We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant little place !!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Saracen's Head Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Saracen's Head Inn
Ranked #3 of 10 Amersham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
“Brilliant little place !!!!”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

From the moment we walked in we felt it was going to be something special and it didn't disappoint cracking landlord and the staff were warm and friendly and their service second to none.We ate there every night due the quality of the food with a good variety to choose from. The rooms were cleaned to a high standard I would highly recommend a stay.........

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    44
    14
    12
    8
See reviews for
29
52
11
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

Kerry and his staff made me feel very welcome as soon as I arrived. The room was very comfortable and I had a great nights sleep. The food is excellent and I would recommend it to anyone. I will be staying here for the third time in three months, I wouldn't stay anywhere else!!!

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Level Contributor
63 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

First I made a mistake in the dates I booked, no problem to the landlord, after a short phone call and secondly I had a great warm welcome from everyone there. The rooms are a little basic and there are some signs of damp at low level on the painted brickwork, if you get a room off the courtyard it can be a little noisy of a night and maybe double glazed doors might be advised. All that said the food was great, the staff welcoming and the room warm and clean. I would certainly stay there again if I am in the area.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rob s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tring, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Myself and a few work colleagues went to The Saracens Head for Lunch to say ‘goodbye’ to one of our colleagues - there were 10 of us. We received a VERY warm welcome, the two guys out the front/behind the bar were absolutely fantastic, they were really attentive and couldn’t have done more to make our lunch any better!! Every single one of us really enjoyed our food and I am especially grateful to them for helping with my dietary requirements! (Slimming World!!) A lovely little pub, truly Excellent food and fantastic service!!! Top Marks & Gold Stars all-round!!!!!!! We will definitely be going back!!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Went here for a pre booked lunch recently with quite a large group. Very warm welcome and directed some of us to alternative nearby off road parking by friendly landlord. Food fantastic - hot and fresh. Cosy and full of character with good atmosphere. Will be going back soon.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank BirderRicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Stayed at Saracens for one night and loved it. Cosy pub and a larger than life owner. Food was great and portions very generous. Room was clean and got blown away by a wonderful shower. Will be going back soon. John Chesney Franks

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johncefranks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Love this place. Traditional English pub with fantastic food, great rooms, excellent service, and a landlord who knows how to look after his customers. Strongly recommended for anyone who wants first class service.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ch0pperHarris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amersham
0.1 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#2 of 2 in Amersham
450 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#1 of 2 in Amersham
724 reviews
2.8 mi away
De Vere Latimer Estate
De Vere Latimer Estate
#1 of 2 in Chesham
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Chartridge Lodge
Chartridge Lodge
#2 of 2 in Chesham
301 reviews
4.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Gerrards Cross
Crowne Plaza Gerrards Cross
#1 of 7 in Beaconsfield
341 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Beaconsfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saracen's Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saracen's Head Inn

Property: Saracen's Head Inn
Address: 38 Whielden Street, Amersham HP7 0HU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Amersham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Amersham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Saracen's Head Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Saracen’s Head Inn is steeped in history and character and was built using timbers from old ships. The building surrounds a central courtyard which was originally a travellers coaching inn.It was built in 1530 at Number 38 Whielden Street, which was formerly known as Union Street when Amersham Hospital was known as The Workhouse.And rumour has it, two ghosts roam the building, one is alleged to be a young serving wench from the 17th Century, the other one remains a mystery… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Saracen's Head Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saracens Head Hotel Amersham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing