We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safe bet, reasonably laid back.”

The Kings Head Coffee & Gin Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Description: This is a pub/bar food/resturant. Excellent vakue -- good beer and amazingly inexpesive food.
Restaurant details
Description: This is a pub/bar food/resturant. Excellent vakue -- good beer and amazingly inexpesive food.
Buckingham
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 936 helpful votes
“Safe bet, reasonably laid back.”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Not particularly smart or special but we come in once in a while and have never been let down. Not particularly suited to cosy couples, rather a group of family or mates. Knockabout and slightly predictable menus with occasional upbeat surprises. It's a fairly good pub so you can look at it as a food with booze event rather than an in your face over anxious gastro pub experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MacM874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    16
    3
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
1,290 reviews
541 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 452 helpful votes
“Town Pub”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

This is a town pub, they offer a good value breakfast and often have offers on. Not a place to go for a special meal. Food is good but in the middle of town and it gets busy with local drinkers and Sports Supporters

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Howlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“er ... strange”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

first time to Buckingham for a wonderful meal at Prezzo but astounded that this quaint village had no good pub. The building itself was lovely opposite a castle looking museum, so we thought we would go in for a drink before our meal. We were the only ones in there at 7pm on a Saturday night, the place had the aroma of wet dog and it was soo shabby - the chap behind the bar was very pleasant but it was just horrible. The place could be so lovely and from the outside it is a great looking place. We Unfortunately went back in there after our meal at Prezzo opposite as their beers were £6.50 each, and by this time a live band was just starting, there were about 8 people in then, the band started up and it was so loud we had to immediately leave, it was DEAFNING.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank debby w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good local pub”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

A good local pub with friendly staff.Uses Facebook well,good offers via Facebook.The food is traditional english fare well done.Particular mention to the breakfasts which use locally sourced ingredients and are great value for money.All in all this pub has a great future

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We had 4 big breakfasts. The service was really good and friendly and the food was excellent. I normally pay much more than this so was very impressed

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Samintheuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kings Head Coffee & Gin Bar also viewed

 
Buckingham, Aylesbury Vale
 
Buckingham, Aylesbury Vale
Buckingham, Aylesbury Vale
 

Been to The Kings Head Coffee & Gin Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing