We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Saracen's Head Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Saracen's Head Inn
Ranked #3 of 10 Amersham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights at this delightful Inn whilst on a business trip in Buckinghamshire. Is in a great location in Amersham old town. Received a warm welcome on arrival by the landlord and staff. Stayed in one of the rooms in the courtyard which was extremely stylish and comfortable with a great power shower. Breakfast was superb. I ate in the pub on both evenings and was very impressed with the menu and quality of the food. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. I will definitely be returning on future business trips. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    47
    14
    12
    8
See reviews for
31
54
11
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
56 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

The service here was great but at £95 for a night we'd have expected much more from the room. We were visiting friends and it was fine overnight, but we would not recommend this if you want a mini-break.

The pub was in ok nick but it was essentially a random pub with a few rooms added on. It's certainly not a gastropub or boutique hotel! our room was directly above the pub and you had to walk behind the bar to access it. It was noisy until the early hours (around 1am) and again from quite early in the morning. You could also hear noise from other rooms. The room itself had a lovely 4 poster bed but otherwise was in average condition and the shower seemed a bit old.

The breakfast was nice and the owners friendly.

All in all it seemed overpriced at £95 but it's fine if you need to stay in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rf263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We had a warm welcome from the landlord who showed us to our room without any fuss.
our room had old oak beams, great to have a traditional feel as so many places are modernised.
Great coaching, great breakfast. Will stay again.

Room Tip: We had a room in which I think are converted stables.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dodgy69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

I stayed at this inn on a business trip. Amersham is not the sort of place likely to be full of chain inns catering for business travellers. The reception was war and friendly and the pub and rooms full of olde worlde charm and character. My room was just off the courtyard and was a reasonable size and very quiet. I would imagine thigh that on a hot summer's day there may be less peace and quiet in one of these rooms during opening hours.

The food was of good quality and reasonably priced. As a woman alone I did nit feel at all awkward or intimidated.

A couple of minor gripes - no hair dryer in the room, but I had thought to pack my own, and no glass for water. I did take a glass of water from the bar to my room to use the glass overnight. A box of tissues would also have been good. Nine of this was major haw ever and did not detract from the comfortable pleasant atmosphere prevalent throughout the inn.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naomi501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East grinstead
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

A lovely old pub in a lovely town but overall one night stay disappointing. Maybe the stables rooms are better but our room (9) was directly above the bar and the walls were paper thin. Actual room was not bad but ensuite was tiny ( you could just about sit on loo with sink overhanging). The toilet made the most incredible noises when flushed as if it was trying to gab and swallow anyone washing hands. We were warned when shown our room that there was live music that night but it would finish at 11 pm It was very loud...but fine as it finished as promised. Problems began t 2am woken by a radio/ TV in next room . Whoever was there watched TV and chatted on the phone until 6.30 am. Hardly the managements fault but the worst night sleep ever in a hotel. ( And i used industrial ear plugs to try to block it out)Breakfast was fine. Shame we were too tired to enjoy it

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnFWatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Booked after looking at the options in Amersham, two rooms, daughter and myself. Met the landlord, Kerry, friendly mine host, we dropped off the cases at 10am, he was busy, but not problem, made us coffee, even though he was running around, too much to do! Great rooms - 8 & 9, above the pub. Good beer, great food, great breakfast, original old world pub, really miss them. Will go back, best value inn accommodation in Amersham old town. Chris, SA.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

We had come down to old amersham to be picked up en route to royal ascot by friends. Last year we stayed in the crown. There were no rooms left so we looked at trip advisor for advice. From the moment I rang and spoke to Kerry to book I felt reassured we would have a good time and we weren't disappointed. We arrived on the evening of the summer solstice very frazzled after a horrible trip down taking us 2 hours longer than we hoped. We couldn't find a parking place outside so we tried to park in the Britush Legion up the road but the drive was blocked so the staff let us park in the bosses spot. A table was booked in the pub immediately for dinner with was good pub grub and we had a lovely room off the courtyard with low ceilings and beams which was lovely. The shows room was a little delapidated but perfectly adequate and had a great power shower. The rooms were clean and well serviced. Breakfast was lovely -note full fat milk- and the staff were hard working and really friendly. The pub had a real sense of community. We had a great nights sleep both nights. I would definitely recommend this quirky place. It's not posh but then neither am I ( despite going to ascot!)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivtut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amersham
0.1 mi away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#2 of 2 in Amersham
742 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Amersham
470 reviews
2.8 mi away
De Vere Latimer Estate
De Vere Latimer Estate
#1 of 2 in Chesham
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Gerrards Cross
Crowne Plaza Gerrards Cross
#1 of 7 in Beaconsfield
365 reviews
4.9 mi away
Chartridge Lodge
Chartridge Lodge
#2 of 2 in Chesham
312 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Beaconsfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saracen's Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saracen's Head Inn

Property: Saracen's Head Inn
Address: 38 Whielden Street, Amersham HP7 0HU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Amersham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Amersham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Saracen's Head Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Saracen’s Head Inn is steeped in history and character and was built using timbers from old ships. The building surrounds a central courtyard which was originally a travellers coaching inn.It was built in 1530 at Number 38 Whielden Street, which was formerly known as Union Street when Amersham Hospital was known as The Workhouse.And rumour has it, two ghosts roam the building, one is alleged to be a young serving wench from the 17th Century, the other one remains a mystery… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Saracen's Head Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saracens Head Hotel Amersham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing