We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much more to this hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Villiers Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villiers Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Buckingham
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Much more to this hotel”
Reviewed February 24, 2012

We went to the Villiers on a special offer including tickets to Bletchley Park. The rooms were much more interesting than the norm and we had a triangular bathroom! Everything worked and the service was impecable. Food was great too.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank felicia333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    160
    68
    23
    6
See reviews for
59
267
11
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Somerset
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

We went to this hotel with three other couples and spent two nights here. The rooms were very spacious and very pleasant. It was a freezing weekend and some of our party found their rooms were cold, but warmed up quickly on adjusting the heating. Our room was fine throughout. The staff were very pleasant and the food was delicious. We were very impressed with the choice of menu on both days and the presentation was impeccable. The inclusion of the tickets for Bletchley Park with this deal was a bonus. We all found it absolutely fascinating! Overall a very pleasant weekend.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cazzer58Somerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We went to this hotel for the weekend with another three couples. It was really good. All the staff were very pleasant and helpful.

The food and service in the restaurant was excellent. we all remarked on what a great place it was!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kake18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2012

My wife and I stayed for a couple of nights including dinner last week-ending the 12th Feb 2012. Very pleasant staff, nice room, good nights sleep. It was freezing that week-end so we were glad we were eating at their restaurant as everywhere was icy. The restaurant could have done with more heating on both days. The 'a la carte' menu was fairly good and the service was fast. Very courteous & friendly and enthusiastic Polish waiter/manager in the evenings. On the 2nd day we had the Market menu which was not so good and the variety for me was far too limited on both main course and deserts. Two AA rosettes seemed slightly over rated. Breakfasts were ok but the slowness on the 2nd day, ie Sunday was atrocious it took over an hour to be served---they forgot our order.
It was a shame because the hotel is comfortable and the lounge area is relaxing and the staff try very hard to please.
A couple of things on which they could improve. having to walk through the bar area to go for breakfast/dinner is not pleasant and the entrance to the hotel from the car parking area could do with a good clean up and a coat of paint as could the walls from reception to the rooms.
Overall, however, the hotel is quite traditional and pleasantly old fashioned so you get a nice feel about the place and reception is particularly helpful on a Sunday morning.
Buckingham is close to Stowe House so this hotel is ideally situated for a visit to the wonderful grounds and architecture there. You get a free pass to Bletchley with this deal but Stowe was so wonderful we did not use it, maybe another time.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DickieGreenleaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, England
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2012

We stayed here for a weekend away to take in a Sublime Webb Sisters concert in nearby Tingewick.

Everything worked well, except that we arrived on the Friday in just about the worst weather of the recent cold snap! The hotel and bar seemed to cope well and were warm and cosy, but the bedroom was like an icebox. To the extent that my wife got very little sleep.

We then tend to judge by how well an establishment deals with a problem. After an initial half hearted attempt to blame us for not understanding the heating system, the staff then went into 'nothing is too much trouble' mode: for the second night we had a separate stand alone heater and two extra blankets on the bed and wife slept just fine, except when she had to get up to switch the heater off......

Bar was cheerful and crowded. Not a great fan of the MTV enjoyed by the young bar staff, but the tv soon switched to international rugby and all seemed happy with that.

We would stay here again if we have a commitment within 20 miles of the hotel.

Room Tip: We had room 103 which was spacious and overlooked the internal courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Queenscout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaftesbury
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2012

It was after 5.30 when 4 of us went to the Villiers in the hope of getting a cuppa. Not only did they provide tea (and a coffee) but, when asked, they said they could make scones for us which they did. So there we were on a dark damp night eating freshly baked scones, cream & jam by a warming open fire! The staff were friendly and it seemed that nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gill and David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leatherhead
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2012

I recently stayed at this hotel for 1 night on a business trip. The rooms were very pleasant with an older, more traditional independent hotel feel. The staff were all very nice and helpful and the standard of professionalism was impressive. The overall cleanliness of the hotel was very impressive. I did have trouble sleeping but this was due to another noisy guest in the next room. My room was also above the bin area so i was woken up by the noise of the bins being emptied very early in the morning. The breakfast was lovely and the choice of menu was impressive. I enjoyed staying in this hotel but i would suggest you request a room away from the bin area.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danmagnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buckingham
0.0 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#4 of 4 in Buckingham
292 reviews
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Buckingham Hotel
5.6 mi away
Whittlebury Hall
Whittlebury Hall
#3 of 3 in Towcester
2,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Premier Inn Silverstone
Premier Inn Silverstone
#1 of 2 in Silverstone
569 reviews
14.3 mi away
Deddington Arms Hotel
Deddington Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Deddington
488 reviews
6.8 mi away
De Vere Horwood Estate
De Vere Horwood Estate
#1 of 1 in Little Horwood
1,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villiers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villiers Hotel

Property: Villiers Hotel
Address: 3 Castle Street, Buckingham MK18 1BS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Aylesbury Vale > Buckingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Buckingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Villiers Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villiers Hotel has a 4 Star AA classification. The hotel has a 450 year history from being an important main coaching inn in the 16th century to a delightfully refurbished hotel today. Designed around a cobbled courtyard, the hotel has 49 bedrooms individually designed and including suites, and executive rooms. The restaurant has been awarded 2 rosettes by the AA for innovative fresh food dining, and offers an eclectic a la carte menu as well as the fixed price 3 course Market Menu. The real ale bar is popular with guests and locals alike who appreciate its real log fire and delicious bar menu. The hotel also encapsulates Buckingham's Old Town Hall also full refurbished for conferencing and weddings. Car Parking is extensive and freely available for customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Villiers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Classic Hotel Buckingham
Buckingham Classic Hotel
Classic Hotel Villiers
Villiers Hotel Buckingham, Buckinghamshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing