We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Crown Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hebron Bed & Breakfast(Chalfont St Peter)
View Hotel
Average 3/5
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Good 3.5/5
    • Free Parking
    • Pool
    North Hill Farm(Chorleywood)
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Good 3.5/5
    • Free Parking
    • Restaurant
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Reviews (812)
    Filter reviews
    812 results
    Traveler rating
    408
    192
    100
    61
    51
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    408
    192
    100
    61
    51
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewscourtyard roomwhite company toiletriescobbled courtyardroll top bathcomplimentary winesister hotelmain buildingmr and mrshigh streetcharming hotelcooked breakfastlambgreat weekendlovely roomwalk in showerfour poster bedfull english
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    666 - 671 of 812 reviews
    Reviewed February 1, 2013

    Just returned from a meal out at the Crown Chop Shop Restaurant. Upon booking we were offered a choice of times not really close to when we would have preferred but were happy to go for 7.30. On arrival we were unsure were to go to, with no staff forthcoming in approaching us to help. We were then shown to our table, by a rather robotic waitress which was in between two other tables of couples leaving the rest of the restaurant empty. Which rather than create atmosphere we felt afforded us no real privacy to talk. The menu was okay, with no real descriptions on, which was fine but the range lacked the range of meats one would expect from a chop shop style restaurant. All the food was nice but in my opinion lacked any really personality from the kitchen or any wow factors, but still very good cooking and we both felt the was under seasoned. In total for three courses and a carafe of wine, sparkling water and coffees the bill was £100. Whilst I felt nothing there was overpriced I did feel I could have spent that sum better. Overall I felt the whole operation lacked personality and atmosphere, good food and wine, bit didn't feel it warranted that level of spend.

    Would we return? Probably not. Neither the food or the service lacked any memorable moments, and we were not impressed having a supplement added to the bill for a dish we did not have.

    Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    Thank beenachef
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed January 20, 2013

    We first stayed at the Crown 25 years ago on our Wedding Night! So it was a sentimental journey when we returned 25 years later to the day, to celebrate our Silver Wedding.
    Being Xmas time, it was all very pretty with logfires, decorations, fairy lights and candles, a welcoming contrast to the damp greyness of the day. We had a hot morning coffee by the burning logs in the bar, reminiscing about how, having abstained all day due to his impending speech, my new husband ordered a large whisky in this very spot. In those days the bars shut at 10.30pm sharp, and it was 10.31. As he was making his way back to our table, someone asked him the time. In the manner of Mr Bean, he obligingly turned his wrist to look at his watch and upset the drink all down his trouser leg.
    We had a wander down the drizzly high street, bought some huge sunny Scicilian lemons, with leaves on, at the local deli and snuck into a couple of cosy, woodsmoke perfumed old pubs for lunch and drinks.
    The Crown kindly upgraded us, and although the original room was very nice with wonky polished wooden floors and a view of the church, there was no bath - and I like a bath. The new room was out in the courtyard - spacious but at the same time cosy. The design was contemporary with interesting furnishings and detail, but retained the character of the building with its beams and arched windows. There was a big bathroom with an enormous shower, good products, fluffy towels and robes. We had crisp bedding (had a delicious afternoon snooze - well, 25 years is a looong time), a kettle with tea and fresh milk on request. Best of all was a free standing bath with a conveniently placed stool upon which to place your glass of champagne, while watching "The One Show". I realise this clouds the romance of the story, but it WAS a Wednesday night in December.
    We dressed for dinner and I only had to clipclop across the cobbles back to the main hotel, where we had a glass of Prosecco in front of the roaring fire. The bar was full and it was a festive atmosphere.
    Dinner by the hearth was tasty and fresh. Some reviewers are dubious about the size of the portions but all I can say is that we were full by the end and we really enjoyed the food - a steaming fish soup with garlicky rouille, duck parfait, well cooked steak, sticky rich brisket, crunchy chips, interesting cheese and a scrumptious yogurt pannacotta with honeycomb.
    We ordered breakfast in bed and an enormous tray was delivered laden with pastries, muffins, fruit, cheese, smoked salmon and charcuterie. There was fresh juice and hot coffee.
    extra special and we will always remember it. Thank you. We would love to come back. But it will be soon. We can't wait another 25 years.
    And anyway, "The One Show" might not be on that long.

    • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank mexo
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed January 12, 2013

    It's no wonder business choose this modern day coaching inn, in the heart of the town with converted barns in typical Elizabethan style that is Old Amersham roots, with Courtyard rooms, and 'Bailey' room, offering seperate living areas. Disabled access for courtyard rooms is straightforward
    Hot food breakfast is excellent, with local ales also available, Evening Meals are excellent priced with English Food cooking to a high-to-very high standards
    As with main road accommodation, beware of traffic as their a a double-roundabout adjacent

    ...................................

    We Allways Review after a repeat stay, and challenge staff where standards lack

    • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank T_Hotel_Inspectors
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed January 11, 2013

    Very stylish, but who needs a roll top bath in the bedroom ( and should there really be a wall light above the bath ? I think there are rules about this ! ). Nowhere to put a suitcase ( even Travelodge manage this ) and - disaster - no biscuits. A packet of crisps at £1.50, leaf tea, and filter coffee ( but only one filter ). At these sort of prices I would expect a choice of coffe and herbal teas and I need my bourbons to get going in the morning. Leaf tea and filter coffee seem a good idea, but in the context of a hotel room it really doesn't work, and good old tea bags would be easier. And I really don't understand four poster beds.The idea was that in the good old days there were drapes hanging round the bed for warmth and privacy. Sticking a post at each corner isn't really enough.A good continental breakfast, and friendly staff.

    Room Tip: Try to avoid anything by the car park, which can get noisy with early morning departures and late nigh arrival
    • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank nigel82a
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed January 8, 2013

    We booked one of the family escape packages, which includes dinner, cooked breakfast, courtyard room, Playstation (on request), dvds & milk & (home-made) cookies at bedtime for the kids. The room was delightful; although the kids were on z-beds in the room we didn't feel cramped and everyone was comfortable (the grown-ups especially in the four-poster). It was beautifully appointed, with great quality iPod dock and surround-sound, plenty of storage, proper tea and coffee with fresh milk, a roll-top bath (in the room, which we didn't use) and a fabulous large shower. We'd have been happy with the 'basic' buffet breakfast as this spread included meats, cheeses, porridge, muffins and crumpets, juices, cereal, porridge (with even a bottle of whisky & jug of cream to accompany!) and stewed fruits.

    Despite a wedding taking place on the Saturday we stayed, with guests remaining on the Sunday, everything seemed to run very smoothly. Dinner was packed out and whilst service was very friendly and efficient this was the only part of the stay we felt slightly disappointed with as reviews had led us to expect more from the food; but it was only slight disappointment as t it was decent value, the waiting staff were very accommodating & sweet and the kitchen had been probably dealing with wedding catering that day.

    On the day we left, a cosy fire was going in the reception area, with comfy chairs, a jar of nuts for cracking and papers for reading; lovely touch. We wouldn't hesitate to stay again - and remember to leave a tip for the dinner staff next time!

    Room Tip: Courtyard rooms appear to be larger and quieter; 102 was lovely
    • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank aelitaLondon
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    View more reviews