We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful !”
Review of The Crown Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Crown Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Amersham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We turned up to charming looking inn . To be greeted in a cold manner , we went to to our room to our horror it was like a fridge ! Within 10 minutes we both decide that could not sleep in a room as dirty as this. i went to reception to explain our findings , i was offered an alternate room that we took, it was better but still not dust or cobweb free . And we felt uncomfortable ! Next we had to call down to say our TV did not work this was rectified but it was not user friendly . The bed was comfy and the shower very good . But over all for the money its a joke . Dinner was ok rather odd the way things were presented we left the restaurant hungry our suggestions to our waitress fell on deaf ears , we escaped to find some where a touch more lively. Breakfast was average wish i had gone to cafe food would of been better an half the price. would i stay here again No . Over priced & under par .

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Damonwalker666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (773)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

625 - 631 of 773 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on Saturday 2nd feb for a relaxing weekend away. Checked in around 4pm which wasn't the warmest of welcomings by the receptionist, no "have you travelled far or hope you enjoy your stay" robotic to be honest. Stayed in one of the small bailey rooms which was surprisingly spacious and although on the main road the room was quiet. Large comfy bed, powerful shower and the room was equipped with all what we needed. Had dinner booked for the evening at 8pm and we were shown to our table. Really nice layout in the restaurant and the food was good, although I thought the pork was over seasoned. There were a few service issues during our stay such as forgetting to bring our wine until we had finished our starter, pouring coffee instead of tea and not realising, not knowing what cask ales were on. I think the staff work really hard here (you can tell by the way they are all rushing around) but maybe a bit more interaction with their customers will go a long way when creating a more friendly and relaxed atmosphere, they all seemed very stressed and on edge.

I didn't really get the breakfast offering, surely it makes sense to include a full English breakfast when staying at an English Inn? Instead, a Continental breakfast is included and a full English will cost an extra £12.50. Yes, the continental breakfast buffet looks pretty but come on.

Overall, nice rooms but think the service could do with a tweak.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CookReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

Went for Sunday lunch at the crown today, small rib eye steak, chips & cabbage £28:00.
My wife had roast beef £16:50. Roast potatoes looked like they had been recooked( needed to saw through them) told waitress who changed them for more of the same ! I don't mind paying high prices as long as its good food. We left very disappointed & won't be going back.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank mickythebrush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Just returned from a meal out at the Crown Chop Shop Restaurant. Upon booking we were offered a choice of times not really close to when we would have preferred but were happy to go for 7.30. On arrival we were unsure were to go to, with no staff forthcoming in approaching us to help. We were then shown to our table, by a rather robotic waitress which was in between two other tables of couples leaving the rest of the restaurant empty. Which rather than create atmosphere we felt afforded us no real privacy to talk. The menu was okay, with no real descriptions on, which was fine but the range lacked the range of meats one would expect from a chop shop style restaurant. All the food was nice but in my opinion lacked any really personality from the kitchen or any wow factors, but still very good cooking and we both felt the was under seasoned. In total for three courses and a carafe of wine, sparkling water and coffees the bill was £100. Whilst I felt nothing there was overpriced I did feel I could have spent that sum better. Overall I felt the whole operation lacked personality and atmosphere, good food and wine, bit didn't feel it warranted that level of spend.

Would we return? Probably not. Neither the food or the service lacked any memorable moments, and we were not impressed having a supplement added to the bill for a dish we did not have.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank beenachef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We first stayed at the Crown 25 years ago on our Wedding Night! So it was a sentimental journey when we returned 25 years later to the day, to celebrate our Silver Wedding.
Being Xmas time, it was all very pretty with logfires, decorations, fairy lights and candles, a welcoming contrast to the damp greyness of the day. We had a hot morning coffee by the burning logs in the bar, reminiscing about how, having abstained all day due to his impending speech, my new husband ordered a large whisky in this very spot. In those days the bars shut at 10.30pm sharp, and it was 10.31. As he was making his way back to our table, someone asked him the time. In the manner of Mr Bean, he obligingly turned his wrist to look at his watch and upset the drink all down his trouser leg.
We had a wander down the drizzly high street, bought some huge sunny Scicilian lemons, with leaves on, at the local deli and snuck into a couple of cosy, woodsmoke perfumed old pubs for lunch and drinks.
The Crown kindly upgraded us, and although the original room was very nice with wonky polished wooden floors and a view of the church, there was no bath - and I like a bath. The new room was out in the courtyard - spacious but at the same time cosy. The design was contemporary with interesting furnishings and detail, but retained the character of the building with its beams and arched windows. There was a big bathroom with an enormous shower, good products, fluffy towels and robes. We had crisp bedding (had a delicious afternoon snooze - well, 25 years is a looong time), a kettle with tea and fresh milk on request. Best of all was a free standing bath with a conveniently placed stool upon which to place your glass of champagne, while watching "The One Show". I realise this clouds the romance of the story, but it WAS a Wednesday night in December.
We dressed for dinner and I only had to clipclop across the cobbles back to the main hotel, where we had a glass of Prosecco in front of the roaring fire. The bar was full and it was a festive atmosphere.
Dinner by the hearth was tasty and fresh. Some reviewers are dubious about the size of the portions but all I can say is that we were full by the end and we really enjoyed the food - a steaming fish soup with garlicky rouille, duck parfait, well cooked steak, sticky rich brisket, crunchy chips, interesting cheese and a scrumptious yogurt pannacotta with honeycomb.
We ordered breakfast in bed and an enormous tray was delivered laden with pastries, muffins, fruit, cheese, smoked salmon and charcuterie. There was fresh juice and hot coffee.
extra special and we will always remember it. Thank you. We would love to come back. But it will be soon. We can't wait another 25 years.
And anyway, "The One Show" might not be on that long.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mexo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

It's no wonder business choose this modern day coaching inn, in the heart of the town with converted barns in typical Elizabethan style that is Old Amersham roots, with Courtyard rooms, and 'Bailey' room, offering seperate living areas. Disabled access for courtyard rooms is straightforward
Hot food breakfast is excellent, with local ales also available, Evening Meals are excellent priced with English Food cooking to a high-to-very high standards
As with main road accommodation, beware of traffic as their a a double-roundabout adjacent

...................................

We Allways Review after a repeat stay, and challenge staff where standards lack

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hotel I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Very stylish, but who needs a roll top bath in the bedroom ( and should there really be a wall light above the bath ? I think there are rules about this ! ). Nowhere to put a suitcase ( even Travelodge manage this ) and - disaster - no biscuits. A packet of crisps at £1.50, leaf tea, and filter coffee ( but only one filter ). At these sort of prices I would expect a choice of coffe and herbal teas and I need my bourbons to get going in the morning. Leaf tea and filter coffee seem a good idea, but in the context of a hotel room it really doesn't work, and good old tea bags would be easier. And I really don't understand four poster beds.The idea was that in the good old days there were drapes hanging round the bed for warmth and privacy. Sticking a post at each corner isn't really enough.A good continental breakfast, and friendly staff.

Room Tip: Try to avoid anything by the car park, which can get noisy with early morning departures and late ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nigel82a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amersham
0.1 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Amersham
516 reviews
2.8 mi away
De Vere Latimer Estate
De Vere Latimer Estate
#1 of 2 in Chesham
814 reviews
5.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Gerrards Cross
Crowne Plaza Gerrards Cross
#1 of 7 in Beaconsfield
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chandler's Cross
2,807 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Beaconsfield
4.8 mi away
Chartridge Lodge
Chartridge Lodge
#2 of 2 in Chesham
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Inn

Address: 16 High St, Amersham HP7 0DH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Amersham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Amersham
Price Range: $145 - $354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crown Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown in Old Amersham, situated at the end of the Metropolitan Line and 40 minutes from London, is the second in a family of modern day coaching inns recently renovated by the designer Ilse Crawford (other works include Babington House). The old timber building is situated in the centre of the historic market town, attracting locals, restaurant guests and night time travelers. The inn’s interior is made up of rural materials – from Ercol chairs made in High Wycombe to traditional plaster made from lime and horsehair. The ‘back room’ with its inglenook fire and view of the cobbled courtyard is perfect for private gatherings and feasting of up to 40, while the bar and restaurant area is the communal heartbeat of the inn. The kitchen serves seasonally inspired, locally sourced food with in-between times satisfied with home baked cheese scones and fruit cake with Cashel Blue while the main menus changes daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Crown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Hotel Amersham
The Crown Amersham
Crown Amersham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing