We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Crown Inn
Nearby Hotels
$150
$146
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$177
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Travelodge Beaconsfield Central(Beaconsfield)(Great Value!)
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead West Hotel(Hemel Hempstead)(Great Value!)
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crowne Plaza Gerrards Cross(Beaconsfield)(Great Value!)
$98
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Two Brewers Hotel(Chipperfield)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (819)
Filter reviews
819 results
Traveler rating
409
196
100
62
52
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
409
196
100
62
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscourtyard roomwhite company toiletriescobbled courtyardroll top bathcomplimentary winesister hotelmain buildingmr and mrshigh streetcharming hotelcooked breakfastlambgreat weekendlovely roomwalk in showerfour poster bedfull english
Filter
Updating list...
596 - 601 of 819 reviews
Reviewed March 24, 2014

A very relaxed stay. The room was stylish, extremely comfortable and quiet whilst the pub itself was very charming. Our dinner was also enjoyable with very tasty food.

I had been in touch with the manager beforehand about our stay and he was extremely attentive and reassuring.

Thank you. We will be back.

Joc

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joc m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Crown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2014

Thank you for the kind review - I am glad you enjoyed your stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Love the rooms, nice simple and very modern contained in an old old exterior. It works. Most of the technology in the room was either difficult to work or didn't ... But this is just a remark not a criticism as we didn't really need it. The lead pane windows re super and the rooms surprisingly warm. Great walk in shower.,bath in bedroom also fun. Cobbles in courtyard could be a bore but fine for us. Also strong smell of fish and chips in reception a bit of a pity. The Staff are very sweet

Room Tip: Rooms 101-103
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Crown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2014

Thanks you for your kind review. We hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

We stayed at the Crown for an evening in February for a family birthday gathering. We were lucky to be upgraded to a suite, and I absolutely loved our room, which we entered through the courtyard. It was well decorated with a lovely comfortable bed, sitting area, desk with complimentary wine and chocolates, gorgeous footed bathtub and huge walk in shower. There was a very nice attention to detail in the room, and I only wish we could have stayed and relaxed there a bit longer. Our family had a very nice dinner in the restaurant, and breakfast the next morning was included. There was a large spread of pastries and cold items, and a cooked breakfast was available as well for no additional charge. Just lovely - I would stay again if I was ever in the area!

Room Tip: I did not get a look at the standard rooms, but can definitely recommend a suite in the courtyard area.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
p_stlawrence, Owner at The Crown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2014

I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you will be back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Once again, The Crown was a perfect place for a corporate away-day!

Professional, comfortable and accommodating.

I highly recommend The Crown when you need to get out of London for a team away-day and stay-over, but don't want to be too far away.

Thanks again!
Beth Arzy, EA at Channel 4

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BethTBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
p_stlawrence, General Manager at The Crown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Thank you for your kind review - it is much appreciated. We hope you will be back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

We recently stayed at The Crown and found the rooms to beautiful and comfortable, and the hotel centrally located in what are lovely surroundings with easy access to the rest of the district.

The two things that really let the Crown down was the attitude of their staff and the breakfasts that come included with the price. We have stayed at a number of properties listed on the Mr & Mrs Smith website, and I am afraid that the Crown is not of the same standard.

To be fair to the staff there were never enough of them to cover the services required by their guests and they did what they could but it was obvious this was wearing them down. So I have to lay the blame squarely at the feat of the management.

The cooked breakfasts were not made to order. Ok, I can live with that...but I do expect them to be hot. There was no milk with the breakfast cereals ... there was only one member of staff covering the reception office and the dining room ... but the laughter and horseplay of the kitchen staff was audible throughout but not once did they replenish any of the food that was laid out. The very sad part of this is that many of the clientèle were much like myself in that they were business people used to travelling and staying at budget chains like Premier inn and the like. The difference being that at budget chains you would get much better service and you might even get toast and fresh coffee delivered to your table.

This could be a great establishment if they invested some time and effort in the systems around the business.

Must also note the housekeepers were excellent.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pearsey12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
p_stlawrence, General Manager at The Crown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Thank you for your review, both the good and the bad. You are right - we are suffering a staff shortage and are actively recruiting. I will also review your comments on breakfast with our head chef, as clearly some work is needed here. I hope you will give us another try in the future and am confident you will find us much improved.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews