We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb food, impressive service!”
Review of Halibut - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Halibut
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
1 review
“Superb food, impressive service!”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Regret not having been before but hubby not keen on fish. Had no idea they catered to meat eaters too and so beautifully well!

Mine, bouillabaisse - rich and flavourful (nice bowl!), halibut and puy lentils - perfectly cooked, lovely flavours and presentation.
Hubby - warm mango salad, braised ox cheek with mustard mash. It was heaven! Could have eaten it with a spoon. Tender flavourful. Very impressed.

Lovely atmosphere, the dining room is quite small, but busy still felt intimate. Helpful and friendly South African waiter. The positive experience was most memorable.

If I did have anything to criticise (maybe that's too harsh, comment on) it would be that they advertise the fact that they cater to non-fish eaters too. I think they're missing a trick as the meat was top-notch just like the rest of the meal.

VERY well done. We will definitely return and would like to share the next experience with friend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jessyt30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    9
    8
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Poor experience”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Several of us booked here for lunch. We were the only people there, the smell as you walked up the stairs was very unappetizing and the decor and furniture very basic. Soup was served in huge dishes with tiny bowls. I had goats cheese and mango rocket salad, there was the barest slither of cheese and mango. Portions very mean and chips poor. Fish was mostly batter (though very good). most of us felt we were in rip off territory and would not eat there again. I do have to put in a good word for the waiter, he was excellent.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maria g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A disappointment”
Reviewed July 20, 2012

We needed a quick lunch and, coming across the Halibut, imagined this specialist fish restaurant would provide something interesting and good. We were made welcome and, because my companion has difficulty with stairs, were invited to eat downstairs. So far so good. However, the simple fish and chips we chose proved mediocre. The fish had little flavour and the chips were unimpressive. The price we paid should have bought something of better quality.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Solo68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“What's wrong here ?”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Strange place which seems to be successful but a very odd dining experience. Almost canteen like decor with garden chair furniture. Expensive for what you get but still seems to have found a niche. Odd menu - an eclectic collection. Fish sales downstairs - no diea why as Waitrose around the corner. No real complaints just didn't hit the mark for us and bit of a sharp intake of breath when the bill arrived !

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dumbledrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Level Contributor
88 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“should have one of these restaurants in every town”
Reviewed April 21, 2012

We found this restaurant by accident,we had time to kill while staying at local hotel,its a shame that its hidden in a new shopping centre,it would do more trade probably if it was on a main rd where it could be seen
We had a very lovely two course fish meal here,(we dont eat desserts) with a bottle of white wine,we had crab cakes for starters and mains was sea bass it was all very tasty and fresh and portions were all the right size,we liked the crab cakes so much that we bought four more to take home,
We were not impressed by any other restaurants in the town, and would definitely go back to Halibut next time we are in Buckingham

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank patandfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Halibut also viewed

 
Buckingham, Aylesbury Vale
 
Buckingham, Aylesbury Vale
Buckingham, Aylesbury Vale
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing