We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great find!”
Review of Halibut - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Halibut
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Berkshire, England
Level Contributor
72 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“What a great find!”
Reviewed February 12, 2012

We had dinner here on a Saturday evening. Restaurant located in an unpromising modern shopping centre, next to Waitrose.... On the first floor above a fishmongers under the same ownership. Small, homely place, simply furnished. About 25% full, perhaps down to the biteingly cold weather.

Service was attentive, personal but not OTT. General atmosphere quiet, definately not for you if you are looking for a wild night out!

Wonderfully fresh oysters for me, wife enjoyed her prawn based starter. Wife's main of bream probably the star of the evening, my salmon was excellent. Shame on me, i had three more oysters for desert........

Wine list limited, but OK and reasonably priced. My biggest disappointment was that they don't sell Guiness to wash down the oysters

If this place were not 90 minutes from where we live and the experience is maintained - and they get some Guiness in - then they would see a great deal of us i suspect.

Do try it if you are fish/seafood fiend!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Queenscout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    9
    8
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a treasure; food was arousing!”
Reviewed February 9, 2012

We have lived in many ‘cool’ cities around the world and stumbling upon this small restaurant we certainly felt was a gem! Could not believe we were in the middle of England.
Waiter was pleasant and knowledgeable. Food was simply well cooked, tasty, fresh, delightful and rousing. Atmosphere comfortable with very funky music. Pretty much all you need in a restaurant really. My only complaint is that some dishes displayed on the menu outside had been discontinued but the waiter explained that the menu was a sample and things change daily based on available ingredients. We are moving to Buckingham. Thanks and see you soon Halibut

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Struggle to see why this is top place to eat in Buckingham !”
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Came out hungry ! small portions and a bit warm and humid up there in the restaurant

Visited February 2011
Helpful?
Thank MysteryGuestguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“It's OK”
Reviewed January 30, 2012

An OK fish meal - attentive staff, but expensive for what it was.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank VeryBusy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
153 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“try it, no regrets”
Reviewed January 14, 2012

As others have already said it is not a restaurant that has great atmosphere the entrance is a bit sad but if you can ignore this, the food is very good. The lady that served us was really nice and friendly, very well spoken and knew her job. The ceviche was so good (still thinking about it) and so was the main course and our puddings were absolutely sublime. It is not easy to find refined pudding in restaurants in the countryside. London is a different case and so are the prices. If the food is important to you i would fully recommend this place if you want a beautiful restaurant with atmosphere this is not the one. I would have liked to see linen napkins rather than cheap paper ones. It is not such a difficult task and please remove the little carpet at the bottom of the stairs, very slippery and dangerous. Lovely bombay saphire gin and tonic. We will be back.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank anastasiaEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Halibut also viewed

 
Buckingham, Aylesbury Vale
 
Buckingham, Aylesbury Vale
Buckingham, Aylesbury Vale
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing