the maintenance programme of the hotel in particular as previously stated around the appliances.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gert47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    160
    68
    23
    6
See reviews for
59
267
11
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a 2 night break on a special deal. We were directed to our room which was of a very good size and it was clean and tidy. A couple of light bulbs didn't work but that was not a problem to us. Our evening meals were included in the price and on the first night ate from the Market menu. I have an intolerance to milk products and made sure that what I ate was going to be ok for me but unfortunately I was unwell the next morning but put it down to a blip. Only managed to eat a bacon sarnie for breakfast which was a shame as there was a good choice of cooked breakfasts.That evening we ate from the A la Carte menu and I was having difficulty choosing my courses. We were served by a different waitress this time and she extremely attentive pointing out that I could eat from the Market menu again but not to have so and so starter (which was the item I'd chosen the previous evening!!!) Oops!!
Breakfast the next morning for me was smoked haddock with 2 generous portions but alas a hard boiled egg!
My bill was ready for me early on the morning we left which was what I had asked for the previous night and we had a late check out time of 11am, which was perfect for us.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phyl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We enjoyed a wonderful weekend at this hotel, an old coaching inn with some modernisation. The food was of a very good standard, and we started our short break with a most delightful lunch. Our experience of sampling the food and drinks included the lunchtime and dinner menus, breakfast on two mornings and the room service with food and drink on two occasions. Our room was very comfortable. We found the staff very friendly, helpful and attentive throughout our stay. Access for those with mobility restrictions are quite well provided for, although there is room for improvement, for example, entry to the accommodation across the courtyard has a ramp to the thresh-hold but a significant drop the other side as no 'downward' ramp is provided. Not sure if the menu changes very often as this was our first visit to The Villiers Hotel but the same menu for lunch / dinner would not attract us to a stay exceeding 2 days / nights. Many attractions in the area would ensure a return visit to this hotel. Our first impressions of a good venue remained throughout our stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobalG55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

This was an ideal meeting place for six friends from different parts of the country. The set Sunday lunch was delicious and service excellent. The choice was varied and value for money. Although h none of us stayed overnight, the location is ideal for exploring a beautiful part of England, with Stowe Landscape Gardens 10 minutes drive away.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanS1750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrsRBuckinhamshire, General Manager at Villiers Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for visiting us for Sunday Lunch and to read that you and your friends had an enjoyable time. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed here for a wedding down the road.
On arrival the receptionist was rude and didn't give us any information not even our room number or what way to go to our room and if you don't know where your going good luck finding it.
We paid £150 B&B for 1 night I can now officially say it is not worth that much, we would have received better treatment and a Premier Inn. The rooms are a good size but are not nice the view out of the window was of cars that enjoyed moving early in the morning. The carpets where disgusting and didn't even reach the door so had to be careful when leaving room. We went to the bar when we arrived back were the bar man was rude and kept muttering under is breath. When we wen o check out and our bill was not what we was expecting we realised that the rude bar man had been putting everything to our room with out our permission. The staff are so unfriendly. I asked for some hrs to be brought up to the room I'm still waiting they never arrived. Breakfast was us disgusting 1 sausage 1 small egg 1 slice of bacon and a small amount of beans and mushrooms and the toast was burnt an crumbed when you touched it. Over all I would never be going back here the service was terrible food disgusting ad rooms dirty.
I would love for a manger to contact me. If it wasn't for a family occasion I would ave checked out the night before an stayed somewhere else.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near reception or you will be walking for what feels like miles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Harrie-jeanpower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrsRBuckinhamshire, General Manager at Villiers Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Following this review I have tried to contact you, to discuss your stay but to no avail. The drinks bill you make reference to, you had signed for all the drinks that had been tranferred to your room account. Other points you make are your subjective view; we have received compliments from other members of your party. Please contact me if you wish to discuss this matter further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed for a 2 night break, dinner bed & breakfast,a Travelzoo deal. Superb hotel, very welcoming, helpfult service. The 3 course dinner was well above average hotel quality. Charming, Jacobean surroundings. Spacious relaxing lounge area. Our bedroom was spacious, well equipped, comfortable. Only small niggle, room was on the warm side. Would definitely stay again. Buckingham is an attractive small town which is clearly overlooked by tourists. All the better for it !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roy7945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrsRBuckinhamshire, General Manager at Villiers Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. So pleased to read you had an enjoyable stay with us and found the time to explore our little market town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Wife and I stayed 3-4th August 2013 in Room 116. Reception area nice and receptionist helpful. Carpets on route to room very dirty and threadbare on some of the stairs. First impression of room was very nice but we quickly noted stringy black cobweb hanging from one downlighter, tear in net curtain, bulb not working in bathroom, toilet bowl not very clean around rim and a lot of lime scale on basin tap. One curtain pull was also found broken. Only 2 ordinary and 2 decaf coffees and I pack of biscuits for 2 people. Breakfast was good and freshly cooked, Breakfast staff were pleasant. Did not use bar or restaurant. Could be very nice with a little attention to detail.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dale H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrsRBuckinhamshire, General Manager at Villiers Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for your comments, the hotel refurbishment programme is progressing to include the corridors too. Thank you for bringing matters to my attention about the issues you have found within the guest room which I have addressed and offer my sincere apologies. Pleased to read that you had enjoyed breakfast and our hospitality during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buckingham
0.0 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#4 of 4 in Buckingham
292 reviews
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Buckingham Hotel
5.6 mi away
Whittlebury Hall
Whittlebury Hall
#3 of 3 in Towcester
2,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Premier Inn Silverstone
Premier Inn Silverstone
#1 of 2 in Silverstone
569 reviews
14.3 mi away
Deddington Arms Hotel
Deddington Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Deddington
488 reviews
6.8 mi away
De Vere Horwood Estate
De Vere Horwood Estate
#1 of 1 in Little Horwood
1,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villiers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villiers Hotel

Property: Villiers Hotel
Address: 3 Castle Street, Buckingham MK18 1BS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Aylesbury Vale > Buckingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Buckingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Villiers Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villiers Hotel has a 4 Star AA classification. The hotel has a 450 year history from being an important main coaching inn in the 16th century to a delightfully refurbished hotel today. Designed around a cobbled courtyard, the hotel has 49 bedrooms individually designed and including suites, and executive rooms. The restaurant has been awarded 2 rosettes by the AA for innovative fresh food dining, and offers an eclectic a la carte menu as well as the fixed price 3 course Market Menu. The real ale bar is popular with guests and locals alike who appreciate its real log fire and delicious bar menu. The hotel also encapsulates Buckingham's Old Town Hall also full refurbished for conferencing and weddings. Car Parking is extensive and freely available for customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Villiers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Classic Hotel Buckingham
Buckingham Classic Hotel
Classic Hotel Villiers
Villiers Hotel Buckingham, Buckinghamshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing