We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect combination of comfort, convenience and...”
other travelers have booked this property
Private Courtyard area - Secluded quiet secure one minute to High Street - Private Parking adjacent
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Private Courtyard area - Secluded quiet secure one minute to High Street - Private Parking adjacent
Private courtyard garden Sitting room with Sky and Sony flat screen TV
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
Private Courtyard area - Secluded quiet secure one minute to High Street - Private Parking adjacent
Private courtyard garden
Sitting room with Sky and Sony flat screen TV
Sitting room with Sky and Sony flat screen TV
Sitting room with Sky and Sony flat screen TV
Sitting room alcove with music system and smart phone hook up
Your film and part of the book library
Sony TV & super fast fibre Wi Fi with full Sky package, movies, sports, catch up TV etc
DVD and book selection
Hitachi stereo system with I pod dock and quality auxillary input for latest kit
Full size sit in kitchen with Bosch dishwasher, washing machine, fridge, freezer and ceramic cooker
Full size sit in kitchen with Bosch dishwasher, washing machine, fridge, freezer and ceramic cooker
Ceramic cooker
Sabatier chef's knives for the cooks amongst us!
King size bed
Sofa bed in situ
Twin bedroom with window to patio
Bathroom with constant hot water shower
Art for art's sake
Peace and giraffe from the twin room window!
Bedroom view
Outside seating and garden
Courtyard and entrance in the rain - glorious all year and al fresco dining in the summer
Private Parking from Suite entrance - Crown Hotel in background
View of the cottage from the Crown Hotel garden of four weddings and a funeral fame
Sam's from Brisbane Scalextric set - on permanent loan from Sam for kids of all ages
The Barn in the snow from The Crown Hotel Garden
The Barn to the left of Photo - Town centre market building beyond no noise from local amenities
The Church in the snow
Gilbeys restaurant and the Church - within 150 metres
The Old Town in the snow
Our Neighbour The Crown Hotel of Four Weddings and a funeral fame
One minute walk from Crown Courtyard and the High Street to the Barn
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Amersham, Buckinghamshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
pauljbris...
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Perfect combination of comfort, convenience and style.”
Reviewed August 22, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

I stayed at the Barn for over 5 months. It is private, yet close to old town Amersham, which is full of great restaurants, shopping, a Tesco and many weekend events. The Barn's owners are consummate hosts; they respect your privacy but are also willing to talk and give local travel advice. The kitchen is perfect for most any dining need. Patio is large, secluded and impeccably filled with gorgeous blooming plants. In addition to the master bedroom, there is a second BR with two twins or can be used for additional luggage storage during long stays. I would recommend this to anyone for a short or long term stay. You will be in great hands.

Traveling group: Solo
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 31, 2016
Paul - many thanks for taking the time for the lovely review - it was a pleasure having you - do come back!!!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike F
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just as good 2nd time around!”
Reviewed April 13, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We stayed here last year (2015) and loved it so much we came back for more (2016). Once again John and Gill made every effort to make our stay as comfortable and easy as possible with essentials in the fridge and loads of wonderful little extra touches. This is more like staying with friends than in rented accommodation. On our first trip it was just my eldest son and myself. This time it was the whole family. John is such an amazing host that he remembered that our youngest son loves Thomas The Tank Engine, so John went out and bought a Thomas train track set for our youngster to play with when we were at the property.
So with the kindness and consideration shown by the owners, the extraordinary cleanliness, the great location and the bucket loads of character and charm, this place really can not be beaten!
Thanks again John and Gill. We'll be back (again and again).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Home from home.
Liked least: Nothing to dislike. Perfect!
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 14, 2016
Lovely family - a pleasure to have - and thanks again for the quite unexpected pressie!!!! come again!!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Udo S
Berlin, Germany
1 review
“A very cosy cottage to stay”
Reviewed November 29, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

My female colleague stayed with a group of five girls aged fifteen at the cottage. They were very pleased with their stay as everything was provided for a self-catering basis. In about five minutes the students could reach TESCO on foot.
The cottage is spacious and cosy and is located in the charming town of Old Amersham, near Amersham on the Hill. By means of buses you can reach Beaconsfield and High Wycombe easily.
The landlord of the cottage, who lives near by, was very helpful whenever advice was needed.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: the atmosphere of the cottage
Liked least: the surface of the road in front of the cottage was rather uneven
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 30, 2015
Thanks dear Udo - look forward to seeing you again! John Gill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David I
Carnforth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed November 6, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Nice people who let out the Old Barn enjoyed our stay we would visit again. Quiet location wine on arrival tea milk sugar.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very quiet area
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 7, 2015
Lovely family - appreciate you taking the time to review - do come again! John gill x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike F
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect home from home.”
Reviewed April 26, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

I stayed at The Old Barn in April 2015 with my 6 year old son whilst we were in country from Australia visiting UK family that live in the Bucks area.

Everything about The Old Barn was perfect. From dealing with John and Gill, through to the delightful accommodation itself. Fantastic touches included all of the essentials in the fridge saving us that urgent supermarket dash on arrival. Our wonderful hosts even left us some chocolates as it was Easter during our stay. The place is spotless and welcoming. Night time temperatures outside were cold during our stay but the Old Barn was toastie and welcoming. Plenty of space, and heaps of entertainment including full Sky package and even a games system meant that our rest time was like being in our own home. The location is perfect, so close to the beautiful Old Town yet tucked away peacefully away from any roads.

This was a superb stay. I can't think of a single criticism. We will be back every year having found this gem.

Highly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything! Too many high points to pick one. Perhaps our lovely hosts.
Liked least: Leaving!
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 5, 2015
what can we say about Michael and Sam - a delight to have you!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EnglandTr...
England
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Little gem in Old Amersham”
Reviewed December 3, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Great place to stay, right in the centre of Old Amersham, convenient for all amenities. The Old Barn is well equipped, very comfortable, tastefully appointed, so comfortable, all the facilities you need for a great relaxing home away from home. John and Gill do everything possible to ensure your stay is a great one. Thank you both for all your help, you are wonderful hosts. In our opinion you won't get disappointed in your stay. Own parking space too, always a great plus in the centre of town in a quiet private road.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing