We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Upmarket But Relaxed”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bucca - CLOSED

Bucca
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Situated on two floors, Bucca offers two distinct dining experiences: The ground floor PANTRY - A modern casual dining space to meet greet and drink, serving deliciously simple food. First floor DINING ROOM - intimate and relaxed atmosphere with a brasserie-style menu.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Upmarket But Relaxed”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Four food-obsessed girlfriends on a Friday lunchtime sharing different things from both the upstairs and downstairs menu because everything looked so inviting and a little different.

Flatbread with 'shito' and romesco sauce a beautiful start. Quite spicy but we were warned!

Amazing salad of super foods. A real mix of beans, shoots, leaves and flavour. Chicken was marinated to perfection and you could taste each flavour right through the meat.

My favourite was the black pudding cake from the main menu. Beautifully presented and delicious.

Excellent service, food to die for and lovely atmosphere. Definitely attracts the private school mum set at lunchtime. Upmarket but very relaxed.

Buckingham needed this restaurant. Classy.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mothers_wisdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    11
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Gem of a restaurant”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Exceptional experience from start to finish. This is a sharp little restaurant that would do well in London. The locals are very lucky!
Warmly welcomed. Staff knowledgable and passionate about the menu. Food is refreshingly different, well cooked and well presented. Very impressive.

Ate in the main dining room upstairs which is very cosy and tastefully decorated. The downstairs dining room has a very different but equally comfortable vibe and We're looking forward to trying that menu too on our next visit that way.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SugaBee72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, UK
Level Contributor
64 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“massively underwhelmed”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Despite a friendly, helpful and welcoming waiter we were disappointed by beautifully presented but completely undressed salads and horribly slow service. Having just enjoyed a gift of lardo from Italy, I chose the lardo pizza but it was tough and sat uncomfortably on a rather dry pizza base. It wasn't enjoyable until the lardo had been melted right into it. This is not as it was intended to be eaten but improved the flavour no end! Shame it took 20 minutes to get it back to me, by which time my friends had finished eating. Maybe they will do better when they have been open a bit longer.The lunch menu looks promising so perhaps we just chose badly. At least we weren't rushed and had plenty of time to sit and talk in a comfortable setting.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gathornegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Welcoming and warm”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

A very special evening. Really good atmosphere, wonderful food, welcoming and attentive staff. Definitely return.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Simi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Excellent service, perfectly cooked steak and well chosen wines. Ambience was fitting and pleasant. We are planning our next visit with friends.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrFAKhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bucca also viewed

Maids Moreton, Aylesbury Vale
 
Preston Bissett, Aylesbury Vale
Padbury, Aylesbury Vale
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing