We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oldy Worldy Charm .. the Pub and the Landlord! ; >”
Review of Saracen's Head Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Saracen's Head Inn
Ranked #2 of 10 Amersham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 29, 2011

I had to find somewhere to stay in Bucks at very late notice, so looked on laterooms.com and found the Saracens Head Inn at Amersham. I was welcomed by the landlord, Kerry with enthusiam and charm .. just what I needed after a long and stressful day! I had a snack in the pub .. Tempura Prawns .. and they were divine! The atmosphere in the pub was wonderful. The breakfast next morning was beautifully cooked. I shall definitely be returning when I am next in the area! Julie Pigott, artist (www.artistjules.co.uk)

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank artistjules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (182)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

175 - 181 of 182 reviews

Reviewed December 18, 2010

Myself and a colleague stayed here earlier this month. We had a lovely welcome from the new owner, and our rooms were clean and full of character. As we were leaving early in the morning, we didn't have breakfast. However we both had 2 delicious homemade meals the previous night - we were introduced to the the professional chef who let us know about the specials of the day.

Beer was very good, and the excellent atmosphere was even more improved by the roaring log fire.

Will definitely stay here again, not just for business.

Leo, Ludlow, Shropshire

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leo-Ludlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2010

I got excellent service and a good nights sleep. the pub is just off a typical old english high street and the staff and locals made me feel at home right away. all in all an enjoyable stay !

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nell50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2010

Shown to room about 2.00 p.m and breakfast indicated and present , cling film wrapped bread and 2 foil wrapped pats of butter.
The shear meanness of what was offered just made me feel that the cost £87, was excessive.The bread, butter packet juice and cereal were probably about £1.00 in total cost.
There really is no excuse as there is the unused bar for serving a decent breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rorylind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2009

This place is great! We booked last minute, the manager was very friendly and welcoming and the room was charming and had everything we needed - including warmth! We would definitely recommend it. Do it!!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wolfewoman78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2007

Friendly enough and nice pub ... stayed in the rooms out the back... clean and well equipped but two things to watch out for...

1- the rooms are around the rear courtyard/beer garden...which means you're going to hear all the late night drunken chatter, so not good if you're working the next day and want an early night.

2 Advertised as Bed and Breakfast !! They're put a fridge and kettle in the room... and toaster... the breakfast is a mini pack of cornflakes and two slices of white bread in clingfilm... toast it yourself and use the marmalade in the fridge !!!!

What a sad lack of imagination. I'd skip the breakfast and ask for a reduction in the room charge... and then go to the excellent little upmarket cafe /coffee shop round the corner on the High Street (literally 90 seconds away) where they serve great cooked breakfast, coffeee, granary bread, pastries etc

Amersham Old Town is a posh little place - and the Saracens Head fits in well as a pub.

Oh and if you want a top price and TOP NOTCH lunch or evening meal, book the Artichoke restaurant, also 90 secs away on the High Street... it's fantastic. Great wine list and amazing food.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank philtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2015, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BA R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amersham
0.1 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Amersham
532 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#2 of 2 in Amersham
783 reviews
2.9 mi away
De Vere Latimer Estate
De Vere Latimer Estate
#1 of 2 in Chesham
849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Rye Court Hotel
Rye Court Hotel
#8 of 14 in High Wycombe
22 reviews
4.9 mi away
Chartridge Lodge
Chartridge Lodge
#2 of 2 in Chesham
345 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Potters Arms
The Potters Arms
#5 of 10 in Amersham
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saracen's Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saracen's Head Inn

Address: 38 Whielden Street, Amersham HP7 0HU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Amersham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Amersham
Price Range: $122 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Saracen's Head Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Saracen’s Head Inn is steeped in history and character and was built using timbers from old ships. The building surrounds a central courtyard which was originally a travellers coaching inn.It was built in 1530 at Number 38 Whielden Street, which was formerly known as Union Street when Amersham Hospital was known as The Workhouse.And rumour has it, two ghosts roam the building, one is alleged to be a young serving wench from the 17th Century, the other one remains a mystery… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Saracen's Head Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saracens Head Hotel Amersham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing