We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent meaty Turkish”
Review of Village Mangal

Village Mangal
Ranked #2 of 71 Restaurants in Amersham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Turkish
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Excellent meaty Turkish”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We enjoy a meal here==when you order a meaty dish you are guaranteed lost of freshly cooked meats. They cook it over an open wood fired grill! The meze is lovely too and they provide extra sauces--a hot chili and a lovely creamy garlic to add as you wish. Their falafels are nice too. Packed on weekends--best to reserve!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Roberta R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    273
    138
    17
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

This place is a find! Great cuisine, excellent service, and really good value - we went back again and again.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank pete063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Would recommend...sometimes”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

I have been here with my family about 10 times, and half the time it is excellent. However, sometimes when we go there, they rush it and the main courses come at different times, with the last main course sometimes coming 10 minutes after the first. This is a dreadful shame, however, because the food is excellent.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank edaboud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Missenden Bucks England
Level Contributor
62 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Pleasant change”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Visited the Village Mangal for the first time following a recommendation and the favourable reviews.
Without being spectacular the food was good ,well presented and served.The staff courteous and helpful.
Considering it was early Thursday night the restaurant was fairly busy with a nice atmosphere.
The starters were excellent and plentiful and consequently not a lot of room for my mains!
If I had a slight criticism the main meal was a little bland but never the less enjoyable.
Will definitely try again maybe a meze and a beer one lunchtime,
All in all a pleasant experience and reasonably priced.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank benalfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Dunmow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Much smarter than your average Turkish restaurant”
Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

We ate at this clean neat and friendly restaurant today for lunch. We were the only customers, though the manager took several phone bookings while we were in. The service was prompt and friendly, and the menu quite varied, especially for the adventurous diner ( like me ).
We had 2 courses and a beer and a Turkish coffee and the bill was very reasonable. The food was very well presented and tasted great. I would definitely recommend Village Mangal.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank T5campervanman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Village Mangal also viewed

Amersham, Buckinghamshire
Amersham, Buckinghamshire
 
Amersham, Buckinghamshire
Amersham, Buckinghamshire
 
Little Chalfont, Buckinghamshire
Amersham, Buckinghamshire
 

Been to Village Mangal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing