We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding food as always !”
Review of The Old Bengal

The Old Bengal
Ranked #16 of 73 Restaurants in Beaconsfield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $52
Cuisines: Indian, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: The Old Bengal is a grade 2 listed building formerly the Prince of Wales public house. Recently (December 2013) refurbished to give it that warm inviting feel. We pride ourselves on serving the best food at reasonable prices. Our Chefs are some of the most celebrated professionals led by Chef du Patron, Pritam Singh Rawat, who has over three decades of experience working in 5 Star hotels and restaurants in the Middle East and across the Indian Sub-continent. We aim to please and have introduced some exciting new dishes alongside our authentic traditional menu.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We only visit this Restaurant once a year as we live over 30 miles away. We meet up with a family we have known for over 10 years that live near Beaconsfield.
We visited last Friday and as always the food was outstanding, cooked to perfection. They seem to know how to get all the dishes perfect. Also the staff are efficient and helpful. What more do you need. We just wish it was closer to where we live !

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (284)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 284 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

New management have come in and messed up what was a great Indian restaurant.

The food was nowhere near as good and the service quality has gone from excellent to terrible. Absolute shambles.

I gave it the benefit of the doubt and revisited but the problems remain.

Date of visit: September 2019
2  Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Recently collected a takeaway from this place. Lovely experience!

Very nice food. Service was extremely polite too.

My only qualm is that their website is a little difficult to navigate and I couldn’t actually find the menu on it.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Rossignol14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2019 via mobile

Delicious Makhon chicken, highly recommended. All dishes cooked fresh and were excellent quality. Good ambience and value for money.

Date of visit: August 2019
1  Thank LManz27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2019

Visited last week with friends, hadn't realised management had changed. Was disappointed to see many of the original dishes gone and replaced with really what I consider a bang average/standard menu, you could name the dishes without reading it basically.

The food was ok but nothing amazing.

No hand soap in the men's toilets either, literally none, not even an empty one.

It wasn't bad as such but not particularly good either, I would go back but wouldn't rush back.

Date of visit: July 2019
3  Thank Goz007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Bengal also viewed

Beaconsfield, Buckinghamshire
High Wycombe, Buckinghamshire
 
High Wycombe, Buckinghamshire
Beaconsfield, Buckinghamshire
 
Beaconsfield, Buckinghamshire
Beaconsfield, Buckinghamshire
 

Been to The Old Bengal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing