We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another great Golden Wedding Anniversary”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Guido - CLOSED

Guido
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Amersham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Another great Golden Wedding Anniversary”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

Thank you for the excellent food, service and friendliness, making a wonderful celebration for our good friends.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pauline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    49
    20
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Memorable birthday lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

Sunday lunch with all the family. 14 of us aged from 18 months to 78. The restaurant was full but we were served efficiently and well. Lovely friendly atmosphere. The food was excellent as it always is at Guido's. I had a memorable day! Thank you.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Frances S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Golden Wedding excellence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

On 28th September 2013 we celebrated our Golden Wedding with friends and family, only 74 of us. Everyone said how great the meal was, how friendly and super efficient the waiting staff were and how comfortable the restaurant is. The only moan I have is that I made a load of cakes for people to come back to the house for tea and no-one ate anything as they were so full up. Thanks Guido and all for making our day so wonderful, see you again shortly!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pauline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesham Bois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wedding party success”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

We went here last evening for the wedding festivities of two friends. Having already catered for a lunchtime function for 75 people, Guido's catered also for 70 of us only hours later and did it in style.The food was perfect and although it was one of those functions where one "orders" one's food weeks in advance, the waiters knew exactly who was having what and it was served piping hot.
Service throughout the evening was efficient and unobtrusive and all in all Guido, Matteo and all the team there are to be congratulated on making the evening extremely pleasant for the newly married couple and all their friends

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chesham
Level Contributor
263 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“inferior sunday lunch. they are cashing in!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

Set 3 course menu. Nowhere do you see the price!!

We chose whitebait to start. So over cooked, had to be careful it didnt fly off plate when put fork in!

Lamb for main. Well, they obviously buy this in, already sliced. So tough, and grisly fat. They say tender on menu!! No way. Served with rock hard roast potatoes, hard broccoli, and carrots (best bit)

Dessert from the infamous sweet trolley. Traditional!

Waiter service is like, follow my leader!!

Evening a la carte must be better!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank juliekBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Guido also viewed

Amersham, Buckinghamshire
Amersham, Buckinghamshire
 
Amersham, Buckinghamshire
Amersham, Buckinghamshire
 
Amersham, Buckinghamshire
Amersham, Buckinghamshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing