We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Just what we wanted”
Two Single Beds
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Two Single Beds
Stunning Location - Close to numerous attractions- 1.5 hour  to Central London Open Plan Harvest Moon Barn
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
55 reviews
Two Single Beds
Stunning Location - Close to numerous attractions- 1.5 hour  to Central London
Open Plan Harvest Moon Barn
One Level - spacious
Cosy Living Room
Character Barn
Old Pine Bedroom Furniture
Cosy in Winter
Loads to visit in Buckinghamshire
Set in the quiet Countryside
Corner Bath and shower
Towels included
View from the Bedroom
Double Bedroom
Welcome to Harvest Moon Barn
Driveway to Harvest Moon and Winters Tale Only
Harvest Moon Barn - Well hidden, worth finding
Large Private Garden
Evening sun in Private Garden
Harvest Time
Winters Tale Farmhouse
Have an English Cream Tea in the garden
'Suchard' in Winters Tale Farmhouse Garden
Bletchley Park - 20minutes away by car
Morse's Oxford 35minutes away
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Buckingham, Aylesbury Vale, Buckinghamshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 55 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Jan L
Portbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Just what we wanted”
Reviewed October 26, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We had only 3 nights at the Harvest Moon Barn but everything was just right for us. The peaceful location is excellent, and in easy reach of so many wonderful places to visit. Well appointed, lovely and cosy, a joy to return to after a day of sightseeing. Christine is very friendly and greeted us on arrival with useful information about the area as well as leaving us with a generous basketful of provisions to get us started. Can definitely recommend and look forward to returning one day.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Comfortable cottage in an ideal situation”
Reviewed September 18, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Very comfortable cottage, in a beautiful position. Christine made us feel very welcome. There are plenty of places to visit in the local area. We had an enjoyable week, Would recommend a visit.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect retreat”
Reviewed September 6, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

The cottage was perfect., set in a beautiful location of open farmland. The welcome basket was a lovely surprise and we were made very welcome by Christine.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dancingas...
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Superb accommodation in idyllic setting”
Reviewed July 10, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

The barn is located not far from Buckingham with a host of National Trust places nearby as well as Bletchley Park. It is easy to travel to Oxford and even London if you can force yourself away from the idyllic setting of the barn.
We arrived up the long track after a false start due to sat nav and our fatigue, to be warmly welcomed by Christine, the owner. She showed us into the barn and ran through a few things, all helpful.
The amenities in the barn are excellent. The bedrooms are a decent size with great storage and wardrobes with decent coat hangers! The bathroom was spacious with a fabulous corner bath, great for relaxing after a hard day's sightseeing. A very efficient walk in shower as well and an ideal bathroom cabinet above the sink.
The main living area was capacious and the kitchen well appointed. I was impressed with the filter coffee machine and the combo microwave as well as a full oven. The crowning delight was a fridge freezer complete with ice cube trays all ready to go! If you were doing lots of your own cooking you could easily store plenty of frozen items. In fact we used it to freeze some of the bread Christine left us and re freeze our cool bag items.Lovely fish flowers were a welcome sight too.
Steeple Claydon a couple of miles away has an excellent Co Op, a great fish and chip shop and bakery. The info booklet Christine left is excellent and you will not go wrong using it.
We also found a very cheap car park behind Waitrose in Buckingham in Cornwall Place(?) This was free after 5 p.m and all day Sunday. We used it to park going out for dinner to The Garage restaurant in Well Street, great food, very laid back atmosphere. It is definitely not a fast food place. You can try one of their delicious cocktails or wines, spirits galore if you just want a drink. It has an upstairs too.We had another delicious meal and great service in The Old Thatched Inn at Adstock.
The week we stayed was glorious weather from start to end so we made full use of the garden furniture and thoroughly enjoyed evenings out there. However we did look at the well stocked book case and DVD collection provided and played Connect 4 in the garden. Going there in poor weather would not hamper your enjoyment with those games etc provided and snuggling in front of the fabulous log burner would be divine. The sofa and easy chairs were extremely comfortable and as someone with a back issue it was lovely to be comfy. The dining table and chairs were also well thought out and comfy too. There was a goody basket which we really appreciated especially as I had forgotten the tea and coffee in my overtired state. In our basket were scrumptious cookies, tea ,coffee, sugar, a large white loaf ,sliced, which was lovely. It made great sandwiches and delicious toast in the excellent toaster. In the fridge was fresh milk and some spread, all handy and saved us going straight out to the Co Op.
Under the sink were various useful items including fly spray and ant spray along with cleaning products.
All in all we felt lucky to have found this place.
Christine and her family were very friendly and we saw someone every day to chat to which was nice. It was an exciting time too as one son was getting married so we were able to observe various bits of the preparation, our own daughter had just been married the previous week so it was lovely to share in their excitement, seeing the marquee up one day when we got back was wonderful.
Alistair was often around too helping out and he told us that a film crew were in nearby Winslow so we took a peek, hoping to get an extras part lol, but watched with interest how the main square was transformed into a post war village.
We would recommend you explore some of the nearby villages. We enjoyed a good wander round Haddeham, try Little Italy for great coffee and food. We walked from the village centre to Tiggiwinkles animal hospital which was interesting.
Claydon House and the church were lovely to visit as were Waddesdon Manor and Stowe. We paid a brief visit to Thame which had a good main street of shops.
We would love to go back to the barn so that says it all really. It has quite an effect watching the stunning sunsets, the hot air balloon floating across one glorious evening, the red kites and of course the naught rabbits looking to eat all Christine and Bill's gorgeous flowers. We even met Dragon the Great Dane and some of Christine's labradors including one who resided in Steeple Claydon ( we got chatting to the owner who was waiting with her dog and knew Christine well, true village life).
We arrived exhausted and left uplifted in mind and spirit so thank you Christine and Co.
P.S. We used the telegraph pole as our guide to the entrance for the barn.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRADYBOOT...
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect rural retreat”
Reviewed June 26, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
2
people found this review helpful

In the middle of the Buckinghamshire countryside, Harvest moon barn, part of the the winters tale farmhouse, has peace and tranquility in abundance. We sat and watched the local fox playing in the fields; three hares boxing outside the window and had constant entertainment from the local bunnies. The welcome and friendliness from owner Christine was second to none. The barn is equipped with all that you might need and extremely comfortable. We also appreciated the welcome pack of tea, bread, milk etc on arrival. Despite its attractive isolation H M barn is well placed for a host of accessible attractions from Clayton House NT on the doorstep to Waddesdon and Stowe a little further afield. Then there's Bletchley, Woburn and Whipsnade. Trips to Oxford and London are also possible. But after a day out coming back to H M barn is a treat. And bring your binoculars for the unspoilt views of the night sky - no street light which is most unusual in the S E of England. All in all a gem of a place.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nannyanni...
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Holiday Heaven”
Reviewed May 30, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
3
people found this review helpful

Away from the world, set in open fields you feel like you are in your own little world, beautiful. The cottage is charming with all you could need and the owner is so friendly, nothing is to much trouble, loved it! Every intention of returning in the not to distant future.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frenchyla...
Margate, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best place we've stayed at.”
Reviewed April 9, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
3
people found this review helpful

This is the loveliest place we've been at. So quiet, in the middle of the countryside. Beautiful secluded garden where we had breakfast every morning (we had the best weather ever - summer in April!), lovely barn, very well decorated inside with all the facilities, great bathroom with a fantastic shower. You can hear the birds sing! What a treat! And so much to do as well. We went to the miniature village in Beaconsfield, safari park in Woburn, National Trust properties of Stowe and Waddesdon, lovely eco farm down the road (Green Dragon) ect... There is something for everyone. These were wonderful holidays. And Christine was really lovely too. Our daughter befriended her and couldn't wait to go and talk to her. Fantastic holiday all over.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing