We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Villiers Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villiers Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Buckingham
Certificate of Excellence
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Absolutely Outstanding”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

The Villiers Hotel offers outstanding service and food. Very professional attitude by staff, all aspects of the hotel was impressive. Delightful rooms and the restaurant was exceptionally good. Wonderful choice, well presented.

We went on a break there for two days and it was two fantastic days. The area is very nice. Lots of golf and shopping. This hotel is highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helenwadd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    160
    68
    23
    6
See reviews for
59
267
11
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We booked in as we were guests at a local wedding. The Villers Hotel was a delight. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We had dinner in the Hotel on the Friday night and chose from the 'Market Place' menu. This was so good and the value incredible £20.95 for 3 courses. Fabulous.
The breakfast was equally as good with a great selection all well prepared and cooked. Thank you for 2 very good nights!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

went on a travelzoo break with friends for 2 nights Dinner B&B, and had a relaxing and comfortable time. Room very pleasant and spacious, and quiet except for what i think is a boiler which fires up regularly, (previous reviews mention lift may have been that)
we preferred the 'market' menu dinner but both excellent(especially consideringthey are inc in price) There were chocs and card for our anniversary which was a nice touch. would definately return, or try another in the group

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sopranoLCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights on a travelzoo deal which included full English Breakfast and evening meal on both nights. Stayed in a lovely room which was very spacious and clean, staff very friendly and the food was excellent on both nights. I would definitely stay here again and would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerryann08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basildon,Essex
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed for a 2 night travelzoo deal wth friends & were not disappointed, the hotel is full of character (it used to be an old coaching house) and has a jacobean style bar area, a lovely restaurant with friendly staff & a big thanks to Matt who made us feel welcome when dining,and always made time for a chat & a laugh.The food is top notch & with a good choice well worthy of the 2 AA Rosette award.Rooms were spacious clean & comfortable with a large bathroom & always plenty of hot water.we will definately try & return for another break at some point.All in all a fantastic stay.

Room Tip: upgrade to a superior room for that little bit 'extra'
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights just after the olympics in sept. and I've got to say what a top hotel this is!!!
To the warm welcome from the desk staff, and the spacious comfortable room, then the 5* dining experience, what else could you ask for, plus you get your own little private parking bay (if there not all taken).
so although theres not much to see in Buckingham itself, apart from Stowe gardens, its a great place to stay if your thiking of visiting the Cotswolds, Oxford etc.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryanres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
333 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Like many others, my wife and I have recently enjoyed a ‘Travel Zoo’ break at the Villiers Hotel, Buckingham. Having helped to move our daughter in to her new university accommodation in Oxford, the chance of a sneaky break before returning home was too good to miss. We opted for a superior room with a supplement of £20 per night. Our room was on the first floor. It was spacious and comfortable. There was a fridge in the room which was an added bonus. The mattress was a touch soft for our liking although this is a matter of personal preference. The bathroom was large with everything working perfectly. The room was very quiet, except for the distant rumbling of the lift, which seemed to be going up and down quite frequently in the small hours. Odd, as we heard no foot traffic passing along the corridor.

In the evening, we ate in the restaurant. This was completely full on the first night so it is well worth booking your preferred time to eat as soon as you check in. The food was of an extremely high standard. The menu, although not extensive, provided ample variety. Service was attentive and friendly. Breakfast again was of a very high standard – plenty to choose from and cooked very well. You could choose traditional ‘full English’. There were kippers and haddock to be had, as well as continental, with lots of fruit, yoghurts and cereals.

A couple of points which may prove helpful to the hotel management: the wifi was far less than reliable in the room, frequently dropping out. It was much more robust in the public areas in the hotel. The offer of free entry to Stowe Gardens is an added attraction if you are not members of the National Trust. However, if guests are members this is somewhat irrelevant – it is highly likely to have been already (it makes for a fantastic day out if you have never seen Stowe – the gardens are magnificent). I understand that the hotel has previously had an arrangement to give free entry to Bletchley Park. Personally, this would have been much more appealing. Finally, it was a particular thrill to have a door held open for me by an ex-England international rugby union winger (who seemed to be a guest at the hotel). What a gentleman!

We thought the whole stay was a bargain. Having previously stayed at another of the Oxfordshire-hotels group properties in Aynho, it is clear that within the group there is an emphasis on quality and the personal touch. We felt that the whole staff was totally signed up to making their guests stay a most enjoyable experience. We will undoubtedly sample the other two hotels in the near future.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Owen_thesaints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buckingham
0.0 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#4 of 4 in Buckingham
292 reviews
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Buckingham Hotel
5.6 mi away
Whittlebury Hall
Whittlebury Hall
#3 of 3 in Towcester
2,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Premier Inn Silverstone
Premier Inn Silverstone
#1 of 2 in Silverstone
569 reviews
14.3 mi away
Deddington Arms Hotel
Deddington Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Deddington
488 reviews
6.8 mi away
De Vere Horwood Estate
De Vere Horwood Estate
#1 of 1 in Little Horwood
1,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villiers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villiers Hotel

Property: Villiers Hotel
Address: 3 Castle Street, Buckingham MK18 1BS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Aylesbury Vale > Buckingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Buckingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Villiers Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villiers Hotel has a 4 Star AA classification. The hotel has a 450 year history from being an important main coaching inn in the 16th century to a delightfully refurbished hotel today. Designed around a cobbled courtyard, the hotel has 49 bedrooms individually designed and including suites, and executive rooms. The restaurant has been awarded 2 rosettes by the AA for innovative fresh food dining, and offers an eclectic a la carte menu as well as the fixed price 3 course Market Menu. The real ale bar is popular with guests and locals alike who appreciate its real log fire and delicious bar menu. The hotel also encapsulates Buckingham's Old Town Hall also full refurbished for conferencing and weddings. Car Parking is extensive and freely available for customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Villiers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Classic Hotel Buckingham
Buckingham Classic Hotel
Classic Hotel Villiers
Villiers Hotel Buckingham, Buckinghamshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing