We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent accommodation in a very quite location.”
other travelers have booked this property
Two Single Beds
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Two Single Beds
Stunning Location - Close to numerous attractions- 1.5 hour  to Central London Open Plan Harvest Moon Barn
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
55 reviews
Two Single Beds
Stunning Location - Close to numerous attractions- 1.5 hour  to Central London
Open Plan Harvest Moon Barn
One Level - spacious
Cosy Living Room
Character Barn
Old Pine Bedroom Furniture
Cosy in Winter
Loads to visit in Buckinghamshire
Set in the quiet Countryside
Corner Bath and shower
Towels included
View from the Bedroom
Double Bedroom
Welcome to Harvest Moon Barn
Driveway to Harvest Moon and Winters Tale Only
Harvest Moon Barn - Well hidden, worth finding
Large Private Garden
Evening sun in Private Garden
Harvest Time
Winters Tale Farmhouse
Have an English Cream Tea in the garden
'Suchard' in Winters Tale Farmhouse Garden
Bletchley Park - 20minutes away by car
Morse's Oxford 35minutes away
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Buckingham, Aylesbury Vale, Buckinghamshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 55 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Paul S
Cork, Ireland
1 review
“Excellent accommodation in a very quite location.”
Reviewed April 18, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

My family and I stay 6 nights in one of the two barns. The two barns are attached but away from the main farmhouse. We were totally unaware of our neighbors. We stayed in the larger barn. There is an attached enclosed grass area for the sole use of the visitors with a table and chairs.

Inside there is open area including a full kitchen and decent sitting area. We entertained another party of 4 and ourselves for a full evening meal with great ease. Everything we needed was there or provide on request to allow us to make meal, cakes etc. There is a TV, DVD player, books and games. Normal TV only, but as we were on holidays that was plenty. Free WiFi is provided, but reception on cell phones is poor.

There is two bedrooms, one being a double and the other two singles. We all slept well, however, the beds are weak and damaged and may not take the weight of a heavy person. Some attention needed here.

There is a fine bathroom with shower and bath, which both worked beautifully. We stayed in March and the weather was not great. There is excellent heating in the accommodation and we were never cold at all. We were given a quantity of logs on our first day, but we never used them.

This area would be familiar to followers of Inspector Morse and mid Summers murders. Many thin roads, with high hedge rows, lakes from flooded quarries and magnificent estate houses. This location is a great location if you wish to see the great houses and towns of England. It is very central. Some are very close and others within an hours drive. A sat-nav may be beneficial. We seen a lot of wildlife including badgers.

Beware that this accommodation is a long way from the road and when we stayed the farm road had been seriously damaged. The owners told us that they were awaiting for the weather to improve before doing the maintenance. I have no reason to doubt them, as there was a large quantity of road material heaped near the entrance.

All in all we had an excellent holiday and would happily return. I must say thank you to Christine for looking after us.

We were guided to the accommodation by reviews on TripAdvisor, but booked directly on the harvest moon barn site as this was cheaper.

Date of stay: March 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Excellent accommodation, great friendly service..
Liked least: the road leading to the property
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 19, 2016
Thank you for your lovely Review Paul and we are pleased you enjoyed your Holiday.- Have checked the beds as I didn't realise this and have replaced the slats and mattresses so will be fine for when you come back ! Weather slowly drying out the drive so we will be smoothing it out shortly. Thanks again Christine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tutu1980
York, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mr”
Reviewed March 20, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

I recently stayed for a week with my wife and two young children at the barn and had a most relaxing and pleasant time. It's very much hidden off a country road at the end of a dirt track but this led to the appeal for ourselves as felt completely safe and secure. Although the state of the road could definitely do with some treatment!

The barn is wonderfully converted and was a home away from home allowing us to visit a number of destinations such as Legoland, Harry Potter and Windsor whilst returning each evening for a relaxing night in the countryside.

The owners were extremely helpful during our time there and I would highly recommend a visit.

Date of stay: March 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E3140CTke...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A fantastic retreat and homely barn”
Reviewed March 15, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Enjoyed a delightful three night stay at Harvest Moon Barn with my daughter on University campus visiting. The barn is beautifully presented to a very high standard with all of the amenities and comforts you might expect from 5* star accommodation. The barn was warm and cosy and when you light the wood burning stove after the end of a long day it is just the perfect place to unwind with one of the many books on offer, listen to some music or catch up on some TV. We travelled easily into nearby Buckingham and Oxford (used Park and Ride) and visited NT Stowe which is simply stunning. Sadly did not have time to do visit Waddesdon Manor as we had the long haul back to Edinburgh. Tip: recommend arriving in daylight as the farm track down to the idyllically located barn is a little tricky in the dark on Sat Nav! Thankfully Christine was on hand to guide us in. Handy Coop shop in Steeple Claydon with good range and friendly staff and various country pubs which looked very inviting. Hope to visit again in the future, if our daughter gets into Uni locally this will be our campus visiting bolt hole! Highly recommend for good quality and value for money.

Date of stay: March 2016
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
775Laura
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Home comforts in fantastic surroundings”
Reviewed October 30, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Ideal location for us to stay as we like explore so stayed at the barn for a week and visited Cambridge, Oxford, IWM Duxford, Blenheim Palace and Bletchley Park. Also lots of National Trust properties and easy to reach from the barn as we did to visit Waddesdon Manor, Hughenden Manor, Claydon House, Buckingham Chantry Chapel and Stowe Gardens.
While location was great most of all it was lovely after each Autumn day to return to the barn and enjoy home comforts in fantastic surroundings. It is a beautiful barn with excellent welcoming hosts and such lovely thoughtful touches of a welcome pack and fresh flowers - am sure we'll be back as still lots we didn't have time to visit in the local area but we've loved staying at the barn!

Date of stay: October 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Architecture of barn
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coffeemav...
Rehovot, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Wonderful lodging”
Reviewed October 25, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We stayed at the Harvest Moon Barn for six nights. Don't be put off by the name -- it may have once been a barn, but is now a most comfortable place to stay. The location is great for visiting Bletchley Park and Blenheim Palace, and is not far from Oxford and Cambridge. There is a dirt road leading from the main road to the accommodation, which was not in the best of shape. Evidently, the rains cause it to be rough and uneven in places.

There is a full kitchen with a big refrigerator, washing machine and dishwasher. Chris, the owner, provided a bottle of milk, a loaf of bread, a bottle of wine, a package of cookies, coffee and tea.

The furnishings were comfortable and the :"barn" had everything we needed. We had a small problem with the air conditioner, but it got resolved quickly.

Date of stay: October 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort
Liked least: the road leading to the property
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona B
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautifully furnished barn.”
Reviewed July 13, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Harvest Moon Barn lived up to our expectations and more. The property is a little off the beaten track but is so worth discovering. We loved the homely cosy feel of the barn, as soon as you walk in you feel relaxed. The barn itself is spacious and beautifully furnished, french doors open into a large private garden where you can sit out with a glass of wine and marvel at the surrounding countryside.
There are so many easily accessible villages, towns and cities nearby to explore. Oxford was one of our favorites and we also spent a fantastic day in London. We caught the train from Bicester north and were in central London in 50 minutes, very easy.
Harvest Moon Barn would be a lovely place to stay at any time of the year and we would certainly like to return sometime.

Date of stay: July 2015
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie C
Edinburgh
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Peaceful barn in the countryside”
Reviewed April 23, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed our 5 nights in the barn and managed to have fantastic weather for the entire time. The barn is in a peaceful setting and with a nice garden area (a real suntrap) for sitting out and enjoying the spectacular sunsets. The owners are particularly helpful and were able to suggest various day trips all within an hour from the barn.
We certainly would have no hesitation in recommending this property to others who enjoy great rural holiday accomodation.

Date of stay: April 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing