We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Food”

The Artichoke Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
The Artichoke Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 71 Restaurants in Amersham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $26 - $144
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Transit: Underground: Amersham, Rail: Chiltern Railways Main Line
Description: An award winning dining destination in the centre of beautiful old Amersham, the Artichoke restaurant has been tipped for the top by critics, chefs (including Raymond Blanc) and, rather impressively, the Michelin Guide 2011. The traditional setting of Artichoke has been given new life with a slick contemporary country makeover in which comfort and style sit side by side, colours are muted and soothing and the beautiful features of the building are allowed to shine through, a part of the carefully considered d��cor. Chef and owner Laurie Gear oversees a refined modern European menu filled with charming additions including not only seasonal ingredients but foraged herbs, berries and flowers too and he and his team can be spotted hard at work in the open kitchen from the Kitchen Dining Room. Other spaces here at Artichoke include the glorious Garden Dining Room, opening out on to the bespoke herb wall and the Wine Room up on the first floor, leading in to the well stocked cellar and just right for sophisticated business dining. The perfect neighbourhood restaurant, Artichoke has certainly put Amersham on the map.
Chilterns
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Delicious Food”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

We swithered between the lunchtime tasting menu and the a la carte, finally opting for the latter.

The starter, Scottish scallops (note the s) was excellent, with taste buds appreciating the depth of flavour and an interesting conjunction with soft bacon, the latter new to us.

The mains, venison for me and smoked pork for my wife, were equally delicious, with double espressos rounding off a splendid meal.

However, there is a reservation - the scallop was singular, not plural as claimed, with the price (£14) therefore appearing rather excessive, if not greedy; and isn't it an offence under the Trade Descriptions Act to make misleading claims?

Nevertheless, the quality of the food left us overall quite happy.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    612
    101
    45
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A birthday celebration lunch”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Family birthday lunch in style. We chose from the lunch a la carte menu which was superb. Calm but attentive service, wine by the glass and tap water fill ups. The food was sublime. My only negative comment would be that I was aware of a draught from the front door once or twice as we were sitting in the older part of the restaurant. We hope to return for another birthday meal soon.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Buckslady186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, England
Level 6 Contributor
368 reviews
209 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Lovely dinner out”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

This was a birthday dinner with my wife and daughter. My first visit to The Artichoke, though my daughter had had lunch here previously and highly recommended it.
We were surprised how quiet it was on a Thursday evening - only a few table occupied.
The place has a very welcoming atmosphere when you walk in - nice and warm, pleasant lighting (including floor candles - well covered!), with the glass walled kitchen in full view.
We went for the three course dinner rather than the longer tasting menu.
Starters we went for included pan fried scallops with bacon and apple, and duck breast with passion fruit jelly. All melted in the mouth and greeted with lots of oohs and aahs - delicious.
For main courses we chose pork tenderloin with ham, crackling and an apple puree; the pheasant; and the venison - all wonderful.
Desserts were all tempting and we chose the plum galette with almond puree and almond ice cream; the apple press and artichoke mousse; and the mango mousse, coconut mousse, mango, lime gel and lime sherbert. Couldn't be faulted.
We were well advised about accompanying glasses of wine, and service was very attentive as there were so few other customers.
Overall a very enjoyable (and tasty) evening.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank malawi40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tring, Herts
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Four of us enjoyed a fabulous meal last week on our first visit to The Artichoke. The menu was imaginative and there was also a separate vegetarian menu. We went on the a la carte rather than tasting menu and we were so impressed with the artistry - the variety of colours, flavours and textures was incredible and every dish we had was first class. An extensive wine list and very attentive waiters. My only criticism, which I think has been mentioned previously, was that they were too quick to take away our plates as soon as the last person had finished. Maybe this is necessary with a tasting menu but we were not in a hurry and I did not want our meal to be over in an hour. I held on to my fork for longer than necessary to prevent this happening! I would highly recommend The Artichoke as the food is simply outstanding - it's expensive but worth it for a treat and we have already recommended it to a number of friends. A few little surprises, which you wait to discover, were a lovely touch.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lizzyb28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic !!! ”
Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

Great food from a great chef and team! I have eaten here a few times now and it just gets better and better!!!!! This is a must for anybody living in bucks area to go to.. 10/10 hope this restaurant gets its star soon as it deserves it....

Helpful?
Thank Matt83edmonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Artichoke Restaurant also viewed

Amersham, Buckinghamshire
Amersham, Buckinghamshire
 
Amersham, Buckinghamshire
Marlow, Buckinghamshire
 
Gerrards Cross, Buckinghamshire
Amersham, Buckinghamshire
 

Been to The Artichoke Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing