We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely short break”
Review of Villiers Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villiers Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Buckingham
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed between boxing day and the new year and had a lovely break at Villiers, nice premier room, good food and helpful staff. Free tickets inc. for Bletchley park where we had a brilliant day out . Buckingham a delightful interesting village to stay in, cannot wait to go back for another break with hotel, had good rates and extras that we didnt expect.

Room Tip: Book a premier room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynne037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (518)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

365 - 371 of 518 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2013

Villiers used to be ‘the’ place to go for a special occasion but over the last few years I don’t think I know anyone who has been there and not commented on the lackadaisical service which is really what lets the place down. The staff are pleasant enough but lack experience or initiative (or both) and there simply aren’t enough of them, which means service is often very slow.

The food had always been good (see my previous review!) but my last experience on Christmas Day was very disappointing. The starter was pleasant but the main and dessert were mediocre at best. There was a distinct lack of a Christmassy feel (the black theme would have been better suited to New Years Eve than Christmas Day although I appreciate this is personal taste) but if it weren't for the crackers etc. on the table you wouldn't have known it was Christmas Day!

Overall the lunch fell very short of my expectations – perhaps they were too high or perhaps Villiers needs to make more effort to provide a better dining experience rather than relying on its previously good reputation. There are many other local restaurants that do a much better job (and some with much less experience!) and this is the reason I won’t be returning to Villiers in the foreseeable future.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank ChunkyChicken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

I stayed at this wonderful hotel for the night as a treat to my husband for giving me such a lovely Christmas, the food was second to none, the room was perfect in every way, we had the Hayloft Suite, worth every penny spent very quaint.
The staff were attentive, helpful but gave you space as well.
Couldn't fault the place

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda_Ranter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

I stayed at the Villiers Hotel recently post the annual company Christmas Party. Buckingham is quaint medium sized market town, with plenty of charm. The Villiers fits in perfectly.

The hotel offers plenty of rooms all very tasteful and comfortable. I dinned across the road in the county hall so cannot comment on the dinning, other than at breakfast the food was freshly cooked and served which is a pleasant surprise for the price band, as opposed to a serve yourself facility.

If you need to be in Buckingham on business or pleasure, there is no better place to stay.
I stayed at the Villiers Hotel recently post the annual company Christmas Party. Buckingham is quaint medium sized market town, with plenty of charm. The Villiers fits in perfectly.

The hotel offers plenty of rooms all very tasteful and comfortable. I dinned across the road in the county hall so cannot comment on the dinning, other than at breakfast the food was freshly cooked and served which is a plesent surprize for the price band, as opposed to a serve yourself facility.

If you need to be in Buckingham on business or pleasure, there is no better place to stay.

Room Tip: Limited parking try to book a space
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeremy_hartigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

If you want character then Villiers Hotel has it in spades. A very old house converted to a hotel with lovely spacious and well appointed bedrooms. The restaurant serves very imaginative food and the staff are extremely helpful. Excellent breakfasts served from 7.00am (even on a Saturday). Very restful night's sleep.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lizacate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

We've just returned from a two day break in Buckingham.The Villiers Hotel is full of old world charm but with modern comforts.Our room was warm ,spacious and nicely furnished,bathroom very clean and with white fluffy towels.The food was excellent,which pleased my husband no end.The staff were friendly and always smiling.Our package included two tickets for Bletchley Park(home of the codebreakers) just ten miles up the road .If you want to explore the tourist attractions of Buckinghamshire you could do no better than stay at the Villiers Hotel.We would certainly return.

Room Tip: Room overlooking courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jdevans08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Booked two adjacent rooms. Fairly clean rooms and good size. Take your own soap and shampoo – very basic what they supply. Shower OK and teh bathroom was sort of clean.

Most disappointing was the restaurant – we arrived at 2pm so were starving. The only people in the restaurant on a Friday lunchtime. Perhaps the 17.95 for fish & chips kept people away or 11.95 for burger & chips. Burger was nice but the chips cold and looked like they had been prepared off premises. Paying 100 pounds for a very very basic lunch for 4 people was way too excessive and extremely bad value for money.

Breakfast was OK – don’t expect too much. Service also very basic – had to wait a while just to get a cup of coffee.

The buffet had cereal packets a few tubs of yogurt and a few sad looking croissants. Hot breakfast was ok but nothing to write home about.

The location is excellent and it’s nice to see a hotel not ripping you off with crazy internet charges. The wifi worked well all around the hotel and also the free parking was convenient.

Not good value overall.

Room Tip: Lift is very very slow. Try and avoid 2nd floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shafiq H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrsRBuckinhamshire, General Manager at Villiers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

Thank you for your comments made on Trip Advisor. I am pleased that you enjoyed some aspects of your stay with us here at Villiers. However, I am deeply saddened that you were not happy with your restaurant experience, in particular not being happy with the price of the lunch menu. Both Lunch and Dinner Menus are at different price points with the Lunchtime Market Menu starting in price from £12.95 for a 2 course meal and £16.95 for a 3 course meal, items on the a la carte menu are individually priced. All our food is fresh, locally sourced where possible, prepared within our hotel kitchen by our award winning chef brigade using the best quality ingredients. I note your comments regarding the breakfast offering and would like to mention that Breakfast is cooked to order rather than having a fully serviced buffet style of catering.

Our team here at Villiers are dedicated to customer service and guest satisfaction alike and to this end we hope that you will allow us the opportunity to restore your faith in Villiers Hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buckingham
0.8 mi away
Best Western Buckingham Hotel
0 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#4 of 4 in Buckingham
326 reviews
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Buckingham
Travelodge Buckingham
#2 of 4 in Buckingham
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Whittlebury Hall
Whittlebury Hall
#3 of 3 in Towcester
2,612 reviews
9.2 mi away
The Saracens Head Hotel
The Saracens Head Hotel
#2 of 3 in Towcester
455 reviews
11.5 mi away
Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villiers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villiers Hotel

Address: 3 Castle Street, Buckingham MK18 1BS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Aylesbury Vale > Buckingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Buckingham
Price Range: $53 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villiers Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villiers Hotel has a 4 Star AA classification. The hotel has a 450 year history from being an important main coaching inn in the 16th century to a delightfully refurbished hotel today. Designed around a cobbled courtyard, the hotel has 49 bedrooms individually designed and including suites, and executive rooms. The restaurant has been awarded 2 rosettes by the AA for innovative fresh food dining, and offers an eclectic a la carte menu as well as the fixed price 3 course Market Menu. The real ale bar is popular with guests and locals alike who appreciate its real log fire and delicious bar menu. The hotel also encapsulates Buckingham's Old Town Hall also full refurbished for conferencing and weddings. Car Parking is extensive and freely available for customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Villiers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Classic Hotel Buckingham
Buckingham Classic Hotel
Classic Hotel Villiers
Villiers Hotel Buckingham, Buckinghamshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing