We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fawlty Towers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelodge Toddington M1 Southbound
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Toddington
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Anybody booking into this travelodge need to be aware...you could be asked to make your own bed!! sometimes rooms are not ready at around 6pm. The staff are inexperienced and don't know how to cope with more than two people wanting to check in at a time. The cleaners need some intense training on how to make beds properly and how to empty bathroom bins on a daily basis. They never check how many people are in the room even if it's booked for the week and therefore hardly ever leave enough towels and almost never fill up the tea, coffee and sugar. The outside is always full of beer cans where the workmen have been stood outside the entrance. It's often quite unnerving to walk past a group of 4/5 men to get in the reception. The ONLY reason I stayed here is because it's near to where I work and it's not that cheap for what's on offer. Complaints over the last 3 months have not resulted in any improvements in either service or facilities.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank scorpiolady2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Services at Travelodge Toddington M1 Southbound, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

We are sorry to learn of your disappointment scorpiolady2014. Our check in time is from 3pm and we would expect all of our rooms to be ready prior to this; our housekeeping team are fully trained on preparing our rooms and ensuring the room is set up correctly for the correct amount of occupants and they are expected to replenish essentials throughout your stay. This hotel has recently undergone a refurbishment and we have attempted to reduce all impact to our guests during this time so it is regrettable to learn you found the work men to be unnerving. We would like to take this opportunity to investigate the concerns that you have raised, please use the contact us button on our website to provide us with more information which will allow us to offer a resolution.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (240)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

220 - 226 of 240 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2014

Having travelled all day in bad weather and Knowing we were going to arrive late, I phoned the hotel, receptionist was so helpful and friendly. Accommodation was excellent when we eventually arrived. It was the first time we had stayed in a travelodge and I would definately use it again

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
1  Thank Cherry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

A large number of family members stayed here two years earlier and hated it - the rooms were nasty, the pillows were rubbish and the staff were very rude, but I have to say it seemed to have been renovated and changed the staff. They were friendly and gave me what I needed. For £30 on New Years Eve, it did the job! You do have to register your car to make sure you do not get a ticket, which was not explained to us when we arrived - we just happened to do it while we were waiting for someone to check us in. Plus there is a service road that you can use if you need to go back up the M1 without going miles out of your way.

Room Tip: If you have room 101-110 (I think), your room will face the car park rather than the truck car park...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dapper80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Once again we stayed at Travelodge our first choice based on the comfort of rooms and the friendly staff as well as access being good and near where we wanted to be. a shame the prices have been put up so much recently this made our three weeks stays expensive, and we did find an alternative for the last two night which was cheaper and slightly more up market. but as a rule when the price is right Travelodge would be our first choice. dont hesitate if you are unsure about them we have been all over England with them and generally always been great.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
1  Thank joySpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

I stay for 3 nights most weeks for work and have found Toddington acceptable.
The rooms are clean and the beds fresh.
It has to be said that the close proximity of the M1 services lorry park is a minus but some rooms are less noisy than others so maybe a chat with reception about your room maybe in order.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

We came here for work a few hours after landing back in the country from a holiday. We were in the block opposite on the ground floor. The rom was warm, quiet and clean. The beds were nice although I fell out of bed and bruised my leg but Tlodge can help that. The only very slight complaint was the cigarette smoke cam in to the room as we were by the door. This was room 305

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We had a room in the block away from the main building. It had the new very comfortable bed and was in generally good order. What would otherwise been a good overnight stay was spoilt by road noise from the M1 and by the rather ineffective curtains.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john_ivycottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Toddington
8.9 mi away
Travelodge Bedford Marston Moretaine
Travelodge Bedford Marston Moret...
#1 of 1 in Marston Moretaine
131 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Flitwick Manor
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dunstable
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Travelodge Luton
Travelodge Luton
#14 of 26 in Luton
429 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Knife & Cleaver
The Knife & Cleaver
#1 of 1 in Houghton Conquest
451 reviews
7.0 mi away
Best Western Moore Place Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Toddington M1 Southbound? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Toddington M1 Southbound

Address: Moto Service Area, M1 Motorway, Toddington LU5 6HR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Toddington
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Toddington
Price Range: $52 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Travelodge Toddington M1 Southbound 1.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Toddington M1 Southbound reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Toddington m1 Southbound Hotel Toddington
Travel Lodge Toddington
Toddington Travelodge
Toddington Travel Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing